We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
Ranked #4 of 14 Olinda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our Family have just stayed here and it is simply perfect. We have stayed in Olinda a few times and this is by FAR the BEST! Mary is truly a gem, going out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. My children did not want to leave any more than my husband and I did. Beautiful cottage.. huge breakfast provisions, stunning gardens. What we appreciated the most was that our 3 daughters were more than welcome. This is a location that we found to be couples preferred but our children were welcomed with opened arms. Thanks Mary.. we will be back each October. The Wards, Horsham.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aljcemw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woolrichii, Owner at Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We love having children in the cottage and the woods are like a magic garden. Just occasionally you get a glimpse of a wallaby as I did yesterday! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leura, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We'd driven down from the Blue Mountains in NSW and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The garden is gorgeous and what a treat to be able to wander around at leisure there and Cloudhill next door. The accommodation was fantastic with plenty of wonderful food supplied for more than enough breakfasts. Mary is a wonderful host aleays keen to see if anything is needed. The ample supply of firewood was great for the cooler nights. The bed was comfortable, kitchen well stocked and the spa a treat. It was so relaxing sitting on the verandah overlooking the garden and we were sorry the stay couldn't be longer than 5 nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place is truly the best to rejuvenate all our senses and relax from the hectic schedule of the week. Mary is a wonderful host and takes care of her guests as if they were her family members... All the little things are taken care of... The jacuzzi here is the icing on the cake.. What a wonderful place to relax.. Would definitely return here again and again...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abijaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woolrichii, Owner at Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words about Woolrich. We enjoyed having you stay and look forward to seeing you again - hopefully next time you'll get your steak!. Woolrich is about to burst into bloom. Well the daffodils are already out as are some of the rhododendrons and camellias but the next two months are truly glorious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed one night in the garden suite, which was absolutely delightful. The garden the suite overlooks is magnificent & a beautiful spot to explore!!
We thoroughly enjoyed all the quality breakfast provisions & biscuits which were left.
The fire was set up and ready to light & the ample timber for the fire which was supplied kept the whole suite warm, and we didn't need to use the ducted heating.

My daughter described this place as 'magical' and she is quite right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALS0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We go away for a girls weekend every year, my mum, me and 2 sisters. Woolrich is the best by far, the homely atmosphere made us feel instantly relaxed. You have thought of everything from the generous breakfast provisions to the wine, comfy beds,spa, lovely comfy couches to sit in by the open fire, just wonderful. We stayed 2 nights but wanted to stay longer so much so that we have booked again for next year. It is a beautiful spot, enhanced by wonderful accomodation, highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights n the Garden Suite and could not have been happier. From the open fire to the spa bath to the king size bed to the full breakfast supplies, everything was fantastic. It's central to great views, Cafes, cinemas, and all in all was a most relaxing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We drove down from Sydney to take our Melbourne friends away for a special treat. We couldn't have chosen a more perfect place. Woolrich Retreat was gorgeous. Nothing was spared to make our stay enjoyable.. The fridge was filled with delicious goodies for breakfast as well as a bottle of wine for later in front of the fire.
There were dressing gowns and slippers in the bedrooms and that wonderful spa. Superb.
Then the view when you stepped outside onto the deck - in one word spectacular. We just loved the beautiful gardens and found several lyrebirds at home there.
We would certainly recommend Woolrich Retreat to anyone who wants to wind down and enjoy the serenity and peacefulness in a beautiful part of Australia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BernesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
0.5 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#3 of 14 in Olinda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Olinda Country Cottages
Olinda Country Cottages
#6 of 14 in Olinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.0 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation

Property: Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
Address: 20 Woolrich Road, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO WOOLRICH RETREAT In Woolrich's historic five-acre woodlands you will find our two luxury retreats where guests will enjoy the very best bed & breakfast accommodation available in the Dandenong Ranges. Privacy, open fires, spas, ensuites, decks with BBQs overlooking the gardens and free entry to Cloudehill Gardens next door. Walk, laze by the fire, relax in the spa or soak in the view with a glass of wine. The perfect Yarra Valley & Dandenong Ranges getaway. WOOLRICH COTTAGE Built in the 1920s, the cottage's Art Deco features have been retained and restored to create this elegant accommodation. Fine furniture complements the period architectural features such as the Art Deco leadlight windows. The cottage includes two bedrooms with large ensuites, so two couples can enjoy equal luxury as well as an indoor, four person Jacuzzi hot tub under a glass skylight. The lounge room has an open fire, and a bay window with dining table. The kitchen has granite bench tops and a farmhouse sink. French doors open up onto a deck with a BBQ and outdoor furniture for alfresco dining with garden and mountain views. GARDEN RETREAT In French Provence style, the Garden Retreat is perfect for one couple with its king-size bed and double spa (separate shower). Miele appliances in the kitchen, leadlight windows, in the bathroom and bedroom, TV with Foxtel and DVD and a lovely open wood fire in the cosy lounge room makes this an experience to remember. Outside, the balcony, complete with BBQ, and art deco table and chairs sits at the edge of a canopy of trees. Walk down the steps next to your retreat and open the gate to Cloudehill Gardens or go the other way into the Woolrich Woodlands with its meandering paths, lyrebirds, azalea maze and the dell. OLINDA VILLAGE Olinda is one of the major villages of the hills. It is close to the winery district of Yarra Valley and Puffing Billy, a steam train which goes to Emerald. It is the centre of many famous gardens. Just along the road is the National Rhododendron Garden, there are many other national and private gardens which are open to the public. You can go and pick raspberries and strawberries in season, visit the trout farm, or see William Rickett's sanctuary where he created sculptures honouring the aborigines. It is a delight to shop in the villages which is full of all kinds of shops with unusual things for sale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing