We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
Ranked #3 of 13 Olinda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We found our whole experience at Woolrich just great. I t was really the small things that made a difference (the bottle of wine!!). Apart from the beautiful surroundings, the powerful spa, the generous breakfast, the chocolates... there was a restful atmosphere that was just what we needed. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: The Garden suite was perfect for two
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

We are a family with 3 young children from the UK and we spent a wonderful week at the Woolrich retreat over Christmas 2011. The place is so beautifully and absolutely immaculate though at the same time comfortable and welcoming - a real home from home (I only wish my home looked like this). The setting was so peaceful and there was such an amazing view from the terrace. The thing that made it really special though was the amazing provisions provided. The kitchen was stocked with every luxury food item you could imagine to prepare the most sumptuous breakfasts. There were thoughtful little touches everywhere such as a fabulous selection of wine, chocolates on the pillows, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries - the list is endless. Mary was a wonderful host and nothing was too much trouble. She even provided a Christmas tree for the children. This was by far the best place we stayed in Australia, I only wish there was somewhere like this nearer to us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Garden Suite Woolrich for our 2nd anniversary. The place was immaculate!! We were spoilt with chocolates, the food left for us was brilliant and the gardens at our back door step were breath taking. It was like we were in Alice in wonderland. I highly recommend Woolrich for a quiet and private getaway to renew, unwind and clear the mind. Our host even offered a special gift to us as a good will gesture on the last day. Thank you and we look forward to another stay there. Absolute great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This accomodation was absolutely magnificent! I stayed here with my mum and sister and we had an absolutely fantastic time! The provisions were almost too much and ranged from plump strawberries and delicious mushrooms to plenty of eggs, bacon, sausages, spinach, tomatoes, pancake mix, muesli, milk, bread, all condiments, oranges (to freshly squeeze your own juice) and delicious chocolates next to the bed.
The shampoo and conditioner were beautiful - better than the kind 5 star hotel supply!
The friendly magpie was so cute and the views were absolutely stunning.
There is nothing left to chance here - the owners obviously take much pride in the home and strive to ensure that your stay is fantastic.
There was absolutely NOTHING negative about this accomodation. I would highly recommend staying here in Olinda.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacsigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Woolrich Retreat in Olinda over the few days leading up to my wedding at Cloudehill. The stress of preparing a wedding is trying enough, let alone an international one, but as soon as my family, party and I pulled up to the exquisite cottage, we all felt instantly revived. For at least an hour, we gushed over all it's intimate and charming deco details, the lush gardens and sun-flooded deck. We were still squealing when Peta and Mary came around to ensure we were comfortable and that the kitchen was stocked to our liking with delectable breakfast goodies and other munchables.

The photos we got on the morning of the wedding at the retreat are breathtaking, and we were all able to thoroughly enjoy a morning that lends many to panic.

On top of the beautiful experience itself (which my husband and I are repeating for our first anniversary this year), Mary and Ches generously minded my belongings that my family left behind in their mad-rush to return to America. It wasn't asked of them, and most other places would have committed everything left behind to the rubbish bin (especially after not having heard anything over the three weeks we were on our honeymoon)- just one more example of their above-and-beyond hospitality.

If you are looking for somewhere to unwind before (or after) you wedding, to reflect on an anniversary or just to spoil yourself with a weekend away in the idyllic Dandenongs, I cannot recommend the Woolrich Retreat enough. Thank you Ches and Mary!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soleil1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Woolrich Retreat for 3 lovely days and nights during July this year. Arriving late in the evening after work we were greeted with a beautifully warm cottage with some quiet music playing in the background, setting the tone for our most enjoyable stay. A glass of red by the open fire was the perfect way to end the day.

We woke the next morning to discover a stylishly appointed cottage throughout -all modern conveniences, including a luxurious jacuzzi, packaged in stunning and detailed period style. Beautiful antique furnishings and décor pieces complete the opulent ambience.

The dilemma was to decide what, from the vast choice of provisions, we would have for breakfast. Gourmet porridge or pancakes, or eggs with bacon, sausages, mushrooms, tomato, some smoked salmon, or lovely fresh berries, freshly squeezed orange juice and other fruit were all on offer, together with espresso coffee from the coffee machine or lovely fresh leaf tea of any description. We finally settled on the fruity porridge and some toast with delectable preserves and a pot of tea, and settled at the dining table, which was bathed in sunlight through the bay window, to enjoy.

Following breakfast it was coffee on the panoramic deck with the best florentines (also provided) that I had ever tasted. There we were able to enjoy the picturesque views, the tranquillity that only the mountains can offer and the company of the local birdlife. The stress of the working week soon disappeared.

The next few days followed similarly and were highlighted with strolls through the gardens and leisurely walks to nearby Sassafras, where we found delightful shops, restaurants and cafes.

The hosts of Woolrich Retreat, Mary and Ches Mason, provide an idyllic escape leaving no detail to chance. Our stay could not have been more perfect. The three days ended all too soon but I look forward to returning in the very near future

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJBGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
0.9 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#1 of 13 in Olinda
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
58 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarendon Cottages
Clarendon Cottages
#1 of 5 in Sassafras
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Annie Roe's Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation

Address: 20 Woolrich Rd, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Price Range: $193 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO WOOLRICH RETREAT In Woolrich's historic five-acre woodlands you will find our two luxury retreats where guests will enjoy the very best bed & breakfast accommodation available in the Dandenong Ranges. Privacy, open fires, spas, ensuites, decks with BBQs overlooking the gardens and free entry to Cloudehill Gardens next door. Walk, laze by the fire, relax in the spa or soak in the view with a glass of wine. The perfect Yarra Valley & Dandenong Ranges getaway. WOOLRICH COTTAGE Built in the 1920s, the cottage's Art Deco features have been retained and restored to create this elegant accommodation. Fine furniture complements the period architectural features such as the Art Deco leadlight windows. The cottage includes two bedrooms with large ensuites, so two couples can enjoy equal luxury as well as an indoor, four person Jacuzzi hot tub under a glass skylight. The lounge room has an open fire, and a bay window with dining table. The kitchen has granite bench tops and a farmhouse sink. French doors open up onto a deck with a BBQ and outdoor furniture for alfresco dining with garden and mountain views. GARDEN RETREAT In French Provence style, the Garden Retreat is perfect for one couple with its king-size bed and double spa (separate shower). Miele appliances in the kitchen, leadlight windows, in the bathroom and bedroom, TV with Foxtel and DVD and a lovely open wood fire in the cosy lounge room makes this an experience to remember. Outside, the balcony, complete with BBQ, and art deco table and chairs sits at the edge of a canopy of trees. Walk down the steps next to your retreat and open the gate to Cloudehill Gardens or go the other way into the Woolrich Woodlands with its meandering paths, lyrebirds, azalea maze and the dell. OLINDA VILLAGE Olinda is one of the major villages of the hills. It is close to the winery district of Yarra Valley and Puffing Billy, a steam train which goes to Emerald. It is the centre of many famous gardens. Just along the road is the National Rhododendron Garden, there are many other national and private gardens which are open to the public. You can go and pick raspberries and strawberries in season, visit the trout farm, or see William Rickett's sanctuary where he created sculptures honouring the aborigines. It is a delight to shop in the villages which is full of all kinds of shops with unusual things for sale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing