We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
CountryPlace(Kalorama)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linley Estate(Kilsyth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
York on Lilydale(Mount Evelyn)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ferntree Gully Motel(Ferntree Gully)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yarra Valley Motel(Lilydale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
68
18
6
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
18
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstreetops cottageguest housesweet shopopen firespa bathloved our staywalking distancethe main roadlovely placetreesforestdeeraccommodationfireplacekeyheaterupstairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 96 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just spent the night at Lochiel with my gorgeous girlfriend (hello darling) in the tri-level one bedroom cabin. Cannot recommend highly enough. The setting is, for want of a better expression, incredible. If you're looking for a quick getaway that's an only an hour from the city but may as well be in another world, look here.

The cabin we stayed in (i think it was treetops #1) was superbly designed, a pleasure to be in, and is fitted out with everything you could desire for a romantic getaway.

A big shout-out to the lovely chap from Lochiel, who made sure we were comfortable and helped us out with some excellent hand-drawn maps for little-known local spots of interest and lookouts the morning after.

A word for Michelle G - if you're getting away to watch current release DVD's on a wall-sized plasma TV in a surgical grade sterile environment surrounded by 'brand name' products, you'd be better off equipping yourself with the fruits of a quick trip to JB and a fresh bottle of Dettol and staying at home.

Really enjoyed it, we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I'm just going to qualify this review by saying I paid $395 for the night and so was expecting something special. Also they mentioned 'luxury' quite a lot, so I had high expectations. Unfortunately it is neither.
It's not very clean, no brand name products, they don't include cleaning of the kitchen in the room rate ( pretty outrageous ), the linen on the bed is very 3 star, as is the cushions on the couch.
The bathroom has dirt marks in the shower corners and the blinds are filthy, cobwebs on the outside window. The tv is 'hotel size' with 2 DVDs provided ( gee thanks!), the fridge is also bare.
They did include a voucher for breakfast worth $30 and a packet of Lollies but honestly I would have preferred more cleaning and better products and linen. Plus, $395 is frankly outrageous for the small size and fit out of the 3 level 1 bedroom cottage.
I wouldn't recommend this place unless they do some serious rethink of fixtures and price point.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochielOwner, General Manager at Lochiel Luxury Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

We were disappointed to read your comments in light of the many positive comments we have been left on Trip Advisor.

We are a small boutique accommodation and do not advertise as being a 5 star hotel.

Our cottages are stand-alone and are fully equipped and we do pride ourselves on the cleanliness and facilities we offer; we are contemporary and modern however given our rainforest setting, dust can and does settle quickly on a daily basis.

We do not leave provisions in our fridges, aside from milk, as each guest will have different needs and we do our best to cater for this by offering an extensive range of teas and coffee for your enjoyment. We prefer to provide breakfast vouchers for the local Café so you can enjoy the lovely ambience and hustle and bustle of the Olinda Township while you enjoy your individual breakfast choices.

Thank you for the feedback regarding our linen, however we do use a 5 star laundry company and I will be pleased to feed your comments back to them!

Our pricing is in line with other accommodation providers in the area, single Saturday pricing is generally a little higher as the cost of labour penalty rates sadly must be met.

Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations this time and thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the original for one nite for a friends birthday and really wished we had booked the whole weekend. It was a beautiful escape in a spacious house. It was clean and welcoming. The vouchers for
Dinner and breakfast were a good idea to promote the restaurant . We had a very restful sleep on those beds . Highly recommend it for groups or families. Had four bedrooms and a single bed. The view from deck was refreshing . Easy walk to shops and restaurants :)

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Zeddypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on my honeymoon and absolutely loved it.

The location is great - only a couple minutes walk from Olinda shops.
The accommodation is hidden away and has a great layout - particularly liked the fireplace with plenty of wood available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller182186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We decided to go back to where we had our short honeymoon 5 years ago, and found everything just as beautiful as the first time around.

Easy arrangements, welcoming surrounds, beautiful setting. Spa for a bit of luxury, and good food and easy going in walking distance. 'Cabin' clean, neat, well set out, and very comfortable.

Short drives to a couple of other beautiful little towns, plenty of walking, either for shopping, exercise, or just to spend some time together.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews