We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in the original cottage, and sadly it did not meet our expectations. We were a party of 8 adults and 2 children who were attending a wedding, only 2 shower rooms and one of those was en-suite and the shower leaked so badly it was a joke, when we complained we were told that it had been fixed!!!! time to look for a decent plumber. One of the rooms contained a "small" double bed and a table, and strangely had a glass panelled door with no blind or curtain, no where to hang the wedding finery for these occupants. Advertised as luxury - I don't think so. The worst of all accommodation during my 4 week visit to Australia. Dining room table had 4 seats as did the very small round patio table on the deck, 2 two seater sofas by the fire and a cane sofa which sat at right angles behind the 2 seaters, oh and 1 teaspoon was provided. Would not recommend

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannyBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan O, General Manager at Lochiel Luxury Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

It is indeed very 'disappointing' when we hear that any guest staying at our accommodation leave feeling unhappy as we work so very hard to please; and as you can see the majority of our reviews reflect this.

Communication is paramount in any relationship and we were sad to hear of the issues you highlighted here when they had not been communicated to us during your stay. Indeed aside from our usual welcome and daily catch-up, our only communication with you was when you supplied incorrect payment details and threatened to write a "bad review" on Trip Advisor if we did not discount your accommodation costs, using Trip Advisor as a blackmail too with unfactual information.

We like to note that publishing two reviews on the same stay also violates Trip Advisors rules.

Yes very disappointing indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 96 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very disappointing, accommodates 8 adults as long as you are willing to share a bed. No single beds. Only 2 showers and one is ensuite, which leaked so bad had to have a mop and bucket ready for every shower. We were 8 adults and 2 children and there was only 8 towels!! Kitchen table seats 4 as does the patio table. Seating in living room also accommodated 4 people around the fireplace. Not my idea of "luxury".

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grammy921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan O, General Manager at Lochiel Luxury Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

It is indeed very 'disappointing' when we hear that any guest staying at our accommodation leave feeling unhappy as we work so very hard to please; and as you can see the majority of our reviews reflect this.

On booking we did clearly indicate that the cottage accommodates up to 9 persons and has 2 King, 2 Queen and 1 King Single Beds, we also like to note we supplied an additional foldaway bed free of charge and at no time were all single beds requested when you booked the cottage.

Communication is paramount in any relationship and we were sad to hear of the issues you highlighted here when they had not been communicated to us during your stay. Indeed aside from our usual welcome and daily catch-up, our only communication with you was when you supplied incorrect payment details and threatened to write a "bad review" on Trip Advisor if we did not discount your accommodation costs, using Trip Advisor as a blackmail too with unfactual information.

We like to note that publishing two reviews on the same stay also violates Trip Advisors rules.

Yes very disappointing indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The accommodation at Lochiel Cottage was exactly what we were hoping for, it was spacious enough for us all not to feel like we were on top of each other, but still cosy enough for us all to be able to relax together around the fire with a nice glass of wine. The dinner at Ranges Restaurant on the Saturday night was faultless. Our waitress for the evening was Rebecca, and can we just say, she was fantastic!! The level of care and respect that she showed our table made the evening all the more memorable. Every meal came out just as ordered and the calmness in which she delivered and attended to every request was a highlight of our evening. Many of the ladies continued to rave about their meal long into the evening and the following day. We would have loved to thank Rebecca in person but she unfortunately left before we did. The breakfast’s at Ranges were also lovely, we had a couple of ladies with “gluten intolerances” and these were all catered for perfectly. Please pass on our heartfelt thanks to all your staff at Ranges.

The Lochiel Cottage was presented beautifully. Thank you for preparing the fire and supplying amble amount of kindling and wood to allow us to light a fire on both evenings, often this has been overlooked when we have booked weekends away elsewhere and it was very comforting to know that we weren’t on fire wood rations whilst we were at Lochiel. The personal touches such as the bottle of champagne, fresh flowers and complimentary lollies were also much appreciated.

All in all we did have a sensational weekend away and a lot of this came down to the pleasantness of the Lochiel Cottage and the delightful experience we had at Ranges.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTLONES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here last year for my birthday and decided we would come back again this year we loved it that much. Beautiful area, nice modern rooms, lollies as a gift and breakfast vouchers for the morning. Couldn't ask for anything better :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sezii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

These lovely chalets are beautifully decorated and a perfect size for a couple.
I agree with other reviewers that directions for the first arrival weren't detailed enough, but we managed to work out where we were and delighted to find that our booking in chalet no 3 was at the end of the property with excellent privacy. Although the property is close to the main road, we didn't find noise to be an issue.
Breakfast at nearby 'The Ranges' cafe was very tasty.
Jonathan was very helpful with recommendations for activities and places to eat, however we were disappointed to find that most of the restaurants were closed on Monday and Tuesday nights, even though it was school holiday time.
Olinda is a lovely place to relax for a few days. I recommend it.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LSC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very pleasant accommodation, delightfully designed chalets.

Finding the place was difficult as we were searching for the entrance whilst driving on a busy road. Perhaps could do with a few more directional arrows.

Very central to the town of Olinda, unfortunately that comes with a bit of traffic noise.
The staff member (we only met 1) was very helpful, welcoming and attentive.
The fittings were of good quality, but we felt some of the furnishings were looking a bit worn.

We had a most enjoyable and relaxing stay at Lochiel and would recommend this to other couples.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our group of four stayed in the original cottage which is a delightfully atmospheric, older- style, spacious timber residence offering all the comforts of a modern home. Loved the lounge with the open fireplace and comfy seating areas and of course the jacuzzi was well appreciated. Great value to be had at the restaurant with the vouchers provided.Thanks to Jonathon for taking care of us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
1.3 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Como Cottages
Como Cottages
#1 of 6 in Olinda
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#1 of 13 in Olinda
106 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arnica Views
Arnica Views
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochiel Luxury Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochiel Luxury Accommodation

Address: 1590 Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Olinda
Price Range: $220 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochiel Luxury Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCHIEL LUXURY ACCOMMODATIONBeautiful, boutique style contemporary accommodation in a rainforest surrounding in the heart of the Dandenong Ranges, located on the edge on the unique village of Olinda, the property is also in close proximity to the neighbouring townships of Sassafras and Mount Dandenong.All cottages are private, boutique and contemporary in style and fully equipped for your romantic, intimate escape! Relax in your own oversized spa and marvel at the wildlife through your private bathroom window or just stay in bed and let your eyes drift through the windows in the vaulted ceiling.You could even have your very own private interlude on one of the private treetop balconies or just opt to stroll into Olinda Village and enjoy the hustle and bustle – it’s all up to you!Lochiel Luxury Accommodation provides beautifully designed cottage accommodation situated on two hectares of natural rainforest and fern gullies in the heart of Olinda. Lochiel Luxury Accommodation’s stylish contemporary stone and timber cottages are masterpieces of modern design creating the perfect environment for an intimate and romantic getaway in the Dandenong Ranges.Beautifully appointed bathrooms, separate shower and vanities, a large outdoor spa and beautiful contemporary appointed interior are just a few of the pleasures that await you at Lochiel Accommodation. Why not try Ranges or Credo Restaurants which are both in walking distance of the cottages? A short walk on out of Olinda will lead you to the world famous Cuckoo Restaurant!Great location and only 10 minutes drive from the famous Puffing Billy Railway and in close proximity to the neighbouring villages of Sassafras and Mount Dandenong.Lochiel Original Cottage(Accommodates up to 8) The cottage has a lovely treetop balcony stretching the length of the cottage and a private courtyard with a four-person private spa pool set amongst the fern-filled courtyard. Treetops Tri-Level Cottages and One Level Treetops Guesthouse Cottages(Accommodate 2 Persons or 1 Couple)The three Tri-Level Treetop Cottages are all one bedroom cottages and feature spa baths, log fires and contemporary style throughout as well as balconies that look onto the forest canopy. In Addition, we have a beautifully appointed One Level Treetops Cottage, Treetops Guesthouse Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lochiel Luxury Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing