We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valley Ranges Getaways
Ranked #4 of 13 Olinda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My fiance and I recently spent a weekend in the Candlelight Cottages Retreat in Olinda, Dandenong Ranges (about an hour's drive from Melbourne) to celebrate his birthday in July. The cottage was delightful and and very comfortable, with plenty of heaters and log fire to keep the place warm. Close attention was paid to smaller details, like provision of abundant supply of books, DVD, towels and quality toiletry in bathroom (with a jacuzzi big enough for 4!). We especially appreciated the well-stocked kitchen, especially the wonderful selection of exotic teas - for people like us who need a "good cuppa tea"!

Breakfast was an impressive selection of bacon, sausages, tomatoes, cheese, fresh farm eggs, bread fresh from the bakery...we couldnt ask for more.

Coming from a fast-paced, stressful working life in Hong Kong, it was just marvellous to be able to escape into the wildlife and stay in a beautiful cottage overlooking the lush forest of trees and fern, with plenty of hiking trails. We enjoyed excellent food in nearby restaurants, especially Wild Oak Restaurant and spending the day visiting wineries in the Yarra Valley. We especially loved visiting Sassafras, about 15 minutes drive away, with lots of arts and crafts shops, and having Devonshire tea at Ms Marple. So English!

Peta and Laurie are wonderful hosts who obviously care about their guests. Laurie had also entertained us with stories of his life living in Hong Kong in the 50s - amazing!

Our experience is heart-warming and memorable. We will be back!

Caroline Lim
Hong Kong
Email: teafortwo.caroline@gmail.com

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary for 3 nights at this beautiful cottage. We had never been to this part of Victoria before and cannot recommend it highly enough! Peta and Laurie (the owners) were very helpful and friendly and always just a phone call away if needed. The cottage is in beautiful surroundings with windows out to the forest just outside of Olinda. Ample breakfast provisions and little touches like chocolates, DVDs etc. I agree with the previous reviewer that the TV reception is awful but there is too much to do or just relax anyway. Cottage is in a private location with a comfortable bed, great spa, and all the amenities you need. It is set down from the main road into Olinda so you can hear a little traffic noise but nothing major. Highly recommend going to walk through Sherbrooke Forest (via Grants Picnic Ground where there is a bird feeding area, wonderful ferns and mountain ash trees and we saw lyrebirds!), taking the complimentary limo transfer to the Sky High Restaurant and going to the beautiful Ricketts Sanctuary and having a Devonshire Tea at the Churinga Cafe. Overall we would highly recommend going to this part of the world and will be there again in the near future!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Mintus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

My wife and I spent our three year wedding anniversary here, staying at Candlelight Cottage, one of 4 cottages that make up this retreat. The cottage is beautiful and charming, an authentic Hills Cottage complete with period features, open fire, stunning gardens and a large spa bath. It also comes fully stocked with ample breakfast provisions, books, magazines, CDs, DVDs and videos which is perfect for weekends like ours when it barely stopped raining the whole time! The cottage caters for pets by prior arrangement which was one of the primary motivations for booking it and our dog loved exploring the new surroundings (the gardens are fully fenced but there is no dog flap).
Location wise, the cottage is only a 10 minute walk past beautiful gardens into the heart of Olinda. It is quiet, though not remote and you will hear the occasional car or dog barking interspersed with the birdsong. The hosts are very friendly although we hardly saw them, just preferring to enjoy the privacy and serenity of our surroundings. The only minor gripe we had was that the TV reception was poor but it didn't really matter because we just watched DVDs instead.
Top Tip: when you come out of the cottage, instead of turning left to head into Olinda, turn right towards Mt Dandenong. A five minute walk brings you to an antique shop, 2 pubs, an art gallery and an IGA. Useful if you just need a few provisions and don't want to drive 15-20 minutes to get them.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thredbo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We have stayed at Candlelight Cottages 4 times now - and we will be back again.
Very family friendly, our five year old loved exploring the "secret garden" at the front of the cottage - and the spa is always a winner with him! The beds are extremely comfortable, everything is there that you need - full size fridge with great breakfast provisions, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer etc. This trip is becoming a bit of a family tradition now - we always have brunch in Olinda, just a five min walk away from Candlelight Cottage and Cottage in the Forest , then a drive down the hill to Belgrave to catch Puffing Billy. We normally end up at Sassafras for an afternoon snack! Then another easy walk down to one of the restaurants close by. Thank you again to Peta and Laurie for continuing to operate such a great place to stay and relax!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThredboTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed in the 'Cottage in the Forrest'.

This place is unlike anything i've seen before. The cottage itself is nicely tucked away from the Monash Avenue and is tightly wrapped up in the lush forrest.

Inside is a full fridge, stocked with some delicious breakfast ingredients( ham, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, etc.) and a very healthy supply of wines and bubbly. One bottle of Champagne was on the house, included as a welcome gift.

The bathroom is HUGE in an elegant design, and houses a spa that could probably accommodate 6 people. There is also a shower.

Both the bathroom and the bedroom have spectacular views of the forrest, and is deffinately the best place to enjoy a weekend or holiday in Melbourne.

I can not recommend the Candlelight Cottage 'Cottage in the Forrest' any higher. I will return at the EARLIEST opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aardvark82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
1.1 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Olinda Country Cottages
Olinda Country Cottages
#6 of 13 in Olinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Ranges Getaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Ranges Getaways

Property: Valley Ranges Getaways
Address: 7-9 Monash Ave | Reception 7 Monash Avenue, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia (Formerly Candlelight Cottages Retreat)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley Ranges Getaways 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlelight Mountain Retreats and their sister business, Valley Ranges Getaways are a collection of 25 boutique luxury accommodation properties scattered throughout the Dandenong Ranges. Private cottages, villa, holiday houses. All include breakfast, wifi, indulgent baths, kitchens. Close to the villages of Mt Dandenong, Olinda, Sassafras and Yarra Valley wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valley Ranges Getaways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ranges Getaways Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing