We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley Ranges Getaways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley Ranges Getaways
Ranked #3 of 14 Olinda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glenelg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our first words entering the cottage were "WOW!" The lamps had been lit and soft music was playing. The decor was absolutely beautiful, cosy, inviting and romantic. The range of breakfast provisions was huge and delicious! We also loved the fireplace and spa. The property is only a short walk from Olinda. Highly recommended. Thank you Peta and Laurie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlelight4, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - Twilight Cottage is one of our favourite places and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

We have had the exterior of the cottage painted, so it is now even more beautiful, and the little courtyard is open to the garden, so a lovely peacefull place to site filled with birdsong.

We look forward to having you stay with us before too long, Warm best wishes, Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I have just stayed in the candlelight cottage & couldn't have asked for more. It was very warm & cosy & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners have certainly thought of everything including a carafe of port which was a treat that my husband really enjoyed. Breakfast provisions were plentiful and would recommend this as a lovely place to stay and we will be more then happy to return here next time we visit the area. Warm greeting by Peta sets the good tone for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schuliel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlelight4, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We so look forward to welcoming you back to Candlelight Cottages - and maybe you might try our beautiful new property The Blackwood in Sassafras.

Warm wishes, Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentleigh East, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We would like to say a huge thank you to Laurie and peta. We booked both both cottage in the village and candlelight for the weekend of our wedding. It was absolutely wonderfull the girls stayed in the candlelight cottage and it was spaceious enough for our girls to get ready with some others and our photos are just beautiful with the waterfall as a backdrop. Our wedding night in the cottage was warm and inviting and after a hectic day was peaceful and cool enough as the day had been rather warm. Breakfast was great and more than enough food.
Peta, Laurie did a great job over the long weekend in your absence.
We will be back next year for our anniversary.
Tanya and Leigh x

Room Tip: For a family candlelight cottage as it is roomy enough and the cottage cosy enough for 2. Each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlelight4, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Tanya and Leigh - we loved the thank you card you sent through. What a lovely couple you are and thank you for spending this precious and important time with us at Candlelight Cottages.

Laurie is doing quite well - I rarely leave him in charge, but after 21 years training, he's always wonderful with our guests (it might just be his sweet generous nature)! I enjoyed a very rare break at Craig's Hotel in Ballarat for the weekend with family & antique hunting.

We look forward to having you both stay with us another time - anniversary??

Warm wishes, Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Candlelight cottages for our belated 25th Wedding Anniversary celebration. Gorgeous cottage absolutely everything we needed and more. Hosts were lovely and full of information on local area. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karend54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlelight4, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely write up - we hope we will see you again before too long. Don't wait another 25 years!!

Maybe you'd like to look at our Facebook Page and participate in our Facebook competition to win a prize of a night's stay with us. We'd like that!

Best wishes, Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I booked the 'Cottage in the Village' at Candlelight Cottages for two nights in 2009, one night for me and my bridesmaid the night before my wedding and used it as the venue for us girls to get ready on my wedding day, and the second night for me and my husband to come back to. It was completely divine, they've thought of everything and nothing is second class. As an actual resident of the Dandenong Ranges, this is always the place I recommend people stay of the many, many places on offer.

Room Tip: Cottage in the Village was perfect for a couple, it even has a spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlelight4, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are thrilled that the memory of your wedding night at Candlelight Cottages remains with you!

We very much look forward to having you stay again - you might like to look at the little Candlelight film on our website and be inspired to come back soon!

Thank you and come back soon! Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our stay in Candlelight Cottages has been excellent. A beautiful house - well equipped with everything you could think of - and so clean! We were lucky enough to be staying here for the hottest March night on record in Melbourne - and we slept wonderfully! The welcoming provisions could last you for a week and if you wanted to have a meal at home, everything is there. Walking distance to local restaurants is a real bonus. Thanks to Peta for her warm welcome - really appreciate your support and assistance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffsharbour0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlelight4, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for this beautiful review! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next come down from Coffs Harbour!

Warm wishes, Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had celebrated our wedding anniversary at Clare cottage and it was just perfect. The location was exactly what we needed, which was peace and quiet together away from our two young kids. We had a lovely romantic dinner at a local restaurant and enjoyed the gourmet provisions left for us at the house for breakfast. The balcony over looking the ferns was so relaxing and we felt like we were miles from anywhere. Can't wait to come back as we enjoyed it so much.
Thanks again,
Danielle and Mick

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlelight4, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Congratulations on your anniversary! We hope you'll come back and back to us for all sorts of celebrations.

Clare is a unique cottage - I hope you get a chance to see our new film which is going on our website and you'll be able to show your family and friends where you stayed.

Thank you for coming to stay with us at Candlelight Cottages in the beautiful Dandenong Ranges
Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
1.1 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Ranges Getaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Ranges Getaways

Property: Valley Ranges Getaways
Address: 7-9 Monash Ave | Reception 7 Monash Avenue, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia (Formerly Candlelight Cottages Retreat)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley Ranges Getaways 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlelight Mountain Retreats and their sister business, Valley Ranges Getaways are a collection of 15 boutique luxury accommodation properties scattered throughout the Dandenong Ranges. Private cottages, villa, holiday houses. All include breakfast, wifi, indulgent baths, kitchens. Close to the villages of Mt Dandenong and Yarra Valley wineries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Valley Ranges Getaways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ranges Getaways Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing