We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valley Ranges Getaways
Ranked #1 of 13 Olinda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Beautiful room and friendly hosts, an absolutely perfect gateway from city! We stayed at Clare cottage, which is so cosy and perfect with those lovely furniture and foods provided by hosts. Hearer, lights and music were on when we arrived, it was so nice like back home. We are planning on staying there again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelDou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Valley Ranges Getaways
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 106 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at a stand-alone cottage close to Sassafras run by Candlelight Cottages. It's a beautiful cottage with a homely feel and stunning views of the bush. It feels secluded and romantic. The house was immaculate and the attention to detail, second to none. The food the left for breakfast was of generous proportions and delicious! It was an open fire place and a spa. Absolutely beautiful. We were so happy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissChel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Beautifully appointed, comfortable retreat. Loved the little details such as the jams, jazz CD's, games, spa bath with atrium roof, fresh coffee, double shower, tasty breakfast provisions and a roaring log fire on arrival. Wow.
We stayed in the gorgeous Twilight Cottage, and didn't want to leave.
Just one little criticism - hard mattress.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management729, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you for your beautiful review. We had just surveyed the need to replace the mattress in this cottage and guests had said it was great with the feather top. We will sleep in it ourselves to try it out after your comment - thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

A lovely stay overall, but attention to detail seemed lacking. The views were amazing from the Bedroom and Bathroom windows, a lovely tranquil setting. As for the cottage itself, it was well appointed and comfortable, but dusty in places which was a shame.

The large spa bath was very nice (once it filled) but the shower didn't work properly. At low pressure it was rapidly turning on and off and making a terrible banging noise in the walls, or at higher pressure it was so powerful it was uncomfortable to stand under; there was no middle point in terms of comfortable pressure to be found. On checkout we mentioned this to Peta who didn't seem to want to know.

The bathroom was generally clean, although dusty on the window ledges. While there were many clean towels available, the wet towels on the towel rack we encountered on arrival gave the impression that the bathroom had not been cleaned since the last guests used it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timmah80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management729, Manager at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for your feedback which will be passed on to the housekeeping staff for immediate attention.

I was, of course, extremely concerned about the water issues you told me about and we had a plumber called out again (5th time) and the problem has now been resolved and with a new shower head, so not a restricted flow, everything is working beautifully and quietly.

I hope we will have you stay in one of our Cottage Collection again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Cottage in the Forest. It was beautifully appointed, comfortable and warm. Breakfast provisions were very generous and I loved the coffee machine and loose leaf tea.

The setting is tranquil and beautiful - and best enjoyed from the double spa bath with a glass of champagne! The bath does take a while to fill (so let it run whilst you relax) and we had some problems with the shower (uneven pressure; loud plumbing noises). Aside from that everything else was exemplary.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snuff82Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management729, Manager at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments. I want you to know that the plumber (4th time) has now identified the problem with the water pressure - the shower which had a restricted flow watersaver has been replaced and everything is working perfectly. So, we very much look forward to seeing you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I felt instantly at home as I walked through the door and into what has become my blissful escape from the city. This is the third time I have stayed at Candlelight Cottages and once again the hospitality was just as warm as the crackling fireplace that kept me snug as I indulged in all this quaint little cottage has to offer. Nestled in the stunning rainforests that are the Dandenongs, you can't help but unwind, as you listen to the native birds. This has become my home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamra1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We traded in city living for a couple of nights away in the Dandenongs. What a wonderfully relaxing experience both Candlelight Cottages and Olinda are.

We had the studio-style "cottage in the village" which is in the midst of a lovely little bush setting with a babbling brook alongside. adequate living area and kitchen, both with all the comforts of home and then some! We cooked our own breakfast with fresh, local and mostly organic ingredients and enjoyed local wines and cheeses.

A couple of steps down to the bedroom, with it's own bathrtub in the corner outdoor courtyard.

Peta and Laurie have put alot of thought and time into setting this up to be as comfortable as possible.

A short stroll to cafes, restaurants and great bush walks and manicured gardens. Waking to the sound of the bush is brilliant

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
1.1 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Olinda Country Cottages
Olinda Country Cottages
#7 of 13 in Olinda
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
76 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Ranges Getaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Ranges Getaways

Address: 7-9 Monash Ave | Reception 7 Monash Avenue, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia (Formerly Candlelight Cottages Retreat)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Price Range: $220 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley Ranges Getaways 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Quality Accommodation in Olinda, Sassafras, Mt Dandenong, Kalorama and Ferny Creek in the Dandenong Ranges Experience the Yarra Valley & Dandenong Ranges in style by staying in one of the regions most unique private houses and cottages for couples, families & groups. All properties are conveniently located close to a Village with restaurants, attractions, walking trails and of course the beautiful gardens of the Dandenong Ranges. We also have properties that are perfect for intimate weddings and elopements. All available properties are managed by us, a professional team of accommodation specialists. We ensure that our guests enjoy a high level of quality accommodation, cleanliness and amenities across all of our stunning properties. Formally Known as Candlelight Cottages - Valley Ranges Getaways can assist with all your needs. With accommodation to suit every occasion, budget and taste, you’re guaranteed to find the perfect place to stay, steeped in history with fresh modern interiors and all the lifestyle luxuries you have come to expect. With secluded forest and garden settings, you can enjoy a high level of privacy and swap the weight of the world, for the lightness of a feather doona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Valley Ranges Getaways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ranges Getaways Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing