We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 13 Olinda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Place to cherish your relationship n yourself , so romantic n very relaxing...... Would go back more if was not so expensive

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoftInTheMillOwner, Owner at The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Thank you for these lovely words, I must admit we don't do what we do for the kudos, so its always a lovely surprise and confirmation that what we are doing, we are doing well, when someone takes the time out of there day to pen a few complimentary words. Thanking You. Oh on the subject of cost, we have four price points to cater for all budgets, obviously as each price point becomes more expensive it reflects a higher level of luxury offered to the guest by that suite. Our Victorian Suite, which is our budget suite is actually the cheapest accommodation on the Mountain, at $120 a night midweek, $200 for two midweek nights, $140 for a Friday and Sunday night, $160 for a Saturday Night and $280 for a 2 night weekend.

Warm regards,

The Team at Loft in The Mill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    41
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
128
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed at the Loft in the Mill (Calico Suite) for one night and have absolutely no complaints. In fact, we have nothing but praise not only for the room itself, which was absolutely charming and cosy, but also the staff, who were friendly and went out of their way to make sure that all our needs were met – even though we had not made a reservation beforehand and just dropped in on spec. Having travelled extensively in Europe, we can honestly say that the level of service offered was first class by comparison, and made up for the tired bathroom interior, however we understand at the time we visited some of the other suites were being renovated, hopefully the Calico will be paid a little attention soon. We are already looking towards out next trip to the Loft in the Mill, and would heartily recommend it to anyone looking for accomodation which just seems to go that extra mile in terms of atmosphere and quality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haematite217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Loft for 2 nights in the Herb Garden Suite for his birthday and had a wonderful time. The room is gorgeous and very cosy with its own private courtyard and fireplace. The spa was lovely and the room always smelled amazing.

We took advantage of the $15 extra for a cooked breakfast at Ranges just across the street and it was great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff are very pleasant and friendly.

Thank you for a lovely stay! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellecheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoftInTheMillOwner, Owner at The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
Thank you very much Michelle for taking the time to write this lovely review. We strive hard to make every guests stay with us as enjoyable and intimate as possible and it's certainly a pleasant surprise when people take the time out of their day to write such a complimentary review, so this is very much appreciated. And the next time you choose to get away we have seven other privately entranced suites each with their own individual character and ambiance available to make future getaways equally as memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My wife and I live in the general region and often pass through the village of Olinda so we thought we 'knew-it-all'. How wrong we were.

Often driving past The Loft in The Mill, we thought it was in a bad location, not in peaceful tranquility. How wrong we were.

Were were amzed at how spacious our suite was. Even better that not one large room but a mix of many shapes and areras together. Open fire lit by the hosts (Brad & Donna) on arrival. So personal. Yet before a big chat could be started, they were gone. Just the right timing - we did come away to be together after all. So many people are not perceptive like this.

It was great to be in walking distance to the shops andf restaurants. Yet once back inside, it was snug and quiet like the world had gone away. And the most comfortable bed we had ever slept on.

So clean, so genrous; chocolates, wine, breakfast provisions. We can hardly wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belleandernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

For the price the rooms need work, stained carpet, old bathrooms falling to bits and tiny tv's not even LCD. They don't have pay tv for the guests and instead allow you to use DVDs. Many of which only work in black and white. The room was noisy and the curtain too thin to sleep after the sun was up.

I think this place needs work or a reality check on the prices charged

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 555muzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoftInTheMillOwner, Owner at The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, August 1, 2010
I am the owner and operator of A Loft in The Mill and have been running this succesfult B & B opposite Olinda Village at the top of the Dandenong Ranges now for two and a half years. During this time we have constantly refurbished and upgraded every privately entranced suite and the grounds of the property to a stage where we have over 6000 people stay with us now every year and that our return custom sits at an industry high of 19% of all guests that stay at the Loft. We try incredibly hard to make sure that every guest has a fantastic stay at the Loft, unfortunately 2 bad reviews from over 12,000 guests that have stayed with us during this time reveal that there is always room for improvement, but we strive to deliver a level of customer service that is unrivalled in our region, and I would ask that if ever a guest was unsatisfied with anything that they have experienced at a Loft In the Mill that they let my friendly & hard working staff at reception know and we will immediately remedy the situation. My staff work here because they love the place, and you can probably tell by reading this that myself and my wife are also immensely proud & passionate about our beautiful Loft. If reception is closed late of a night there is a night phone beside the reception door and I live on the property so I can assist you straight away. The combination of our great location, unique buildings, luxurious & private suites and above all our genuine desire to make sure that each and every guest that stays at a Loft in The Mill leaves here positively raving about the place, sets us apart from every other accommodation provider in these beautiful Dandenong Ranges.

It would be remiss of me to not individually answer the concerns of "555muzby" that they voiced in April 2010. I can assure you that nothing in any of the suites or bathrooms of the suites in particular is "Falling to bits", that we have installed LCD HD Flat Screen televisions in 6 of the 9 suites and that all 400 free DVD's that are in reception for guests use work properly and that they work in colour. We have completely renovated both the Hathaway and King Arthur Suites, and made substantial improvements to the other 6 suites to a stage where we have had "Postcards" a Channel 9 travel show ask us if they could come out and film in both suites(We never asked for this) and this footage is on the homepage of our website for you to see for your self the level of pampered luxury that you will enjoy at a Loft in The Mill. The suggestion that any of the suites was noisy, well the construction of the two bluestone buildings is such that all walls are 8 inches thick being made first of bluestone on the outside and then a separate brick internal lining on all walls, all floors are concrete slabs with heating through them, and all windows are double glazed to ensure that when it snows(And it does a couple of times a year) that you are still warm in winter and cool in summer, and this naturally minimises the very little outdoor noise that there is from coming inside, so on this point I will have to agree to disagree with you. On the point of us "needing a reality check on the prices charged", we are in the unique position of also running a second business from reception which is a booking service for 56 of the other B & B's in the Dandenong Ranges, so I am well versed in what people are being charged for accommodation up here, and with a tariff range of between $120 and $235 for midweek, and between $160 and $300 for a single weekend nights accommodation across the five different levels of luxury of my suites I can say categorically that my tariffs are more than competitive with all other accommodation providers in the Dandenong Ranges.

We invite and look forward to answering any further enquires personally that anyone may have and we ask that you consider a Loft in The Mill as your relaxation destination the next time that you choose to get away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Such a lovely, peaceful spot. With a lovely little shopping area near by.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaHaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

On the positive side this B&B is in a fantastic location and you can walk across the road to shops and restaurants. Unfortunately there wasn't much else we thought was memorable about this B&B.

We stayed in the Garden Suite which had a comfortable bed, very small bathroom with spa, fireplace (with not enough fire wood!) and a closet with toaster, breakfast supplies, fridge etc). Private "herb" garden with outdoor setting accessed through french doors.

We stay in B&Bs each year for our Anniversary and there are definitely better in the area. There may well be better as this establishment, just not the "Garden Room".

We were really looking forward to relaxing in a spa but the bathroom is tiny and the spa not huge. Very disappointed that the bathroom had no toiletries for guests as we hadn't brought our own expecting to find complimentary items in the bathroom.

Breakfast was disappointing - some bread and cereal in the room to fix your own. We chose not to eat in our room but elected to walk over the road and had a terrific cooked breakfast at the Ranges at Olinda Cafe (at our own cost).

We ate dinner at Immerse across the road and would recommend this restaurant also.

All in all an "average" stay for $360 a night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1birdie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoftInTheMillOwner, Owner at The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, August 1, 2010
I am the owner and operator of A Loft in The Mill and have been running this succesfult B & B opposite Olinda Village at the top of the Dandenong Ranges now for two and a half years. During this time we have constantly refurbished and upgraded every privately entranced suite and the grounds of the property to a stage where we have over 6000 people stay with us now every year and that our return custom sits at an industry high of 19% of all guests that stay at the Loft. We try incredibly hard to make sure that every guest has a fantastic stay at the Loft, unfortunately 2 bad reviews from over 12,000 guests that have stayed with us during this time reveal that there is always room for improvement, but we strive to deliver a level of customer service that is unrivalled in our region, and I would ask that if ever a guest was unsatisfied with anything that they have experienced at a Loft In the Mill that they let my friendly & hard working staff at reception know and we will immediately remedy the situation. My staff work here because they love the place, and you can probably tell by reading this that myself and my wife are also immensely proud & passionate about our beautiful Loft. If reception is closed late of a night there is a night phone beside the reception door and I live on the property so I can assist you straight away. The combination of our great location, unique buildings, luxurious & private suites and above all our genuine desire to make sure that each and every guest that stays at a Loft in The Mill leaves here positively raving about the place, sets us apart from every other accommodation provider in these beautiful Dandenong Ranges.

We have completely renovated both the Hathaway and King Arthur Suites, and made substantial improvements to the other 6 suites to a stage where we have had "Postcards" a Channel 9 travel show ask us if they could come out and film in both suites(We never asked for this) and this footage is on the homepage of our website for you to see for your self the level of pampered luxury that you will enjoy at a Loft in The Mill.

I would now like to answer the concerns of "1birdie23" of April 2009. We don't actually have a "Garden Suite", I'm presuming your refering to our "Herb Garden Suite". All my housekeepers(They also love coming to this beautiful location and workplace) replace and fill up all firewood and ensure that there are complimentary Shampoo, Conditioner, Body Lotion, Bubble Bath, Toothbrushes & Toothpaste, Soaps and Slippers everytime they clean or service any of the suites, and this same practice was also in place in April, 2009. On your next point I am six foot two inches tall and I can stretch out in every one of the luxurious double spas, and comfortably fit a second person if the need arises in every spa of the 7 spa suites that we have. On your final point as advertised on our website(and this was the case before April 2009) with every suite's tariff there is the inclusion of Continental Breakfast provisions which comprise your choice of 3 different cereals, a half cob(for1 nights stay) of freshly baked bread, orange juices, milk, and condiments(Jam, Honey & Vegemite) for either your bread or toast. The next sentence on every website advert that we feature on worldwide then states that if you desire a cooked breakfast "simply add $15 per head, per morning that you desire a cooked breakfast onto your tariff and we will provide you with a cooked breakfast voucher which is redeemable at Ranges Restaurant opposite the property". We do this because if we added a cooked breakfast onto every tariff then the point made earlier by "555muzby" about a reality check on pricing may start to gain some semblance of credibility, instead it enables us to deliver the most competitive and lowest tariff that we can put out into the marketplace.

We invite and look forward to answering any further enquires personally that anyone may have and we ask that you consider a Loft in The Mill as your relaxation destination the next time that you choose to get away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
1.4 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Olinda Country Cottages
Olinda Country Cottages
#7 of 13 in Olinda
22 reviews
1.4 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Annie Roe's Luxury Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation

Property: The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
Address: 1602 Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2013, 2014 and 2015 Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence. Winner also of various awards (including Victorian Tourism Award for Best Hosted Accommodation Venue), Loft In The Mill is a magnificent replica of an old flour mill with adjacent carriage house built from reclaimed 150 year old convict cut Bluestone. Boasting 4 ½ star accommodation, we offer a range of suites to suit all styles and budgets. Each luxurious suite has a private entrance, its own facilities, and uniquely individual decor. We offer a range of facilities, including: large double spas, crackling log fires, romantic four poster beds, private courtyards, in-house massage, even a self contained cottage! All suites naturally have their own ensuite bathrooms and kitchenettes.Loft In The Mill is perfectly located opposite Olinda Village right at the top of the picturesque Dandenong Ranges and Mount Dandenong: walking distance to boutique shops, lovely gardens, galleries, quaint tearooms and quality restaurants. 16 Restaurants are within a two kilometre radius from the property and 9 Wedding Reception Venues are within a seven kilometre radius. A short distance away is William Ricketts Sanctuary and the National Rhodedendron Gardens. 15 minutes away is Puffing Billy Railway and Trees Adventure or the Yarra Valley’s numerous wineries.All tariffs include light continental breakfast and cooked breakfast vouchers at $15 per head are redeemable at Ranges Restaurant in the Olinda Village opposite the property.Spoil yourself in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing