We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 13 Olinda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in the Calico Room, a beautiful little space with a separate lounge and bedroom. The bathroom was spacious and sparkling, the bed comfortable, and the courtyard a very special treat (although it backs onto the carpark, so isn't really private, and people walk right passed on their way to reception). I don't regret staying, but wouldn't choose the Calico Room again, as it is right next to the road and traffic was loud until after midnight. Heavy sleepers won't find this a problem at all. Definitely recommend this place, but will try a different room next time for the sake of noise and privacy. Friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoftInTheMillOwner, Owner at The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you Maddy for taking the time to pen those kind words. I agree the Calico Suite can at times experience a small amount of traffic noise and in the later half of this year we have commisioned a stonemason to build another double fronted metre high bluestone wall along the roadway that stretches from the top of the stairwell along to past the Calico Suite courtyard with the express purpose of just cutting down the traffic noise to this suite. All other suites in the Mill building are the equivalent of triple brick in their construction and all windows are double glazed so you can't hear any noise from outside even if you tried. All suites in the Carriagehouse building(The Carriagehouse, Tudor Suite and Attic Suite) are situated towards the rear of the property and again do not experience the noise of traffic which to be fair is almost non-existent after the shops shut at 5.00 pm in the evening.

We look forward to you returning to the Loft in the Mill in the future and trying another one of our beautiful privately entranced suites.

Kind Regards,

The Loft In The Mill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    41
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
125
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my fiance and our 3mounts old infant, while sightseeing around Mount Dandenong and Yarra Valley wineries. Great place to rest and lounge at!
Some traffic during the night is all we can complain about, but it wasn't really annoying or anything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hakanbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoftInTheMillOwner, Owner at The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Sounds like you would have had to stay in the Calico Suite, your comments have been taken on board and you will see in my owners response to the comment of the 3rd of February that we will be doing something about the traffic noise that can only be heard at times in this one suite.

We would have had this bluestone wall built earlier only we have a full renovation of the Attic Suite commencing on the 11th of March this year which will turn it from it's current one bedroom, one bathroom suite to a two storey, two bedroom, two bathroom suite with a bedside double spa bath, private courtyard and a new name, The Governor's Retreat!

Look forward to seeing you again some time in the future at The Loft in The Mill.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Loft in The Mill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Lovely,quaint and cosy lodge, perfectly located within walking distance from Olinda Village. Location is excellent in exploring the 3 villages - Olinda, Sassafras and Dandenong villages and the ranges and walking trails in the Dandenong ranges. The service is excellent, personally showing us the room amenities and with a great map to the local area. The Loft in the Mill also got us some discounts and free tasting platter with the local restaurants and they can make the reservations on your behalf as well.

The room (Herb Garden Suite) was clean, quaint, tastefully decorated to emulate its historical past of a mill. With a queen sized 4 poster bed, european pillows, great linene, armchairs, quaint showcase containing crockery, a logwood fireplace, airconditioner,an electrical heater, it is obvious that the design, items in the room were well thought through. A small kitchen area tucked into an old wardrobe space again indicated clever use of space. The kitchen area comprised of a microwave, a bar fridge, a toaster, and kettle, and basic cold breakfast of cereal, bread, milk, juice and coffee (with press!) and tea were provided, making it easy for us to have a lazy breakfast start to the day. The bathroom on the other hand meets our modern needs of a clean, tiled, sleek design, and a two person spa tub with a shower overhead. It was excellent soaking in the tub which was clean and well maintained. And Molten Brown toiletries, bedroom slippers, hairdryer, loads of fluffy towels and extra toilet paper were also provided. There is on-site parking. The Herb Garden suite opens up to its private garden which we did not get to enjoy much due to the rainy two days when we were there. But it was lovely.Stay was private, left uninterrupted and cosy. Exactly what we sought in booking a couple of days away in Olinda. So Loft in the Mill turned out to be a great accommodation choice.

Room Tip: Those suites with private gardems.on the ground floor would be more ideal for couples. Seems to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinster2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoftInTheMillOwner, Owner at The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you Rinster for the lovely recommendation of our Herb Garden Suite which I have to say is one of our most popular privately entranced suites. In keeping with it's past the Herb Garden Suite was originally a Goldsmith's Shop and the Cupboard you speak of that holds the Kitchenette is in fact the old converted safe, shame the Goldsmith didn't leave behind one of his presents!

We love that you liked the inclusion of the Molten Brown toiletries which is a recent addition that we put in each suite across the board to further highten the visiotr experinec here at Loft in The Mill.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Loft in The Mill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

A lovely b&b in a lovely part of the world. The Loft in the Mill is perfectly located within Olinda, with many restaurants within walking distance.
The owners were very friendly, and helpful with all our requests.
We stayed in the Tudor room, which has a proper log fire, which was fully prepped, so very easy to get it going.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The property is a rather quaint old building and we had booked their budget room but it came equipped with everything you need. We had a 4 poster bed and breakfast which they say is included in the rate is pushing it a bit far if you are staying more than 1 night. In the fridge there are 2 small bottles of juice and some of the little cereal boxes and a loaf of bread......this was for 2 breakfasts x 2 days. There was no room service and no change of towels and nowhere to dry used towels. Internet reception along with TV reception is at best patchy.....we had only 1 tv channel but we are in the mountains! The hosts were lovely and very friendly and suggested we dined up the mountain as there was a complimentary limo service. It was fantastic and the restaurant was well priced with lovely views over the City. The location on the main road means it can be noisy.
I suspect there are better rooms than ours but it didn't match the 4.5 stars were were expecting. But the area is beautiful.

Room Tip: Go for the best room you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithY651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoftInTheMillOwner, Owner at The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello Keith, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy every moment of your stay. As you know you stayed in our budget suite the Victorian Suite which goes out at $240 for the two nights midweek that you stayed, and agreed this suite is not the 4.5 star rated suites that the other more expensive suites are, however I would like to add that it exceeds a 3.5 star rating with the white marbled bathroom & Queen Sized Mahogany Four Poster Bed with Sealy Posturepedic Mattress not something that you would find in similarly priced and rated suites elsewhere.

What you described as "breakfast included in your tariff" is accurate, however my apologies as owner go out to you as the amounts that you have described are only for a one night stay, and you should of had double that waiting for you in the kitchenette upon your arrival.

As we explained when you checked in there is a 24 hour night phone located immediately to the left of the reception door for your use outside of the reception hours of 10 am to 6 pm every day, this phone being about ten metres from your suite's front door and if you had simply picked up that phone I would have been happy to have immediately re-programmed all the Television Channels. We have power assisted aerials in each suite to ensure the best quality reception that one could expect from the LCD Digital Flatscreen TV/DVD Player's. Some guests choose to use computer games on these LCD Screens in the suites and this has been known to make some channels drop out in the process, but we experience the same variety of television channels that the Melbourne CBD does. What a shame that you had to put up with one channel for two days, obviously the 400 odd free DVD Movies in reception that we indicated to you upon check in didn't interest you either?

We have booster arials for Wireless Internet throughout the property and your suite was only ten metres from the actual modem, so that's interesting, we haven't had anyone experience problems with getting Broadband coverage on the property before, and we have over 6000 people stay with us in our various suites each year.

I can't agree with your description of experiencing passing traffic noise in the Victorian Suite as it is the equivalent of triple brick construction with double glazed windows, and I would challenge anyone if they were inside this suite, and had all the windows closed, to hear anything of passing traffic.

Kind Regards,

Owner,
Loft in The Mill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I recently stayed with you guys for one night only but I have to say the stay may’ve been short but the Victorian room I stayed in was fantastic and had such a lovely homely feel to the room, made me wish I was staying longer. I mentioned to the lovely gentleman when I checked in that I will be coming back with my partner in the not too distant future, hoping around the Christmas time so we will definaitly be staying longer then. The service you guys offer is exceptional, so much I posted on my facebook page telling everyone how beautiful the place was!!!

So thankyou again for a wonderful stay, and I will definaitly be back.

Room Tip: Such exceptional value!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Absolutely in love with this hidden gem of a hotel! Can't say how much I enjoyed my stay from when we first stepped foot through the front door until when we had to sadly leave. My partner booked this hotel for our anniversary and he refused to tell me where we were staying...but I got a nice surprise when we arrived. We stayed in the King Arthur Suite and it is so delightful and tastefully decorated to fit in with the theme. We had our own private courtyard, which was a nice way to start the day by eating breakfast and enjoying the country air. Also included a spa which was JUST heavenly. I felt so spoiled! Out host also was just great. He gave us the warmest welcome and all the information we needed to explore the nearby towns (including maps!) By his recommendation, we decided to dine at the local tavern 'The Pig and Whistle' which provides very homey meals and decor. I noticed the fireplace and am keen to come back during the Winter to fully experience what this room has to offer. Thanking the hosts a million times for their hospitality! HIGHLY recommended if you're looking to escape the City and have a magical night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
1.4 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
1.4 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#4 of 13 in Olinda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Olinda Country Cottages
Olinda Country Cottages
#6 of 13 in Olinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation

Property: The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
Address: 1602 Mount Dandenong Tourist Road, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2013, 2014 and 2015 Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence. Winner also of various awards (including Victorian Tourism Award for Best Hosted Accommodation Venue), Loft In The Mill is a magnificent replica of an old flour mill with adjacent carriage house built from reclaimed 150 year old convict cut Bluestone. Boasting 4 ½ star accommodation, we offer a range of suites to suit all styles and budgets. Each luxurious suite has a private entrance, its own facilities, and uniquely individual decor. We offer a range of facilities, including: large double spas, crackling log fires, romantic four poster beds, private courtyards, in-house massage, even a self contained cottage! All suites naturally have their own ensuite bathrooms and kitchenettes.Loft In The Mill is perfectly located opposite Olinda Village right at the top of the picturesque Dandenong Ranges and Mount Dandenong: walking distance to boutique shops, lovely gardens, galleries, quaint tearooms and quality restaurants. 16 Restaurants are within a two kilometre radius from the property and 9 Wedding Reception Venues are within a seven kilometre radius. A short distance away is William Ricketts Sanctuary and the National Rhodedendron Gardens. 15 minutes away is Puffing Billy Railway and Trees Adventure or the Yarra Valley’s numerous wineries.All tariffs include light continental breakfast and cooked breakfast vouchers at $15 per head are redeemable at Ranges Restaurant in the Olinda Village opposite the property.Spoil yourself in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing