We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely environment and super-friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #3 of 13 Olinda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely environment and super-friendly.”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A lovely b&b in a lovely part of the world. The Loft in the Mill is perfectly located within Olinda, with many restaurants within walking distance.
The owners were very friendly, and helpful with all our requests.
We stayed in the Tudor room, which has a proper log fire, which was fully prepped, so very easy to get it going.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    41
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
128
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The property is a rather quaint old building and we had booked their budget room but it came equipped with everything you need. We had a 4 poster bed and breakfast which they say is included in the rate is pushing it a bit far if you are staying more than 1 night. In the fridge there are 2 small bottles of juice and some of the little cereal boxes and a loaf of bread......this was for 2 breakfasts x 2 days. There was no room service and no change of towels and nowhere to dry used towels. Internet reception along with TV reception is at best patchy.....we had only 1 tv channel but we are in the mountains! The hosts were lovely and very friendly and suggested we dined up the mountain as there was a complimentary limo service. It was fantastic and the restaurant was well priced with lovely views over the City. The location on the main road means it can be noisy.
I suspect there are better rooms than ours but it didn't match the 4.5 stars were were expecting. But the area is beautiful.

Room Tip: Go for the best room you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithY651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoftInTheMillOwner, Owner at The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello Keith, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy every moment of your stay. As you know you stayed in our budget suite the Victorian Suite which goes out at $240 for the two nights midweek that you stayed, and agreed this suite is not the 4.5 star rated suites that the other more expensive suites are, however I would like to add that it exceeds a 3.5 star rating with the white marbled bathroom & Queen Sized Mahogany Four Poster Bed with Sealy Posturepedic Mattress not something that you would find in similarly priced and rated suites elsewhere.

What you described as "breakfast included in your tariff" is accurate, however my apologies as owner go out to you as the amounts that you have described are only for a one night stay, and you should of had double that waiting for you in the kitchenette upon your arrival.

As we explained when you checked in there is a 24 hour night phone located immediately to the left of the reception door for your use outside of the reception hours of 10 am to 6 pm every day, this phone being about ten metres from your suite's front door and if you had simply picked up that phone I would have been happy to have immediately re-programmed all the Television Channels. We have power assisted aerials in each suite to ensure the best quality reception that one could expect from the LCD Digital Flatscreen TV/DVD Player's. Some guests choose to use computer games on these LCD Screens in the suites and this has been known to make some channels drop out in the process, but we experience the same variety of television channels that the Melbourne CBD does. What a shame that you had to put up with one channel for two days, obviously the 400 odd free DVD Movies in reception that we indicated to you upon check in didn't interest you either?

We have booster arials for Wireless Internet throughout the property and your suite was only ten metres from the actual modem, so that's interesting, we haven't had anyone experience problems with getting Broadband coverage on the property before, and we have over 6000 people stay with us in our various suites each year.

I can't agree with your description of experiencing passing traffic noise in the Victorian Suite as it is the equivalent of triple brick construction with double glazed windows, and I would challenge anyone if they were inside this suite, and had all the windows closed, to hear anything of passing traffic.

Kind Regards,

Owner,
Loft in The Mill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I recently stayed with you guys for one night only but I have to say the stay may’ve been short but the Victorian room I stayed in was fantastic and had such a lovely homely feel to the room, made me wish I was staying longer. I mentioned to the lovely gentleman when I checked in that I will be coming back with my partner in the not too distant future, hoping around the Christmas time so we will definaitly be staying longer then. The service you guys offer is exceptional, so much I posted on my facebook page telling everyone how beautiful the place was!!!

So thankyou again for a wonderful stay, and I will definaitly be back.

Room Tip: Such exceptional value!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Absolutely in love with this hidden gem of a hotel! Can't say how much I enjoyed my stay from when we first stepped foot through the front door until when we had to sadly leave. My partner booked this hotel for our anniversary and he refused to tell me where we were staying...but I got a nice surprise when we arrived. We stayed in the King Arthur Suite and it is so delightful and tastefully decorated to fit in with the theme. We had our own private courtyard, which was a nice way to start the day by eating breakfast and enjoying the country air. Also included a spa which was JUST heavenly. I felt so spoiled! Out host also was just great. He gave us the warmest welcome and all the information we needed to explore the nearby towns (including maps!) By his recommendation, we decided to dine at the local tavern 'The Pig and Whistle' which provides very homey meals and decor. I noticed the fireplace and am keen to come back during the Winter to fully experience what this room has to offer. Thanking the hosts a million times for their hospitality! HIGHLY recommended if you're looking to escape the City and have a magical night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

WOW!! Is all I can really say. My husband booked this for our first year anniversary and it was just delightful. From the original booking call he had made right through to the end of our stay the service was outstanding. Upon arrival we were shown an amazing collection of DVDs to choose from and give a map and some extra details about Olinda. We were then take tn our room. We had originally booked the King Arthur suite and it was beautiful, we were then left to get comfortable. Within minutes there was a knock on our door asking if we would like to be upgraded to 'the Loft' as there were some rennovations about to start up again and they didn't want to disturb us with the noise. We took the upgrade and again WOW! The loft was such a beautiful room and the bed was sooo comfortable I didn't want to leave.. and then there was the spa! Apart fro the yummy chocolates and light breafast snacks that were provided there was one more surprise - a limocup to sky high! It really was just devine and such a relaxing and memorable time away. We had to sneak off early in the morning and check out was a breeze with just a quick drop off of the room key. We will definately be staying here again and are already planning our stay for next year when we attend a wedding in Olinda. A very big thank you to everyone at the Loft on the Mill who made our stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible.

Room Tip: The loft being on the highest level is nice quiet and private, however the King Arthur suite has a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellecee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Loved it. Came with my wife for a weekend away from home. Such a delightful part of Victoria. Olinda is a lovely town and the hotel has the best location, across the road from shops and restaurants. Lovely decorated rooms, ours even had a fire place. It was a cool rainy weekend which made everything even better.

Wonderful personalised service by Heather, a proud local who's only too happy to provide with some great tips on things to do

Overall, greatly recommended for a night or two unless you really want to chill for a longer period.

Can't wait to come back in the winter!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilanweill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Upon arrival, we were greeted and shown the extensive DVD collection tat we could take as many as we liked. We weren't even asked to register what we'd taken so instatntly there was trust there. We were then taken to our room, the King Arthur Suite.
The genuine log fire with wood supplied was a real hit as was the medieval decor. Every nook and corner of the room is filled with something interesting.
Restaurants are a 2 minute walk away and there are great vouchers available from reception
We'll definately stay here again as it's a great place to getaway

Room Tip: The King Arthur Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregMarshall_762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
1.4 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Olinda Country Cottages
Olinda Country Cottages
#7 of 13 in Olinda
23 reviews
1.4 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Annie Roe's Luxury Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation

Property: The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
Address: 1602 Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2013, 2014 and 2015 Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence. Winner also of various awards (including Victorian Tourism Award for Best Hosted Accommodation Venue), Loft In The Mill is a magnificent replica of an old flour mill with adjacent carriage house built from reclaimed 150 year old convict cut Bluestone. Boasting 4 ½ star accommodation, we offer a range of suites to suit all styles and budgets. Each luxurious suite has a private entrance, its own facilities, and uniquely individual decor. We offer a range of facilities, including: large double spas, crackling log fires, romantic four poster beds, private courtyards, in-house massage, even a self contained cottage! All suites naturally have their own ensuite bathrooms and kitchenettes.Loft In The Mill is perfectly located opposite Olinda Village right at the top of the picturesque Dandenong Ranges and Mount Dandenong: walking distance to boutique shops, lovely gardens, galleries, quaint tearooms and quality restaurants. 16 Restaurants are within a two kilometre radius from the property and 9 Wedding Reception Venues are within a seven kilometre radius. A short distance away is William Ricketts Sanctuary and the National Rhodedendron Gardens. 15 minutes away is Puffing Billy Railway and Trees Adventure or the Yarra Valley’s numerous wineries.All tariffs include light continental breakfast and cooked breakfast vouchers at $15 per head are redeemable at Ranges Restaurant in the Olinda Village opposite the property.Spoil yourself in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing