We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Camelot Tower & Penthouse
Ranked #9 of 12 Olinda B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We recently stayed at the Penthouse Suite here. The room is very large, But it definitely could do with some updating. There was a broken (cracked window in one room.) would be dangerous if any one leaned on this. The furniture could do with some changes The tv is the old style and small and has a digital box. You cant move the tv from its little alcove so is hard to see and has been a long time since I have seen a video recorder in a room :), Lots of light globes blown or with no shades. One side of the electric blanket worked as we needed this as the heating to this large room was one small heater down stairs which really did nothing to heat the room and it was a very cold night we had to drag out blankets. The spa bath was good but took forever to fill as the water pressure very low.

The shower is in the bathroom downstairs which is a pain as have to drag everything down there plus there is no mirror in that bathroom so have to drag back upstairs to finish getting ready.. But there is one over the spa bath but couldn't use that as it just trickles water.
it is a beautiful place but is looking tired and needs the updates.
The people that run the place are very nice and happy to tell you all about the place. And I must say she does make a beautiful breakfast we did enjoy that. And there are a few extra snacks in fridge and pantry if you want them.
But for the price have stayed in many more that have paid the same and would do again but for there I think is overpriced for the fact it needs so many changes.
I probably would not go back again .
The Tower apartment looks nice and would probably be the one I would choose if did go back.

Room Tip: Stay in the Tower if you choose to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nursey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 94 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our experience is difficult to describe without resort to expletives.
Filthy, mismatched furniture. Rank, stained, bedding.
Took one look and left.
How this place got 5 stars is beyond comprehension.
Admittedly has a Well carved stair case, but only takes you from purgatory of the kitchen and the garage ashtray to the hell of the bedroom.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DanOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Thanks Ophelia & Ross, we had great one night stay at Sandstone. Ophelia gave us warm welcome . The breakfast is beautiful. The hand craft Sandstone bed is awesome... really amazing. The Suite was good size & very clean and tidy. Walking distances to restaurants and good view of City. We will do our next visit soon…

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poornima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were fortunate to be allowed an early check-in to our suite. True to the advertisement there was a nice, tho dated spa suite, some exceptional woodwork, a nice view and fully functional kitchen.

We were however quite dismayed to be told that the oven and stove were turned off. We had planned to stay in for a quiet night. Not to worry we could have used the BBQ, if it hadn't been turned off too. To be fair the owners did permit us use of the stove top and apparently the small print somewhere apparently states that the kitchen facilities are only available to 'extended stay' guests. We made a nice stove top dinner but unfortunately the inside of the dishwasher greeted us with an 'out of order' sign. For $380 a night I think 2 star might be closer to the mark

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chipngoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Having never stayed in the Dandenongs before, i was absolutely amazed with the scenery of the area. The forests, the atmosphere, the nature was just breathtaking on the drive up to Olinda and the elevation makes for a perfect retreat away from all of the hustle and bustle of Melbourne, yet was only 40 minutes away! I am not usually one for atmosphere and scenic views but my jaw absolutely hit the floor when we looked out our main bedroom window to see a clear, uninterrupted view of the whole of Melbourne right to Port Phillip Bay (about 50kms away). And then Ophelia pointed out the You Yang's of Geelong which would be over 100kms away! My Girlfriend and I were staying in the Garden Suite which was warm and spacious, with breakfast included. Ross and Ophelia were the most caring hosts anyone could ask for and Ross was even kind enough to show us his pride and joy, the Camelot Tower. Not only is it an amazing architectural and structural feat, the design is unheard of in this day and age. To witness such remarkable craftsmanship would most likely never be replicated again.
We had an amazing time and would recommend Camelot Tower to all of our friends.
Kate + Ben

Room Tip: We saw the view in the Garden, Penthouse, Sandstone and Camelot and they were all to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

A must for anyone who loves to relax and unwind. Stunning views and old school craftsmanship that is lost in today's world a true joy. Ross and Ofelia really do make your stay unforgettable we have found that once in a lifetime place to vist it was hard to leave. Dion and Leah .

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dionhiggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last October 2011 for our wedding anniversary and we found the place lovely with beautiful furnishings and yummy breakfast provided. Ophelia and her husband were gracious. We would recommend this place for people looking for a get away and its especially nice as a couple as it has a spa and loads of room to make one feel home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark and lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olinda hotels
0.2 mi away
Como Cottages
Como Cottages
#1 of 6 in Olinda
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
0.5 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambridge Cottages
Cambridge Cottages
#5 of 12 in Olinda
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annie Roe's Luxury Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Camelot Tower & Penthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Camelot Tower & Penthouse

Address: 9 Sunset Ave, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Camelot Tower & Penthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your A Camelot Tower & Penthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Camelot Tower & Penthouse Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing