We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beachside stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Ocean Grove
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ocean Grove
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best beachside stay ever”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I spent two nights here with my boyfriend. The room was impeccable. We found the bed super comfy and the furnishings very pleasing to the eye.

The shower was great and towels were quite fluffy. Very quiet and peaceful.

The manager was very patient with my boyfriend who had trouble operating the remote for the heater (he was pointing it towards the ground, what a duffer!). He was very funny and friendly when we made our booking and did everything to make our stay pleasant, offering plenty of advice on where to eat (Oakdene proved to be a great recommendation - try the wagyu!) and things to do

Excellent value! Thanks Riverside!

P.S. I think the person who wrote the first review was drug affected at the time of writing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    7
    4
    9
See reviews for
17
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Ocean Road
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a lovely couple of days rest at Ocean Grove. the Rooms were great and the manager very helpful and guiding us around the town to great reastraunts and sites to see.
Thanks

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank BCR555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed over the weekend with my partner and we had a very comfortable stay. The rooms were fresh, comfortable and with a little kitchenette for tea and toast. Bed was comfy, heating worked a treat and despite being in a complex we didn't hear a peep from the other guests even though it was fully booked over the long weekend. The pool looked great but the weather was crappy so it was look, don't touch. What a pity. Perfectly located nice and close to all the Bellarine wineries, getting around was easy by car and the accommodation was just outside the town centre. Great stay, great price, would go back in Summer to try out the pool. Staff were friendly and efficient in all interactions face to face, on the phone and by email.

Room Tip: We had the standard room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BringonBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEL
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed in a superior suite towards the end of massive renovation of this motel. The suites are positioned tightly around a small pool. This hadn't been completed when we stayed. I imagine it would be very pleasant, except that with perhaps 20 or more suites looking onto the small pool courtyard, it will get very noisy.

The rooms are well presented in their brand new renovation, though there have been some shortcuts that could let the place down in the long term. Water pressure was very poor, making the stylish shower a frustrating waste of time. The walls are fairly thin. Our neighbours had sex on their first night and there was no way to ignore what was happening.

There are small cabins on the property as well, and these might afford more privacy and enjoyment. I would NOT recommend staying here during peak season if you want a quiet relaxing time, but off-season could make this a reasonable choice. As with most Australian (and US) accommodation, the prices are fairly high for what you get when compared to many places in Europe, for instance.

The location is on the road from Geelong to Ocean Grove, with the town centre being about an easy 15 minute walk away (except for a big hill).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I found this place to be very ameniable and the staff were excellent and the rooms spotless. I nearly didn't stay there because of the previous review. Obvious it was someone who must have been ejected or something.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

This motor inn was appalling.

my partner and i found this place very rude. Throughout the stay the service were very rude and as i was leaving i leavt some valuables in the room, once i rang him to tell him id come back to collect them he abused me, swearing, his statement was "why should i .... do anything by you? im not going to .... give u back your stuff."
he was very very rude, he continued abusing me with obscene words until i was in tears and hung up.

i would really like to advise everyone not to consider staying here as it was a very rude place.

  • Liked — Close to the beach
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank honestellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean Grove hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
1.8 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
5.9 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
110 reviews
8.2 mi away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boat Ramp Motel
Boat Ramp Motel
#2 of 2 in Ocean Grove
24 reviews
6.2 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Ocean Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Ocean Grove

Property: Riverside Ocean Grove
Address: 64 Wallington Rd, Ocean Grove, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3226, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Ocean Grove 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated quiet family oriented resort style motel walking distance to Barwon River and a short drive to the beach. Close to Barwon Heads. Features split systems, Foxtel, free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riverside Ocean Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing