We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time around, because we loved it so much the first time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast

Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newhaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Newhaven B&B and Inns
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2nd time around, because we loved it so much the first time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Reading the bad reviews below I was blown away. We are repeat visitors because the rooms were so tranquil and Katherine was so lovely and made us feel completely at home.

We were greeted at the door by this lovely kind lady with a big smile and made to feel extremely welcome. Sheagain met us up at our room after we parked around the back. The back yard is full of a beautiful cottage garden. So pretty and relaxing, welcoming a stroll.

When shown to our room by Kath she asked what time we would like our breakfast in the morning. We decided to have a later one, which we enjoyed on our balcony overlooking the bay. How relaxing! We took a cruise around Phillip Island at other hotels and did not see any with such a wonderful view like we were getting from this balcony. It was uninterrupted.

As for the two pieces of toast as described below, the person neglected to mention it was homemade bread made by Katherine herself and was still warm when delivered to our room. We got half a loaf which was plenty. Kath even asked if we would like to take the left overs home with us.

The room is just lovely and the bed is so comfortable. The spa in our room #4 and in the last room we stayed in #1 was fantastic. It over looked the Bay with a full view. My husband and I became stress-free, just what we needed after a long week at work.

Kath is happy to help with anything you need, but isn't in your face, which is just what we wanted. When we are off on a weekend to be alone and romantic, we really don't want the owner of the property popping in every 5 minutes to see if we are ok. We love the privacy Kath allows you.

We will be back again. It’s is just the peace and quiet we needed.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect. All with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineANDsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

After being greeted very courteously, we were given the keys to our room and were pleasantly surprised over the cleanliness and decor of our suite. Breakfast was provided every morning by the owner who left us in peace and privacy to enjoy our stay. The view from our balcony was glorious and we were able to watch the sunrise. The garden at the back was really beautiful. We plan to return in spring when the flowers begin to bloom. Highly recommended to garden lovers and people who want high standard accomodation for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: we called direct and got a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank femmef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

We were not welcomed, we felt more like an inconvenience than a paying guest. The attitude and service provided was well below any I have experienced in many years of staying at B&B's. I suggest you look further, try Kill'n'time just down the road.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fudgie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

My partner and l stayed for two nights this past weekend.

On the plus side this B&B was immaculate in terms of cleaniness and the location on the water in Fairhaven good.

Was disappointed with the facilities in the room, the TV was so small it was a struggle to watch from the bed (l don't think that wall mounted 25cm screens cut it anywhere anymore). We also struggled with the bed, it was rock hard.

We had a nice time but our next trip to Phillip Island will be in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

When we drove up to the B&B we thought it was going to be one of the best in our Aussie visit. The house is modern with a lovely view of the sea. Inside, rooms were well decorated and roomy, all very clean. Should be 4-5 stars, then, but...

The lady owner was pleasant but seemd to have so much going on that there was little time for her guests - which were only us at that time, so she was hardly pushed. We were welcomed with the words that she had to go out to Cowes - not sure what would have happened if we'd arrived later as she was on her own. She quickly expained where the breakfast would be held in the morning and other basic info, eg keys.

Next morning I thought we aere still on our own but just after our alotted breakfast time (she gave 8pm or 830 as options) she appeared with 2 slices of bread each (for use to toast in our room), 2 juice cartons, 2 little pots of jam, 2 cereal mini-cartons (no choice)s - and that was it. We had to make tea or coffee in our rooms. She then disappeared until we were leaving when we had to knock on the front door to find her as there was no access to her r0ooms downstairs. She remarked again how busy she was, moaned that paying by credit card would cost her 8% then wished us good bye.

She wasn't unpleasant but it was clear that we were well down in her list of priorities. Seems harsh to give only 2 stars but we just didn't feel welcome and that means a lot to us.

The locality was very quiet with no real choice of restaurants or shops. That required a trip in the car.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2005

This is my very first time visiting Melbourne and trying out a bed and breakfast and I am very glad I've chosen the Moonlight Bay B & B! :) The room (we got the Romance Suite) was beautiful, the view was fantastic and the place was so accessible we could easily take a stroll to get a pizza.

The room was impeccably clean and there was not a speck of dust or dirt. Besides providing tons of shampoo, conditioner, soap and even bubble bath (for the spa), I was really impressed with the fact that there was milk and orange juice in the fridge! It was really cool that the room had a good TV, a DVD player and a small collection of DVDs to choose from, though honestly the porn was really crap!! Muwahaahahhahaa! ;)

Kathy (the lady who owns the place) was really patient and nice and even though we checked into the B & B really late, she was really sweet and allowed us to use the spa late at night. I also appreciated the fact that she allowed us to have breakfast and check out really late.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2004

My husband and I went down to Phillip Island for a weekend retreat. We decided to stay at the Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast, and we're glad we did. This is a new establishment (only open for 6 weeks) in a modern home. The rooms are quaintly decorated in burgundy and white decor with views of the bay and marina. We chose the Botany Suite, which is supposed to be the nicest/largest room. Though it was smaller than we had imagined, it was still wonderful. It's a top floor room with its own balcony that overlooks the bay and has a little table where you can eat your breakfast. There is also a very large spa tub in the room (very comfortably fits two people) with windows that overlook the bay.

If you want peace and quiet, this is definitely the place to stay on Phillip Island. It's located in a residential area in Newhaven far away from the more touristy/noisy attractions on the island. It is run by a very nice couple. You can tell that they're still very new to the business and are still learning the tricks of the trade, but they are very welcoming and nice to deal with. Breakfast is served between 7:00 AM and 9:00 AM and is quite nice. There is a motel next door, but it was wonderfully silent during out stay. It might seem a bit overpriced to some ($395/two nights - complimentary wine and chocolates, cooked breakfasts), but the peace and quiet you get alone is definitely worth the price! We will definitely stay there again!

Helpful?
Thank RantingJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
0.8 mi away
San Remo Hotel/Motel
San Remo Hotel/Motel
#3 of 3 in San Remo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Accommodation
1.9 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#1 of 3 in San Remo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park
7.5 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#1 of 10 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
11.1 mi away
Swan Lake Guest House
Swan Lake Guest House
#2 of 4 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast

Property: Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast
Address: 29 Forrest Ave, Newhaven, Phillip Island, Victoria 3925, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Newhaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newhaven
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Bed And Breakfast Newhaven, Phillip Island, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing