We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Island Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Quay's Motel San Remo(San Remo)(Great Value!)
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silverwater Resort(San Remo)(Great Value!)
$123
$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$107
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arthur Phillip Motor Inn(Cowes)(Great Value!)
$96
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seahorse Motel(Cowes)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Resort Kaloha(Cowes)(Great Value!)
$111
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
68
34
12
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
34
12
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstv roomsthe kitchenbed dormping pong tableentertainment roomprivate bathroompenguin paradestorage spacepublic transportgreat place to staygreat cafecomfortable bedslounge areafamily roomhostelyharemo
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 123 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Myself and the three friends I stayed with at this hostel thought it was fantastic. We booked a mixed four bed ensuite dorm and it suited us all down to the ground.
I have stayed in over 100 different hostel all over the world and this one definately stacked up. It is new, clean, (linen provided), lockable boxes under each bunk, good location to public transport, friendly helpful staff, bike hire, good kitchen and common room, and seemingly a nice social vibe at least on the night we were there, (Saturday) which is unusual for a YHA.

The hostel is just across the bridge and is a very easy walk to San Remo where there is a supermarket and a couple bakery's and pubs. There is also a great pier to leap off (watch out for the fast moving tide) also there's stringrays and pelicans to look at.

We went for the Little Penguins parade, so it was about a ten minute plus drive to get there in our car. I have no idea how you would get there without a car.

Bring a towel or be prepared to rent one.

A little on the expensive side, but so is all of Australia.

Overall the penguins were awesome, the beaches beautiful and the hostel better than expected.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1IslandAccommodation, Front Office Manager at The Island Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us! We love hearing feedback from guests who have travelled extensively – always nice to know how we compare and how we can improve our service. Happy Travelling! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Being sold this property based on the fact that it had a YHA name next to it was a total misconception. The room was overpriced at $155 for a double with an ensuite, which was basically a box overlooking a shed with no aircon (the first dot point on the website mentions aircon but it is only in the common areas) on a very hot night.

It is basically a backpackers with very little atmosphere, a negleted tone to it, not overly clean, right on a noisy main road and takes no advantage of scenery/views of surrounding area. It is in an islolated location with a 15 minute walk to any decent shops/restaraunts/pubs and a fair distance from any of the island's main tourist attractions. More isloated than Burke and Wills to be fair. To add to this there are signs everywhere saying " No alcohol - seriously isn't this meant to be a YHA?

I am not sure who takes the hardest hit here - I suspect it is the YHA for putting their name to this property. Its an insult to all the brilliant work put into the Apollo Bay, Grampians and Sydney Rocks (with a proper roof deck) YHA's. Give this place a swerve.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corporate_Backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1IslandAccommodation, Front Office Manager at The Island Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

To be fair to Burke and Wills, we have a cafe next door, and two shopping precincts within a 5 and 10 minute walk. San Remo is only 10 minutes away and has many restaurant options, 2 hotels and various retail shops.

We take all feedback onboard, to improve our service and the comfort of our guests. To get a well rounded idea of what we offer, you can read our other reviews.
Our business has Australian Tourism Accreditation (T-Qual), has twice been a finalist in the RACV tourism awards, and won the Bdav best environmentally sustainable design award (and we are only 3 years old)!

Our Complex is ideally located at the gateway to Phillip Island. Phillip Island’s Attractions are spread out over the entire island, some of the Island’s most popular tourism attractions are only a 5 minute walk away. The Main attraction – The Penguin Parade, can only be reached by car from all areas of the island, The only way to get to the penguin parade without a car is by a charter service available at check in.

Because we are an eco building, and winner for BDAV best sustainable design, we have air conditioning in our common areas only with areas designed with zones to save power wastage.

We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, and our guests always comment on this fact. (See Reviews)

We have numerous balconies, and a lovely Rooftop Deck with 360 degree views over the ocean - arguably one of the finest views on Phillip Island. (See Photos)

We have a limited alcohol policy to discourage antisocial behaviour. The comfort of our guests is our highest priority. We have kitchen /dining/lounge areas that permit alcohol, we encourage our guests to go elsewhere to party, and to come back to sleep.

Thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A good quality hostel on Phillip island with easy access to many of the attractions and beaches. It is a quiet spot, so be aware of that, the evenings can be very quiet. If you are surfing you will need a car, but I found a good way to get a round is to rent one of their mountain bikes, you can get all over the island which is really well quipped with an excellent cycle path. The rooms are to a very high standard, clean, and bright and airey. I had a great nights sleep. Also worthy of note is the kitchen on each floor, again to a very good standard and very well equipped. There is a cafe joined on which does very nice food and is reasonably priced. There is also a roof top terrace which is nice to sit quietly and read. My only complaint would be the Internet, for a number of reasons 1) you are charged for Internet $10 for 2 hours - personally I think that in this day and age Internet is as important as a bed itself and should be free, particularly if you are working as I was 2) I had problems connecting almost every time, and other times it would run very slow (and restrict me from logging out which ate up more of my 2 hours).

So to conclude, I lovely place to stay, well run, clean and comfortable but Internet is annoying.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank flyrobfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1IslandAccommodation, Front Office Manager at The Island Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us :) We have been having technical issues with our internet recently and as a result we have changed our internet provider.
Thanks for your kind and informative review, hope to see you here again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Is a really good hostel, one of the best equipped there i've been, and the staff is quite good as well. But is far from touristic places, so i really recommend this hostel if you're going to Phillip Island by car or a guided tour.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafaFuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1IslandAccommodation, Front Office Manager at The Island Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Phillip Island is a large island, we are ideally situated at the gateway, a short walk to the supermarket, pubs and restaurants and close to some of the Islands most popular attractions. The penguin parade can only be reached by car from all areas of the island, The only way to get to the penguin parade without a car is by a charter service available at check in. Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we hope to see you here again 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Staying in what is basically a Youth Hostel one would expect a party atmosphere at night. This wasn't the case here. It is run with consideration for other guests comfort. While our double room had spartan decor, the other facilities made up for it with a hugh communal kitchen,lounge,TV rooms,cafe,bike hire and very helpful staff.The piped music was unobtrussive

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1IslandAccommodation, Front Office Manager at The Island Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thankyou for your kind review – we are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews