We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic southern meat and three blue plates - top quality”

Courtney's Restaurant & Catering
Ranked #7 of 123 Restaurants in Mount Juliet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Owned by Tom Courtney
Restaurant details
Description: Owned by Tom Courtney
now
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Classic southern meat and three blue plates - top quality”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I ate at Courtney's last year on a work trip and when I had the opportunity to return it was on my must go list. Both visits I had excellent home style southern food with generous portions. The cafeteria style setting is fun - you choose what looks good. The fried chicken has a light crispy crust and tender inside. The jambalaya is creole style with lots of tomato - not over spiced. The broccoli casserole invokes memories of church pot lucks - but Courtney's version features a sharp cheese, rice and broccoli that isn't overcooked. Yummy Mac and cheese. The turnip greens were a little bland for my liking but again- not mushy or overcooked. Great lunch spot to get food quickly. I'll look forward to coming back next trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lostinthesupermarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    29
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have been there twice in the past week. Many items are prepared when you order eg: fried okra and country fried steak. Service was good. Omelets were good and fresh. More than we could eat. Will continue to go there. Met the owner and he made sure everything was satisfactory.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
191 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Country Cookin'!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

After driving past this restaurant for three years and always seeing their packed parking lot I finally visited Courtney's for dinner. I have to say my family and I all really enjoyed our meals. My brother and I got the fried chicken, which was good, a bit on the dry side, but not bad at all. My son got the meatloaf and loved it. All the sides were delicious, especially the coconut meringue pie for dessert that was out of this world! The staff was super friendly and attentive. We were extremely happy with our entire experience and look forward to dining here, again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hometown Place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family really enjoys visiting this place. The food is consistently good. We have been very pleased with lunch and dinner meals (only tried one breakfast, that was not the best). This restaurant is very popular on weekend evenings, when local entertainment takes the stage, so seating can be crowded, and service can be less than perfect, but that happens on occasion, at popular spots. The owners and servers are all friendly, and really try to make the customers comfortable. As someone who is salt sensitive, I have to watch what I eat there, since I find home-cooking can often be over salted, but the choices are plenty. Relax, enjoy the hometown atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyndie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The worst service in my life.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

In the 40 years that I have eaten out, this was unequivocally the worst service I ever had. I cannot comment about the quality of the food because I left after my wife finished her meal and they still could not get my order right. Then one of the staff members followed me out taunting me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank truegravity2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courtney's Restaurant & Catering also viewed

Mount Juliet, TN
Mount Juliet, TN
 
Mount Juliet, TN
 

Been to Courtney's Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing