We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Summer Holiday For The Whole Family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Dreaming

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mountain Dreaming
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A Great Summer Holiday For The Whole Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have stayed at The General twice over summer and have enjoyed it thoroughly both times. The apartments are modern, clean and well-equiped. The staff are genuinely friendly, sociable and helpful. The food is delicious and the views are spectacular. A great summer place for bush walks, horseriding, mountain bike riding, exploring the nearby town of Bright or simply relaxing in your apartment and enjoying the views.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren W, Owner at Mountain Dreaming, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Chris,
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about our staff and facilities. We take a great deal of pride in trying to achieve and maintain that casual air of proficiency and friendliness.

We have had the privilege of meeting so many wonderful people this summer who have only made our role easier and more enjoyable. Not always an easy task to know your on the right path and now armed with your comments our staff are all spurred on to keep following it.

Thank you again,
Stephen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
35
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great accommodation, great location, fabulous views for winter or summer. This was welcome touch of luxury after a week camping and travelling. From the online booking to the final farewell, the owners and staff at Mountain Dreaming were warm, friendly, helpful and efficient. The General next door was perfect for grabbing something to cook for yourself or sit down and order a great meal and one of the local wines or a selection from the beer menu. We cannot wait to go back and see more of what Mt Hotham has to offer Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

After a long trip from The Great Ocean Road we stayed overnight. The service was excellent from the friendly staff, the food was great and the views are spectacular driving up the mountain and from the balcony of the apartments. The attached BAR and General Store provided all the essentials. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to all for a great getaway.

Sean And Angela OD

Room Tip: We were is room 2 but believe all the rooms would have a great outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

What an oasis after a 5 hour drive! We stayed 2 nights in summer to do some hiking. These apartments are first class: clean, modern, beautifully furnished and well equipped. You can't beat the view or the convenience of being so close to The General for food and drink. Staff were all friendly and I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Bedrooms downstairs, bathroom upstairs, so night time loo trips involve stairs. Just saying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank couple_from_emerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here for a two night summer retreat from the city exploring the mountains. The views are just amazing!

Location: The apartment is connected to the General which makes it really convenient to grab a meal and get some supplies from the store. It's also well situated in Hotham.
Food: The food at the General is really good. We had food requests (vegan) which the staff were happy to help with. We also cooked a meal in the kitchen which was great. The room also has a coffee machine with coffee ready to go!
Room: the room is modern and really comfortable. It has everything you need for your stay.
Service: the staff checking in and during our stay were really friendly. The only exception was the cleaner who seemed to have a real attitude. I'd suggest to avoid.
WIFI: very good, though a bit weak when you get to the edges of the apartment which includes the lounge room.

Could improve:

Room Tip: Room number 4 is the best. It's at the end of the corridor and has a view on both sides of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent one night at Mountain Dreaming between Christmas and New Year and were really impressed.

It's a little hard to find (especially if you don't read the very specific instructions provided with the confirmation) but once we found it we were very happy to find it was right behind the only pub and store open in Mount Hotham at this time of year (that we could find anyway.)

The accommodation was super comfortable and very clean (always vitally important to a good experience for me). The views were amazing and it is literally a 5 metre walk to the pub which has a deck overlooking the mountains and really awesome food! We liked it so much we tried to book another night but unfortunately for us they were booked out but Steve helped us by booking a room at their 'sister' property in Dinner Plain which was also very good.

I would highly recommend this accommodation/food option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The view from our balcony was amazing. Breathe taking view every morning when we woke up. Everyone was very friendly and accompdating. The food was exceptional. I would reccomend this place for breakfast to anyone. The chef really knows what he is doing! Also had a great pork loin for dinner one night that blew me away. The apartments are very central and it is extremely easy to get around the mountain from here. I would highly recomend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Hotham
8.4 mi away
Harrietville Hotel Motel
Harrietville Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Harrietville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arlberg Mt Hotham
Arlberg Mt Hotham
#2 of 2 in Mount Hotham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel High Plains
Hotel High Plains
#1 of 3 in Dinner Plain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
White Crystal Apartments
White Crystal Apartments
#1 of 2 in Mount Hotham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Heights
Alpine Heights
#2 of 13 in Mount Hotham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
5.6 mi away
Currawong Lodge at Dinner Plain
Currawong Lodge at Dinner Plain
#3 of 3 in Dinner Plain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Dreaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Dreaming

Property: Mountain Dreaming
Address: Great Alpine Rd, Mount Hotham, Victoria 3741, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Hotham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Mount Hotham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Dreaming 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, the Mountain Dreaming Complex is comprised of four six star energy rated apartments that are fully self-contained and boast one of alpine Australia’s best views. Featuring stylish designer interiors and modern furnishings, accomodation at Mountain Dreaming becomes your own private haven on top of the world. Apartments comprise 2 bedrooms and sleep 5 guests and our newly completed luxury studio suites accomodate 2 guests. Mountain Dreaming can be found nestled in behind well known bar/restaurant The General. You are central to all that Mt Hotham has to offer and if you stay at Mountain Dreaming you have access to The General’s bar/restaurant and conference facilities all year around, The General is Mt Hotham’s premier conference and meeting venue, offering full function, conference and wedding facilities from meetings for six through to weddings catering for up to one hundred and fifty people. Actvivities can be co-ordinated for your function. It also incorporates post office and convenience store services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mountain Dreaming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing