We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly, clean and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bogong Moth Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bogong Moth Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mount Beauty
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“friendly, clean and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Bogong Moth Motel. Stephen, the owner is extremely friendly and very helpful. Whether it be...where's the best place to eat or where can I catch a fish, he'll point you in the right direction. My room was very clean and comfortable, the queen bed especially so, and breakky was ample.
The motel is about 1.5 k's to the town centre, just use the paved path on the opposite side of the road from the motel and you'll be able to amble your way into town. Herein lies my only critism, the walk back is a bit harder, all up hill.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay, I thoroughly recommend Stephen and the Bogong Moth Motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DuncanMac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
35
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Thank you Steve. A great location, friendly, helpful staff, comfortable room. Nothing to complain about. View of mountains from just outside room were great. The help offered by Steve, the owner, was outstanding. Breakfast Was also good. For a budget motel this was outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill100045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife, 6 year old and I spent two nights here and were presently surprised that a budget priced motel can offer everything.
The rooms were very modern and equipped with digital TV and excellent heating for winter nights and The bed was comfy. Free DVDs to watch was also a bonus more than a foxtel selection.
Lastly the price was the cheapest on offer in mt beauty.
The only faults were that the free wifi wasn't strong enough to reach our room, the BBQ area looked unloved and a childrens swing could replace the owners boat left on the lawn.
All these negatives were the reason we didn't give another star.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizmitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice clean motel,great rates the owner is A very nice guy who was very helpful when I checked in would recommend this to anyone. Excellent position I will be definitely staying here next time I'm in the area. Also the restaurant across the road, flower and water make a beautiful pizza best I've had for a long time

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineHenri, Owner at Bogong Moth Motel, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Hi, Looking back on old reviews I found a number with no replies, yours is one. I apologise for that as this is very late in coming. My name is Pauline and my husband is Henri, we took over the Moth in August 2016. Firstly I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and Flour + Water is still across the road, fan-n-n-ntastic place. Since you were here there has been a number of improvements so I hope if you return you will find they make your stay even more enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to write a review its very much appreciated and again I apologise that the reply comes so long after your visit. Hopefully we will see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I thoroughly recommend the Bogong Moth as a base to see Mt Bogong, or even checking out Falls Creek, or as we did, the autumn leaves (which happen a bit before Bright). This is comfy and reasonably priced...and friendly and helpful owner.
But even better is the chance to have dinner at the best restaurant in Mt Beauty directly across the road, Flour + Water (better than many Melbourne restaurants) without having to drive.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, even closest to the road is not a problem, as there is very little traffic, espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice clean motel, easy to find had 2 nights here with family. Close to everything. The flour cafe across the road was fantastic food and fun. After arriving you don't have to drive anymore! Very reasonable priced. Thanks guys a great relaxing time!

Room Tip: Make sure you try the cafe across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed there in October 2012 [this is a 'better late than never' review] for two nights while riding to the Australian Mototrcycle GP. It's a great little motel on the edge of town. Excellent hosts, great breakfast, all the ususal facilities in good order [recently refurbished].

The motel is motorcycle friendly, though not a noisy location.

The only point to note, mainly for motorbike riders, is that the parking area is deepish medium size pebbles, so you need to think about how you'll park, and how you'll depart.

No a big problem ... just something to consider before you 'dive in'.

Town facilities are about a K away ... walking distance to the nice Pub & several cafes / bistros.

Highly recommended ... I will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteeeeeeeeeeeeeVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Beauty
1.2 mi away
Mount Beauty Motor Inn
Mount Beauty Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Mount Beauty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets
The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets
#2 of 2 in Tawonga South
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
10.8 mi away
Bright Velo
Bright Velo
#2 of 13 in Bright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Allamar Motor Inn Motel
Allamar Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 2 in Tawonga South
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
12.4 mi away
Harrietville Snowline Hotel
Harrietville Snowline Hotel
#2 of 3 in Harrietville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
11.5 mi away
QT Falls Creek
QT Falls Creek
#2 of 3 in Falls Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bogong Moth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogong Moth Motel

Property: Bogong Moth Motel
Address: 172 Kiewa Valley Highway, Mount Beauty, Victoria 3699, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Beauty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mount Beauty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bogong Moth Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BOGONG MOTH MOTEL PROUDLY SUPPORTS VETS FROM ALL SERVICES INCLUDING POLICE, FIRE AND SES. Call us direct for a great price. The Bogong Moth Motel is rated 3 1/2 Star. We are located at Tawonga South (Mount Beauty) at the foot of Mount Bogong, Victoria's highest Mountain at 1986 metres and only 30km from Falls Creek. The motel has eight rooms, there is a Family Room which consists of two rooms (sleeps 6), one room with a queen bed and single bed the other has a double bed with a single bunk above and an additional TV and toilet. We have two Standard Rooms which have a queen bed and a single bed. There are two four person rooms which consist of a queen bed and a bunk. Then there is three Superior Rooms, these have a queen bed only as well as 2 lounge chairs and a private patio overlooking Mount Bogong. All rooms have en-suites with shower / toilet. All rooms have Tea / Coffee facilities with complimentary tea and coffee, there are electric jugs, microwaves and toasters in all rooms as well as reverse cycle air conditioning, flat screen TVs and DVD players. Free wireless wifi. It is a short 600 metre walk to restaurants and the local hotel but we are opposite the iconic Flour + Water restaurant. The motel is in a beautiful garden setting and has a free bar-b-que, also free parking for one car per room in front of each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bogong Moth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bogong Moth Motel Mount Beauty, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing