We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience”
Review of The Rocks

The Rocks
Ranked #5 of 140 Restaurants in Mornington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Rocks offers the mornington peninsula a unique fresh air dining experience with an absolute waterfront setting.Two separate dining environments, the dining room and the covered deck, provide the perfect location to celebrate life. Our seafood focussed menu offers flavours from across the world and whereever possible our seafood is selected following the principles behind sustainability. Put simply, the fish on your plate, be it farmed or wild caught, has had researched minimal impact upon fish populations or our wider marine environment. A move we hope you support. The Rocks is fully licensed and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days per week throughout the year.Reservations can be made for the dining room (for any time of the day) or for the deck (for dinner only), and are advised.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We discovered this place while exploring Mornington peninsula by car. It reminded me of my home town, Cape Town. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and great food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenbennhoutbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    158
    57
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welcome changes to the Rocks”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We ate in he dining room last week and absolutely loved it. Rob the owner was even working on the floor which was lovely. Very passionate about his restaurants and menus. We loved the fresh menu, crisp wines and fantastic service. The head chef Zavier is a master. We loved the duck pancakes, the gyozas, the pavlova and the views. Defiantly worth a visit if you have never been or not visited for a while.

Helpful?
3 Thank AzzaBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“perfect Sunday”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

a cold bleak Sunday morning in Victoria, Australia. Such a ray of sunshine as the The Rocks
restaurant brightened up the day.
Service very good, ambiance very good and food actually quite excellent.
Situated on the rocky shore line with great views across the sea, modern but pleasantly nautical decor and everything else really to my liking. Even moi, the old fusspot was content.
The only blight on the whole experience was the rain which was probably beyond even the restaurant's control. Certainly a place I will want to visit again

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very unfriendly”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Dropped in for an afternoon tea and cakes one Sunday afternoon. The place was about half full. No welcome or seating. The only person around was a terribly grumpy bloke who looked as though he was having the worst day of his life. He was concentrating intently on putting money in the cash register. We found a table and eventually got served. Left soon afterwards. The angry man ranged around the place looking as though the patrons were getting in the way and he wished they would all go away.
Amazing how one person in charge can kill the feel of a place.
Won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Coffee.”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Was let down today by my breakfast. Had Porriage which after reading description sounded nice. What we received lacked any real taste. However Coffee was a standout and for breakfast is the most important thing. No Wifi which is disappointing. Australia is slow to react to this simple service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Montmorencytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rocks also viewed

Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
 
Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing