We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mornington
Certificate of Excellence
vic
2 reviews
“Not as nice as expected”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Young lady on reception was LOVELY, she was very helpfull.
We had booked the 'romance package' when we arrived in our room there was nothing of the package in the room.
Called up reception and they had put us in the wrong room.

Moved to the proper room and it was set up nicely with the rose petals/champagne etc.

Value for money just wasnt there.

room service is ridiculous- only about 4 meals to choose from. We didnt even bother.

Breakfast included- was even more ridiculous, you had a very very small list of food to choose from, not like every other hotel we have stayed at that you get a full continental breakfast.

What did come- Was BEAUTIFUL and they did add more to the breakfast as we did kick up a bit of a fuss about it( i thought we would have to pay more, but they did include it so that was good)

Being a windy night, the walls must be very thin, we had a terrible sleep as all you could hear were the trees blowing (THE WHOLE NIGHT!)

Bed/pillows were nice and comfy.

The spa was lovely and big.

All in all, it certainly wasn't terrible, however i think there description is a bit deceiving and certainly not good value when comparing this type of package to many other places we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Big spa bath- good for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetheart4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    157
    43
    12
    19
See reviews for
87
193
16
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Brooklands. Very clean, quiet rooms with good facilities – big bathroom, good towels. Freshly renovated, in a relaxed attractive style. Good parking. Just a walk from the main street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for three nights. The location is very good and quiet even with guests in 51 of the rooms. Room was large with great beds and pillows, and a great bathroom. Handy to have an extra little basin in the main part of the room. Couldn't get the microwave to work. The wifi was intermittent. When the wifi worked it was very slow. I was told it wasn't working reliably because there were so many guests, so it really needs upgrading. Peter at reception was very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately one of the garbage bins in our room was totally full of someone else's rubbish when we arrived, the shower gel dispenser on the bathroom wall ran out on the first night and was not replenished, and at 10:30pm on the third night we discovered that there was no spare roll of toilet paper in the room. If the cleaning staff had done their job properly I would have a much more positive memory of this place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank erik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Best Western Brooklands is a well presented property. It’s situated in a fairly quiet residential street about a 10 minute walk to shops or 15 minute walk to the beach. The gym and indoor pool facilities are excellent.
Our unit number 24 (Deluxe King) was tucked away at the rear of the property within a garden area. The room was spacious, looked quite recently renovated and was very clean. The bathroom although large, contained a shower only.
The king sized bed looked inviting – piled with pillows but unfortunately the mattress a was a hard, basic commercial type with very thin foam top layer (enabling some springs to be felt). The pillows were also hard and flat. Neither my husband or I slept well as a result.
The staff members weren’t rude but they weren’t friendly either. My first encounter when I rang to let them know that there was an error stopping online bookings on their site left me feeling that my call was an inconvenience to them. The response of - hold on while I check on another computer, then oh well, try again later wasn’t very helpful or professional.
Check in was efficient, but done in a “going through the motions” way without friendliness or warmth. I was informed that a $50 deposit for the mini bar would be charged and refunded within a couple of days if nothing used. The charge was pending on our account for over a week which seemed a long time.
Our impression is that Best Western Brooklands could be more customer focussed and welcoming. Perhaps they’ve had lots of bad guests which has influenced their attitude. Having to get a shower cap from reception was surprising. And signs warning penalties will apply if guests cook in the rooms, or if pool cleaning is needed due to incorrectly clad babies would be more at home in a cheap caravan park.

Room Tip: If staying in a rear unit during wet weather, bring an umbrella. It's a long uncovered walk from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiramastrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMornington, Manager at Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review we will look at the things you have told us about and take it to our staff meeting hope to see you again soon so we can show you that we care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Unfortunately,we haven't stayed at This motel yet as we have had to unexpectedly cancel our5 night visit due to an accident. You might ask, "Why then, write a revue ?"

We made the booking and paid the required deposit with a phone call to the manager, Pete, whom I have never met.. This review is to sing the praises of a manager who knows what excellent customer service is. The intial booking, and regretfully, the subsequent cancellation call were met with care, concern and utmost consideration. Truly professional.
I cannot speak too highly of the way we have been treated.
You may be sure that we will make that visit as soon as possible and I look forward to writing a further favourable review on what can only turn out to be a magnificently appointed and well run establishment.
What an absolute pleasure Manager Pete is to deal with!!!.

Room Tip: Make your booking direct by phone to Manager Pete. You will be pleased you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the rooms are large and well appointed. Parking next to our room is handy too. The free wifi is very weak. In fact this didn't even work in our room at the back part of the hotel. A tip would be to ask for a room which has wifi coverage. It was also frustrating having to wait at reception each morning to get the gym unlocked and having to request a 'special gym towel' from reception too. Ideally the gym and towels should be accessible when it is advertised to be without having to go through the wait around with reception (like every other hotel). Also we had breakfast included in our room rate. On check in we were told we could have this dinning room area (again the free wifi didn't work here either). When we got to the dinning room the next morning we were told that our breakfast was only 'in room' so we could have a hot breakfast delivered to our room or have a cold breakfast in the dining room only. Go figure? The next day we requested the hot breakfast delivered to our room, which arrived on time and was actually quite good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieTaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for a family celebration. Three of us in the king room which was perfect. Plenty of room to move and have bags open- nice big bathroom. Clean tidy and well appointed. Noise early morning from a service vehicle and late at night from revellers was the only problem. We didnt use any of the facilities- saw a gym/weights room. Happily stay again. Odd that rates for Saturday night were quite a bit higher than Friday night-logical in summer but in the dead of winter?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gees2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMornington, General Manager at Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

We hope you will come back see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mornington
18.5 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
449 reviews
16.0 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
16.0 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Bay Motel Safety Beach
Bay Motel Safety Beach
#2 of 27 in Mornington Peninsula
189 reviews
16.4 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
0.4 mi away
Mornington Motel
Mornington Motel
#2 of 2 in Mornington
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington

Property: Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington
Address: 97-101 Tanti Avenue, Mornington, Victoria 3931, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Mornington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mornington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Hotel Accommodation - Best Western Brooklands of Mornington has created something unique to the Mornington Peninsula. Best Western Brooklands of Mornington has been awarded the Ministers Award by the Tourism Minister in 2008/2009 for its contribution to tourism on the Mornington Peninsula.Nestled amongst 3 acres of stunning landscaped gardens, this multi-award winning property (including being named the first and only property in Best Western Australasia to receive a perfect 1000pt QA Score) is a fine blend of old world charm and modern innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mornington
Mornington Best Western
Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington Mornington Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing