We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

The Grand Hotel
Ranked #30 of 138 Restaurants in Mornington
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The food is great. The atmosphere is great and the service is good. It is good clue for money. The servings of pod are enormous so you won't leave hungry.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    75
    17
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great meal at the Grand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a change for a Hotel to give such friendly service. Everyone had seniors meals and they were all delicious. Noise level was good, as we were all able to talk without having to raise our voices, even though the place was very busy. Will be going back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Grand Meal At a Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had to write a review for this delightful and popular restaurant as we all felt that they really deserve a great review. Even though every table was full with happy people we were made to feel that we were the only diners and led to our table. They had a well priced seniors meal which was absolutely delicious. The full meals were ample and not a crumb was left on the plate. The seafood was extremely fresh.Each member of our party commented about how delicious their meal was . Despite the restaurant being being packed, the meals came to the table extremely quickly. The girls that served us were so friendly and pleasant. It was my elderly mothers birthday and they really made her feel special. We also noticed several single diners who were made most welcome and to feel they were amongst friends. The decor was lovely and inviting. Highly recommended dining. Thank you all for making my mothers birthday that extra special. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rushed, over priced and terrible food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We were hurried to our table and rushed to order food!
The food was poor and not cooked with care at all!
While it was busy, we will not be visiting again!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KL1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron P, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
HI KL 1986 - I can only apologise if this was your experience at the Grand. Our family has owned the Hotel since 1976 and we are normally renowned for being a slower gentler paced pub/restaurant sitting back watching the world go by on busy Main Street. The only time I have seen before where people have been rushed is if they have double booked a table and they will let the customer know they have to be out by a certain time - but they always let them know upfront. I see you are from New York - if you are ever in town again feel free to drop in & have a coffee with me. Thanks for your feedback & good luck with your travels. Regards Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great for people watching”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Fab pub on the kerb of the road, so people watching is a happening thing. Food average pub food, findnthe prices here overated, but it is mornington. Gets busy on the weekends, and if you sit outside the staff can forget about you. Overall sunday lunch pleasant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank trish v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Hotel also viewed

Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing