We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great weekend away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle Hammer Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eagle Hammer Cottages
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Eagle Reach cottage for two nights while visiting the area for a wedding. The booking process was easy, with Deb sending us lots of information on activities in the region and directions to the cottages. We arrived to a roaring fire on an unseasonably cold December weekend, a stocked fridge and plenty of snacks. The cottages are beautiful with a perfect amount of space for a couple. The location is peaceful and surrounded by forest. The service was very warm and friendly, with Deb going out of her way to help us enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnyWhereButHere84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in the 'Eagle's Nest' cottage in September. Our experience with Eagle Hammer was excellent right from making the booking. Debbie provided very comprehensive information and directions before we arrived, and we received more details and maps for the local area on arrival. The cottage itself was just perfect. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and luxurious. This, coupled with the views and serenity made for us feel instantly relaxed and at home. The cottage had everything we needed to prepare and enjoy the delicious and plentiful breakfast and snack provisions, and cook an evening meal. On our second night we ordered a pizza from the local Monbulk Pizza, which was delicious (so I recommend that too!). Debbie and Ian have done a terrific job, Eagle Hammer is one of those places you don't want to leave. A+ all round!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked to stay at one of the three Eagle Hammer Cottages for 2 nights in the middle of winter. We had the cosiest warmest most restful 2 nights we could ask for. Our host Debbie did everything possible to make sure we were well looked after and volunteered all the information we needed to make the stay more comfortable convenient and stress free! The Eagle Reach cottage that we stayed in is spotless, extremely well set up, had a merry burning wood fire going on our arrival, breakfast and snack provisions are more than sufficient... can't say enough good things about it. Thanks Debbie, and we'd definitely love to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We recently spent a weekend in one of the three cottages on this property. We found the owner to be very welcoming and available for any queries. Upon arrival, we were given a detailed map and information on things to do in the area. The cottage was spotlessly clean and fitted out to a very high standard. The breakfast provisions and chocolates around the cottage were more than we could get through in a weekend. We loved the wood fire and balcony overlooking the creek. The cottages are placed fairly close together but still quite private, and they overlook a large forest which made for a peaceful weekend. One minor detail it may be useful for others to know is that the bathroom whilst being on it's own level has an open wall at one side, which faces the bedroom and living areas. We found this a little strange but given that it is for couples, it's only a minor thing. We would certainly stay there again in the future when we need a break from the everyday routine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippodreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fabulous accommodation. When we arrived(only a couple of hours after we had booked) Debbie the owner greeted us so warmly and friendly, giving us lots of information on the area. She has obviously put a lot of thought into every thing making this a very unique place. Everything was there to make us so comfortable and at home. The fridge was stocked for breakfast and lots of other goodies. We were so relaxed after our 3 nights there we didn't want to leave. Cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisPPaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Contacted by Debbie before arriving to make sure I had accurate directions to the place. Offered us an early check-in. When we got there maps of the local areas and recommendations of what was great to do around the local area were provided. Debbie even arranged tickets for Healesville Sanctuary for us. She set us up for our 2 nights away then were left to ourselfs. The cottage was away from the main house so you had the feeling of being alone.
The cabin itself was better than the photos showed (stayed in eagle's reach). The bed had been changed but was very comfortable. Treats found around the room. A fridge full of food. Eggs, real milk, bacon, cheese and lots more. Fantastic we were allowed to cook in the cottage. Small stove top in the kitchenette.
Double spa in the cottage was wonderful and tealight candles provided to help the mood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linnyp_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful, we stayed in the Eagles Nest (middle cottage) and I could not fault anything about our cottage or it's surrounds.

Debbie and Ian really go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and relaxed, providing lots of information on the local area, maps, restaurant and places to visit.

Inside the cottage the fridge is filled with yummy foods, chocolates, bacon, sausages, tomato, mushrooms, cheese, breads, juices, milk and a full carton of eggs freshly laid by their hens. Its crazy and it doesn't stop there, as you walk through the cottage, there are biscuits, crackers, more little chocolates.

The balcony over looks the forest and water, really peaceful and private, you are none the wiser that you even have neighbours.

The bathroom and spa bath is fantastic, really bright and open, the spa bath got a serious work out.

Bed is super comfortable with really nice soft linen.

I would come back and visit again and highly recommend this place for a peaceful romantic getaway

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monbulk
5.8 mi away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.7 mi away
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
4.8 mi away
Clarendon Cottages
Clarendon Cottages
#1 of 5 in Sassafras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
4.7 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#4 of 14 in Olinda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Heart of Emerald
The Heart of Emerald
#1 of 5 in Emerald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Hammer Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Hammer Cottages

Property: Eagle Hammer Cottages
Address: 440 Old Emerald Rd | PO Box 124, Monbulk, Victoria 3793, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Monbulk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Monbulk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eagle Hammer Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely place to relax & unwind! We have 3 gorgeous cottages all with their own unique charm. We pride ourselves on giving you a comfortable place to escape to without having to drive too far from Melbourne, we are under an hour from town. It is a super place to either spend some time on your own, or with your loved one. We believe the day should start with a great breakfast or brunch, so we give you provisions (which includes eggs from our resident hens) for each day of your stay and you can have a cook up at your leisure! We do have free Wifi for our guests, but the speed is quite limited due to our location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eagle Hammer Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing