We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mirboo North
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Ridge Brewery
Ranked #2 of 2 Mirboo North B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

A group of 8 of us stayed in house across the road from the brewery restaurant. It was absolutely fantastic. Great provisions to cook ourselves a great breakfast and we ate at the restaurant each night where the food (and of course the BEER!) and service was fabulous.
Clean and homely, 5 star city accommodation this isn't, however it is truly what we were hoping for by venturing to the country for the weekend.
We will definitely be back, absolutely great value for money!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K_L_T_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    12
    4
    10
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

An Interesting experience, let me tell you all about it.
Eric the owner espoused the brewery and the charming cottages across the road and sold us on a weekend escape package. Double bedrooms en-suites and the like, brewery tour, vouchers for restaurants and we could have it to ourselves. So we told our friends, they also signed up.

A week before we were due to arrive we had a call saying sorry but we would now be sharing ( not quite the deal that we were sold). but he would up the restaurant voucher value. We arrived and got the keys and went to the cottage. We met a lovely couple, pity no one mentioned the dog...........

Then we ventured to the back of the house to our room, it was a bunk room, a double, but with bunks above and no way out if you were on the wall side. Pretty annoyed that we had paid the same and got the "kids room".

The breakfast supplies were excellent, plentiful bacon supply, overall that was great, some gas for the BBQ would have been better.

Well done Eric, not only did you renege on the deal you tried to smooth over with a voucher upgrade but then added another element that was just hidden, (the dog) you may be dog friendly but not everyone is!!!!!

On the up side ( or sort of) the food in the restaurant was nice, service was slow but the wait staff were very pleasant, Mitch had a great of personality and was a highlight.

As for the brewery tour, interesting the guide lit up a smoke half way through and had a couple of beers on the way, we got to the end, and then had to ask for the tasting samples, they should have just been ready to go, you should not have to ask. An interesting tour of a working brewery, just a bit grubbier that i would have expected.

So in summary Eric paints a Rembrandt but you actually get a grade 2 painting.

So some improvement idea's:

Provide the tasting sample at the beginning of the tour, explain the wheat's and hops and what are mixed into each brew, that would have some relevance. ( you then know what beer to buy at the end when the tour finishes)

Don't allow dogs when sharing with other that are not part of your group.

Provide gas for the BBQ

Supply some washing up cloths

TG

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Took a group of eleven to grand ridge for the weekend stayed in the manor across the road which had everything we needed and the staff at the brewery were very helpfull and friendly we ate dinner there and the food was excellent will definetly be returning as the whole group was very impressed

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We went to the brewery/bar only. The exterior was poorly kept and dirty which didn't instil great confidence in things. The front door was jammed and finally someone let us in. With more than a passing interest in brewing we were keen to check out the set up. What we found was a flithy mess. I don't know how you can still be producing beer in that mess. Bar service and manner was poor and unfriendly.
We won't be going back or drinking any beer from this set up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We took a group of 5 up to The Grand Ridge Brewery over Cup weekend and had a nothing but wonderful time! The drive up is beautiful in itself and set the scene for what was to be a great night away. We stayed in the Cottage which is a quaint, period home with plenty of space and walking distance to everything there is to see in Mirboo North. The house was clean, beds were really comfortable and the whole house was very well heated which was a big plus over the chilly weekend! We cooked up a storm with the breakfast provided and enjoyed eating on the deck while birds bathed in the pond, it really is a beautiful place. The restaurant is just across the road so we ate most of our meals there and I can not stop talking about the Margherita Chicken, soo tasty! The boys enjoyed massive platters of whole cod! (see pics), and really got in to the beers. The service was great, locals are friendly and our whole trip went really well. Will definitely be recommending this place to friends and making a trip back soon!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank austraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I purchased a Grand Ridge showbag at the Royal Melbourne Show (good value in itself) which included a discount voucher to stay at the accommodation in Mirboo North. Not wanting it to go to waste, I booked in with my girlfriend for a relaxing weekend away.

An easy drive from Melbourne, we were pleasantly surprised when introduced to our little cottage - nice bathroom, comfortable bed and great kitchen (with fresh produce to cook our breakfast the next morning), with a cool courtyard out the back to relax by the pond with a cold Gippsland Gold.

However, it is the beer that we came to see/drink, so we made our way across the road to the brewery to sample some of its finest. Greeted on arrival by a friendly staff member, we were soon given a tour of the behind the scenes operations of the brewery, taken through the process from step one right until the pouring of the beer. Informative, and anything but boring like a lot of tours, we were taught how the subtleties of the different beer flavours come about.

With that info now fresh in our minds, we pulled up a stool at the bar and proceeded to spend the next six or so hours going through every beer on offer, whilst having a great conversation with Allie our bartender. With games of pool in between and a few snacks, we had a great time meeting some of the friendly locals who obviously love the brewery.

All in all I would definitely recommend Grand Ridge as a place to spend a night or two. Clearly some of the reviewers on here need to toughen up a bit - if you've got time to spend searching the accommodation for flaws rather than enjoying the beautiful walks, scenery and beers on offer, then why bother getting away in the first place? Just a thought...

We will be making the trip down there again this year (just got another showbag!), so look forward to seeing Eric, Sue and the crew for another fun getaway!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GKinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We bought vouchers a couple of years ago at the Good Food & Wine Show for a weekend away for $300 that included 2 nights accom, breakfast for both days, brewery tour and 2 tasting plates.
We finally decided to use these vouchers this yr and after booking our accom for August I had a look at reviews. We emailed the business to voice our concerns and were advised that they had taken on board all the negative feedback and had were redone both houses.

We stayed the cottage.
When we were shown around we could see that improvements had been made but were still bitterly dissapointed after our 2 hour drive as the place we found was not really clean. Curtains, floors, windows, windowsills, were dirty and ill maintained and honestly didn't look like they had been cleaned for months. Sorry to say but my boyfriend and I will never be recommending this place to anyone.
$300 is too much to charge for 2 nights in this place.

The things I did find good were the beers, the food at the restaurant was surprising good and the surrounding countryside had amazing views and scenery and they also gave us ample food for breakfast. But we found cooking in the kitchen too hard as the plates and utensils weren't sufficiently cleaned.
What also annoyed us was that we were advised that checkout was at 10 so we woke up early so we could pack up our belonging and when we went to the brewery noone was there. So we left our the keys under the mat and called them once we got home.
I really hope that they stop selling their accom vouchers at the Good Food and Wine Show as im pretty sure a few ppl have bought them and will be very dissapointed.
This was not worth the money or the drive from melbourne. If you have bought vouchers it wouldn't hurt to ask for your money back. We didn't even bother going on the brewery tour and couldnt wait to get home.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRidge T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Ridge Brewery, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Firstly, we'd like to thank people for commenting about our accommodation, we appreciate your time and honesty.
Our period country-styled accommodation-houses have recently undergone some renovations. The bathrooms in both the Manor and the Cottage have been refurbished/renovated, along with numerous other improvements. And we are constantly working on improving our facilities, so that your stay with us is an enjoyable one.
The accommodation is located across the road from the Grand Ridge Brewery where we make -possibly - of the finest beer available ...we even have the medals to prove it.
So if you're coming to stay with us or just passing through come in and have a drink or two and enjoy a meal in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Ridge Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ridge Brewery

Property: Grand Ridge Brewery
Address: 1 Baromi Rd, Mirboo North, Victoria 3871, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Mirboo North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mirboo North
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Gippsland's best kept secrets, Grand Ridge Brewery is one of Australia's first and most recognised craft breweries. The brewery is housed in an old butter factory in Mirboo North, a country town in the stunning Victorian Strzelecki Ranges. Using only the highest quality ingredients the Grand Ridge Brewery uses spring water, high quality hops, malt and yeast to produce beers of exceptional flavour and purity. These incomparable brewing processes have helped Grand Ridge win over 250 medals for their pure beers, making them one of the world's most awarded breweries. Grand Ridge Brewery's passion for pure products doesn't end with the beers, a variety of local wine and gourmet Gippsland cheeses are available from the Restaurant, specialising in steaks and superb local produce. Grand Ridge also offer two self-contained guest houses for those who wish to stay a little longer and really enjoy the beers ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing