We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is why we came to Milawa”

The Epicurean Centre
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Milawa
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Coburg, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is why we came to Milawa”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Well matched wines to our meals. Was all we had been told of it. Shame they didnt also have some of thge local beers we like.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank angie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrownBrothersWinery, Public Relations Manager at The Epicurean Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed our food and wine matching. We do have local beer available and are sorry if this wasn't communicated to you. We hope that on your next visit you will enjoy some Bridge Road beer as well as our fine wines.
Katherine Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    14
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“What is happening to my favourite dining experience ?”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Once upon a time ... they snapped up THE best chef in Doug Elder, then they had a wonderful deal, two courses with wines to match at a set price. Then they went back to a la carte, with wines to match. NOW, rather than a glass of wine to match each course, you are given a TASTE. If you like the wine of their choice you can buy the wine by the glass. For goodness sake, it is a winery - people drive to their out of town location for the wine/food experience. Brown Bros. need to re think this nonsense - what is an extra 'slurp' in the glass to keep punters returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farpavilions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrownBrothersWinery, Public Relations Manager at The Epicurean Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor.com. It is wonderful to hear that Brown Brothers is one of your favourite places to enjoy lunch. We are continuously evolving our menu and lunch offers to provide new dining experiences for our visitors. In the past we have offered a 100ml glass of recommended wine with our meals. This has recently been refreshed to include a 50ml matching wine with the opportunity for diners to upgrade this to a 150ml serve for $4.00. This offers great value for money and also accommodates responsible drinking for our diners. Further wine can be tasted at the cellar door at no cost.
Katherine Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food tempered by grumpy waitress”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Wow. Yep, I used the word wow. The food and wine pairing worked so very well, and was reasonably good value. Our only gripe was the rather rude and grumpy waitress, who doesn't seem to appreciate that she works in one of the more picturesque venues in this region.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wyalong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and good wine”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a birthday lunch here and may make it a regular celebration. The courses we had were excellent and as you would expect the pairing of wines and food was excellent. Loved the Prosecco!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderer084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely wine”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were a bit reticent to visit because we thought it might be too 'touristy'. How glad we were we visited! The restaurant is exceptional, with matched food and wine, in a truly lovely setting. Easy to spend all afternoon- we did!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank smith_smudge48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Epicurean Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Epicurean Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing