We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of Lindenwarrah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindenwarrah
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milawa
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is my 200th review for Trip advisor in just over 5 years, so please indulge me a little.

In the past 5 years I have visited Jamaica 3 times, Spain 4 times, Dominican Republic twice, Slovakia, Morocco, Italy 5 times, Syria, Germany 3 times, USA twice, Bahamas, Switzerland twice, Egypt twice, Thailand, Cambodia, Dubai, Belgium, Mexico, France 3 times, Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay, Portugal, Australia twice, Abu Dhabi, Greece, Croatia, Norway, Iceland and Poland. I may have missed some.

I hope my reviews have proved useful and informative.

.....................................................................................................................................................

At Milawa town, follow the signs for the Brown Brothers vineyard - the hotel is directly opposite. There is plenty of private parking.

A very friendly and efficient check in. We had booked a Sunset room and were told on arrival that we had been upgraded to a Buffalo Mountain view room. Sunset rooms face the road, but do get a sunset - Buffalo rooms face the vines and mountains, but get no sunset. There is no road noise from the Sunset rooms. It is a very, very quiet road. You could hear a dingo snore from 2km!! Not sure which rooms are the best really.

The initail impression was very good. Nice air conditioned public rooms, wide corridors and quality furnishings and art. There is a large and comfortable lounge, with good views across the vines to the mountains and a large patio area. There are nice fountains at the front of the hotel and well tended gardens.

We had room 20 on the first floor. The building is 2 storey. The bedroom was large with a king bed and high quality linen. Sofa, desk, fridge, tea/coffe etc. All very clean and tidy. The bathroom was a good size, with a large shower and good quality Moulton Brown toiletries. We had a nice wooden balcony, which ran across 3 rooms, so no real privacy, but superb views across the valley to the mountains beyond - a good place for an after dinner cigar.

There is an excellent pool area, with good quality loungers and sunshades. It was 40C when we arrived, so it was most welcome indeed.

We did have a few minor issues -
Water leaked from under the shower door and flooded the bathroom.
The sink did not drain properly.
There are insufficient chairs on the balcony - only 4 chairs for a possible 6 guests and no tables.

You can walk across the road to the excellent and famous Brown Brothers vineyard for some wine tasting and no need to drive.

We ate at the hotel's Merlot restaurant and had a superb meal. Capaccio of beef followed by beef fillet with a lovely leak and potato bake - washed down with an excellent shiraz from their own vineyard. The restaurant room is large and was not full, so lacked a cosy atmosphere. It would benefit from some portable bamboo or cane room dividers to add ambiance. The service was patchy.

I mentioned these minor problems to reception and the Operations Director, who was appreciative of the feedback.

Overall, this is a very good hotel in a wonderful location and we would have loved to have stayed longer. Just needs a few tweeks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Lindenwarrah
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 340 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights because of a great deal available on one of the booking search engines, otherwise it would have been out of our budget's range. We were delighted with the size of the room and its aspect looking out towards vines and Mt Buffalo. We had peace and quiet even although there was a wedding held there on our first night - soundproofing is excellent. In our room we loved the ambience of soft sheer curtains, sliding glass doors (with a cute little fly-wire covered hatch allowing cool breezes in at night) and external shutter screens. King size bed, really comfy; pillows likewise.
As another reviewer has noted, the design of the shower screen is poor and allows water to flow out underneath it, however there was another bathmat - and extra towels - in the cupboard, so this was only a minor problem really. I mentioned it to staff and of course they are aware of it. Would be interesting to hear if anything is going to be done about it.
Also criticised in a previous review was the bottles of shower products on the wall of the shower. I saw this as a great feature as little bottles can be fiddly, and there is also continual waste of plastic. The hair/body gel and shampoo were Molton Brown of London - very good quality. So maybe that other reviewer begrudged not being able to take home what he/she didn't use. The other toiletries provided in the bathroom were very good.
We needed to ask staff to help with a non-functioning DVD player, and this was attended to without delay.
Yet another criticism in another review was about the pools - the swimming pool itself was fine, although the surrounds are perhaps a little tired (or was is shabby chic?). The "relaxation" pools with water features in the gardens were gorgeous, and added to the calmness of the atmosphere. The simplicity of the landscaping and gardens is perfect - greenery, mature trees, and the views to the vineyards. Beautiful.
Because of the wedding being held on our first night, the restaurant was unavailable for other guests' dinner. However the beautiful ground floor lounge was set up and the full a-la-carte menu was on offer. We had a delicious meal there. Breakfast next morning was in the restaurant, buffet-style, and was excellent. On our second (i.e. last) morning breakfast was cooked to order, presumably because with only a handful of guests the buffet wasn't viable. But as it was included in our room rate, we didn't mind either way - again it was of great quality.
We spent a relaxing day touring the area, after starting at Brown Bros winery complex so conveniently located across the road from the hotel. We also visited the Pizzini winery at Whitfield in the King River Valley, and enjoyed a simple but delicious pizza for lunch at the Whitfield Hotel. Dinner that night was at the Milawa Gourmet Hotel right on the crossroads in the little township; another good meal.
The spacious foyer and reception area, plus generous wide corridors and relaxing lounges upstairs and downstairs, with a mix of Provencal/Middle-Eastern decor, both indoors and outside, all combine to enhance relaxation and the feeling of being away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. I wish we could live here!
Having said that, the checkout time of 11am allows for an unhurried departure which we appreciated.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor, on the side away from the road.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quintrowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Lindenwarrah was a highlight of a four day trip around the wineries in King Valley. We had a free upgrade to an upstairs spa room as they had a room free. Upon arrival you drive up this gorgeous tree lined front and come into a very pleasant reception area. The service and staff at Lindenwarrah are incredible. The staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable. The room itself was incredibly spacious with a very comfortable king size bed, a large bathroom, a living room space, and this cute balcony that looks over the gorgeous front. The décor is lovely with modern country manor style furnishings.

We loved the Brown Brother vineyard (take a picnic blanket, buy a couple cheek bottles at the cellar, and buy some of their fantastic food at Epicurean) and it is literally across the road. The staff there let us keep picnic-ing until sunset despite that they had closed by then, at which point we wandered across the road back to the gorgeous room.

On the day of check out the staff at Lindenwarrah arranged two bikes (for free) for us to travel to the produce areas and wineries around Milawa and Oxley (it’s a very easy ride around with dedicated bike paths and lots of maps around). Best of all they said that we were free to come back to use the pool after our ride and arranged towels and let us use the shower. Given that it was a warm day it was exceptionally pleasant!

The food at the restaurant is okay (good, not exceptional). We had a nice carrot and capsicum soup and red wime Coq Au Vin, which was good but nothing amazing. For dessert we had it in the gorgeous downstairs lounge room with a bottle of sweet Sauvignon Blanc. A Fairly atypical breakfast buffet but they do freshly ground coffee on order, which is good. For breakfast I would recommend going to Snow Produce just on the main street in Milawa anyway. Really great there.

All in all – the room was lovely, the grounds and pool are gorgeous, but it was the exceptional staff there that really made the trip amazing. Would abosutely recommend this place to anyone and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Get a spa room on overlooking the vineyard at the back
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked a Sunset View room over looking vineyards. What the marketing didnt say is that you also get a view of the Brown Brothers warehouse across the road and you could also enjoy the "beeep beeep" sound of reversing fork lift trucks ALL night. The rooms are very basic and dated and felt the hotel was over marketed so we felt disappointed on check in. Servcie staff were very good, felt the same staff worked 24 hours.

Also on our trip the hotel was 90% booked by a conference group, so limited meal options and we felt we were intruding on someone elses gathering. I feel this should have been explained to us on booking.

Spa and pool not quite what you would expect of an expensive hotel and someone really needs to clean the water pools, full of alage and the resulting mosquitos.

Room Tip: Choose rear of the hotel and a room on the left side of the building (as you face it).
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLM633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night for my wife's birthday weekend away. The estate itself is located off the main roads which means its tranquil and you dont get the through traffic. Plus its central spot to see the other wineries and gourmet food outlets.

We stayed in the The Buffalo View Room, which includes a King size bed, balcony, wireless internet connection and a separate writing desk. From the balcony we had great views of the vines and Mount Buffalo.

They were hosting a wedding that night and we were concerned that the noise would travel throughout the hotel. However, they have large fire doors throughout the hotel which reduces the noise considerably which is great.

The food was of a good standard also. We ate dinner in their restaurant and also had the country style buffet breakfast which were both of a high standard. The service throughout the hotel was also efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors have better views. Try and pick a room further away from the restaura...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajivkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our friend recommended this beautiful country house when we visited them at Wangarata. It's situated in the middle of the small village / town, Milawa and it's neighbour to the famous Brown Brothers Winery.

When we drove into the property, we saw this beautiful courtyard at the front of the building and a magnificent vineyard at the back.The staff at check in was genuinely friendly, courteous and chatty, unlike the robotic manners in the 5 star hotels in the metropolitan cities.

Our room is the spa room. It's a huge room upstairs facing the west with a view of the courtyard and vineyard. There is a balcony where we just sat and drank tea and enjoyed the view. Unfortunately the poor weather didn't permit us to enjoy the sunset. I could imagine the sunset was magnificent. The has TV, DVD player, and desk where we can also work and a lounge in front of fireplace where we can just read. The bathroom was reasonable size with a spa which we enjoyed. There is also a huge public lounge room with vineyard views.

Buffet breakfast is included in the package and it has hot and continental varieties. And the restaurant is facing the vineyard.

We also spent 1 morning strolling the village tasting the mustard and olive shops. Cheese factory was also within walking distance. We had a nice lunch at the Brown Brothers.

Merlot restaurant in the Lindenwarrah wasn't open when we were there which was a shame.

Overall, the 2 days we stayed at the property was just simply magnificent. It's a great luxury and romantic weekend getaway

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Date of Stay: 4th and 5th of Nov 2012.

We had two nights in one of their Sunset View rooms. The rooms are large and clean. I found the pump style shampoo and conditioner in the shower somewhat cheap and quirky. Our bed (two singles pushed together!) was a little soft for our tastes. Some of the appliances were a little loud (the small bar fridge was NOT quiet!).

Overall the hotel is good, though we felt that it was a little over priced for the level of luxury and quality that it is clearly aiming for. Some of it was a little tired.

Overall a good place to stay, but a little over priced for my liking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisGWarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milawa
9.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
15.7 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
377 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Milawa Motel
Milawa Motel
#3 of 3 in Milawa
69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Milawa Muscat Retreat
Milawa Muscat Retreat
#1 of 3 in Milawa
45 reviews
14.8 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindenwarrah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenwarrah

Address: Milawa-Bobinawarrah Road, Milawa, Victoria 3678, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Milawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milawa
Price Range: $139 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindenwarrah 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindenwarrah Country House Hotel and Vineyard, at Milawa in Victoria’s north east, has set a new standard for guests on Victoria’s gourmet trail. Located in the Milawa Gourmet region and opposite Brother’s Winery & Epicurean Centre, Lindenwarrah is a unique blend of Australian country-style hospitality and international sophistication. The 40 individually decorated guest rooms are complemented by stylish lounges, sunny courtyards, soothing fountains, a vast rooftop terrace, fragrant gardens and an invigorating pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindenwarrah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenwarrah Hotel Milawa
Lindenwarrah Milawa, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing