We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food and the atmosphere”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Gamekeepers Secret Country Inn
Ranked #11 of 68 Restaurants in Melton
Price range: $18 - $23
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Koroit, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love the food and the atmosphere”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Really love the atmosphere of this place, also love that this is not a gaming venue, so the focus is on the food. Never had a bad meal here, even celebrated my 50th Birthday here with family and friends! A little out of town, so someone has to drive, but well worth it (we did leave our car there and get a taxi one night, just popped back and got the car the next day, so no big deal!). Something special about this place, really like the booths, they give you a feeling of privacy, also love the open fire in the winter. Well worth checking out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    16
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not be back”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Gamekeepers has changed hands and has gone from our regular and reliably great food and service to never again. When staff were told of our disappointment in our meals and service, no comment was made. If the current owner wishes to be successful they really do need to care about their patrons

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went for Saturday lunch. Outside of hotel not appealing needs clean up.champagne bottle in bucket with full ashtray,dead plants in flower boxes, inside carpet shabby,threadbare,walls need paint, needs a good refurbish, atmosphere could be better, maybe some music? staff friendly but very slow service seeing there were only 12 people in total (we were 4) and 2 waiting staff on duty. Food was run of the mill, tasted good but presentation could be better. Would try again in 12months if updated.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunbury42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

When I was a teenager in Melton, this was my favourite restaurant, so it was a natural choice for my family for my birthday. Unfortunately, The Gamekeepers Secret has gone down hill in the last few years.

I probably should have realised this as we drove in and the car park in the restaurant next door was packed, and The Gamekeepers did not have a single car in its own car park.

The place overall looks uncared for. There is paint peeling off the wall, the air duct was dirty, the carpet was ripped in places and the chairs were overly worn.

The menu was small and overpriced, and despite being the first and only people in the restaurant, one of the four specials was not available. The service overall was also quite poor. Both our drinks order and our main meals were delivered to the wrong table, the staff seemed to lack knowledge of their own menu and one of the staff (a large, heavyset man) was quite rude to one of our guests when she went to the car to get something for her young child.

The food itself was okay though, I quite enjoyed the meal I ordered, but, frankly, that doesn't make up for the other issues. That said, I do miss the lamb shanks that The Gamekeepers was famous for; they weren't available when we dined.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“POOR SERVICE”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Food is always delicious here, we went one Saturday night, musician was pleasant but
service was VERY VERY poor, we had to ask for drinks, salt, pepper even cutlery.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gamekeepers Secret Country Inn also viewed

Melton, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to The Gamekeepers Secret Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing