We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marysville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crossways Historic Country Inn
1 review
“Beautiful setting.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a beautiful stay that was full of adventure and easy with our young children. Our hosts were friendly and attentive and the room was nice and good value. Walking distance to play in the river or gorgeous new park. Also easy walking to shops, Bruno's gallery and sculpture garden. Good supermarket and bbq's in the Park. Great to see more businesses opening!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyssidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

i had a great stay at crossways. friendly staff, comfortable clean room and the most superb location. i was also lucky that the restaurant was open. yummy soup, delicious roast and an amazing desert followed by the best cup of coffee this side of melbourne, no joke! after reading some of the other reviews i find it a shame that people have such little understanding of the hardship this village has gone through, and is still going through, i think it is amazing that the owners have even been able to keep this place going the whole time. certainly worth asking upon booking if the restaurant will be open, can only recommend trying it.
all the best for the future

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyfiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Crossways Historic Country Inn is indeed Historic! The whole atmosphere is one of "back-to-basics", but then with luxury included! The bar and restaurant look wonderful, very nicely decorated. The service was great, and so was the food.
Going for a walk around Marysville leaves so many impressions.. And for us it felt like coming home to a cosy and warm place after seeing Marysville and hearing stories about the fires from locals.
The room was comfortable and clean, with a veeery comfortable bed (big&heated)!
The owners are the most lovely and helpful people.
All the best for Marysville! We will be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have stayed in this beautiful town at Crossways a number of times over the years. I love to be lulled to sleep by the sound of the river, staying in very clean comfortable, cabin accommodation. The owners have a very good knowledge of the area, which is helpful when planning what to do in this picturesque part of Victoria. It is nice to see Marysville coming to life again after the 2009 bushfires. The new playground for children is a wonderful asset to the town, and is nearby, as is the well known Lolly Shop, where I get my fix of dark chocolate bullets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine_j643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night last night after a day on lake mountain, which was wonderful. Like previous reviewers we were also disappointed and surprised that the restaurant was not open on a Saturday night. We walked around town for a while before going to the only available option (the ski hire place), thankful though that we didn't have to drive back to black spur for a meal! Our two bedroom unit was fine but we were glad we were only staying one night; there was no couch or living area to relax in so we watched tv from our beds, and the bathrooms could do with a bit of a spruce up. Only one of the three bedside lamps worked and as we needed it for a kids night light reading was difficult. We also would have appreciated a place to store our bags prior to check in but were told when I called in advance to enquire that that would not be possible.

It is great to see so much re-building going on in marysville; we have very fond memories of weekends spent there pre black Saturday and look forward to returning and supporting the regrowth of the lovely town. We will bear in mind though the limited dining options and plan in advance next time. Having said all that, Fraga's serve a superb breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donuts74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We paid $125 for a standard double unit. For the price the facilities were generally what I expected, if not a little under quality. The owners had turned the heater on prior to our arrival which was appreciated, as it as freezing. We also had no problems checking in. The room we took was all that was available as our booking was made only a couple of days prior and we had trouble securing anything in Marysville at all. The location of the Inn was great, at the corner of the main street and near a little creek, playground and the information centre.

The room itself was very basic, but I have to wonder how well everything is maintained as there were rubbish in the room which I can only assume was from a previous guest, the crockery was dirty and there was used soap in the shower - had this even been cleaned? I didn't use it. The toilet roll holder in the bathroom was rusty and more suited to a public toilet. Our flat screen TV didn't get reception and we couldn't find a copy of the instruction manual to assist. As reception wasn't actually 'open' we didn't seek assistance as we planned an early night and early departure it wasn't a huge issue for us. All these things are minor and inexpensive to rectify.

The bed itself was comfortable and warm (electric blankets thankfully were much needed). We did keep the heater running overnight to stay warm but it was the middle of winter.

As with the Happywaikiki review, we also had to drive 12km to Black Spur for a pub meal. We tried driving around Marysville for a venue for dinner (just prior to 6pm) and found nothing open. There was a sign for a wood oven pizza at the entrace to the supermarket but we couldn't find the venue. Nothing else seemed to be open.

For the owners, I would suggest it would be beneficial to your business and your guests to let them know upon checking in that the dinner options are limited (everyone needs to eat and it certainely wasn't possible to cook in room) and let us know where we can go. I understand your comments that staffing is difficult since the fires and that is completely fair, but I would assume most guests in Marysville want to support your community and help you rebuild. I know that was the case with us and we were dissapointed at the complete lack of options. But you also need to help yourselves. Maybe even put on a roast for your guests using the facilities you have available to you. The onsite restuarant looks lovely and if you get guests to confirm and pay up front I can assure you I would have been more than happy to pay $20+ per head for a simple roast dinner with veggies, nothing spectacular required.

We wish Marysville all the best with the rebuild and future of the town. Hopefully next winter if we make it up there again there will be a little more progress making life easier for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smgoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Marysville was badly affected by bush fires in 2009, however this property was one of few that was not ruined. It retains old charm, and has everything you need for a relaxing getaway. The owners are friendly and helpful, and everything you need is within walking distance.

Don't forget to have dinner at the delicious Marysville Patisserie (you won't be disappointed!) and also stop in to the lolly shop for some old school treats! Both are only a few minutes walk of the cabins.

Room Tip: Some cabins have one queen bed and two single beds, other cabins have two queen beds. Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marysville
0.3 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower Motel
Tower Motel
#2 of 2 in Marysville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marysville Garden Cottages
Marysville Garden Cottages
#1 of 6 in Marysville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dalrymples Guest Cottages
Dalrymples Guest Cottages
#2 of 6 in Marysville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marysville Caravan & Holiday Park
7.1 mi away
Woodlands Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Historic Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Historic Country Inn

Property: Crossways Historic Country Inn
Address: 4 Woods Point Rd, Marysville, Victoria 3779, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Marysville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Marysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARYSVILLE'S TREASURE - this wonderful 1920's CROSSWAYS COUNTRY INN has very comfortable and affordable accommodation for couples and families in self-cont cottage, 2 bedroom ensuite unit, twin unit and standard ensuite motel units. The delightful cottage-style units are all refurbished [2013] and have new split system heating/cooling, new flat screen TVs, new furnishings, very comfortable beds. tea/coffee/toast-making facilities.We are situated on the Steavenson River with the new state of the art childrens play-space across a walking bridge and close to shops; cafes; Lake Mountain for the snow season; outdoor swimming pool; many forest walking tracks; the wisteria walk and lake in Gallipoli Park; all in beautiful garden settings. Dinner for guests can be arranged here for large group bookings, also venue hire of function rooms for your special occasion- events, weddings etc. can be deliously catered for. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing