We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Comfortable”
Review of Mansfield Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mansfield Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mansfield
Certificate of Excellence
Emerald, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
“Quiet & Comfortable”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mansfield Motel last weekend and were both really impressed with our room and the service. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone wanting to stay in Mansfield. It's a short walk from the main street which made going out for dinner very easy :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravMan2, Owner at Mansfield Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi Kelly. Thank you for your 5/5 review. You have said it all and we are grateful that you have shared your experience with other TripAdvisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    135
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
89
126
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We loved this motel ; the location is excellent , in the centre of Mansfield , and excellent pubs and restaurants are very close-by . The rooms are not the biggest we have ever stayed in , but are beautifully appointed and modern , and very comfortable . The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant . We will certainly stay here again . And the under-cover car parking , outside the rooms , is a bonus .

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger with King-size beds .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravMan2, Owner at Mansfield Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi Bob H. Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. You have mentioned our undercover parking, beautifully appointed rooms and our helpful staff. Our staff's attention to detail is what makes returning to Mansfield Motel so good. Our staff keep the rooms in pristine, spotless condition and always take pride in their work. We thank them for their efforts which often results in suck positive reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

After reading review by 'Isolin' I would like to ask how you would have handled it differently?
After reading complete response I can't see how - the guest arrived back at the motel around 12 noon to collect property left behind, which was kindly brought to their attention via a phone message as soon as it was found in room. The guests arriving to that room on the Sunday had already checked in at that time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VILMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravMan2, Guest Relations Manager at Mansfield Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Took a chance and booked on-line sight unseen. What a revelation! Great location, great service. OK there's no restaurant, but the pub at the end of the street 200 yards away was great. Clean, quiet and well appointed room. Highly recommended. Will definitely stay here again and recommend to friends travelling in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravMan2, Owner at Mansfield Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi Roger. Thank you for your generous review. Your experience is exactly what we hope all our guests can enjoy. We have been advertising a few rooms at very low rates to attract new guests such as yourselves. We are confident that once guests have stayed with us they will want to return.
The motel is located very near to the pubs and restaurants, making an easy walk.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A friendly face greeted us and made us feel at home. Room was neat and clean and most of all room was quiet ...no traffic noise. The bed comfortable . We enjoyed a wonderful country (cooked ) breakfast the following morning. Would definitely recomend

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb3909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravMan2, Owner at Mansfield Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you Barb. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, the rooms are very quiet. Thanks for the comments about the beds and the breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent one night here having booked on line. The room was very small as was the bed. The walls were paper thin and the traffic noise was loud.The back wall of our room backed on to a funeral parlour! The staff refused to allow us to check out at 11am on a Sunday insisting we had to leave at 10. While it was well located, clean and the rooms had been refurbished, I far preferred the other hotels we have used in this area .

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the road and the funeral parlour. Book direct not on line as we were charged mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravMan2, Manager at Mansfield Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
One of the issues with Trip Advisor is that emotional reviews can be used to try to damage businesses. As we were away during this guests stay and a temporary manager was in place perhaps we may have handled this guest differently. However it is always difficult to appease a guest if their requests or demands cannot (for whatever reason) be granted.

This guest originally arrived at the wrong motel. Isolin stated that they had not been to Mansfield before. They asked the manager of the other hotel if they could use their bathroom, which was refused. In defence of the Valley, motels do not have the facilities and we cannot allow random people to use our motel rooms as public bathrooms.
On arrival at the correct motel, she recounted this story in disgust and stated that the hospitality service in Mansfield was very poor. Isolin even stated that it was no surprise that nobody wants to come to this little town because of the poor service. She then informed our manager that she would be attending the school fun run and would be returning at midday to use the shower. She was informed that checkout is 10am. She responded with further unpleasantries to our manager and she stated that she can't wait to get home to write a review on TripAdvisor.

All rooms are a good size and some are larger than others.
The walls are not paper thin, they are more than 12 inches thick.
There literally is no traffic noise as Mansfield is not a through road and there is no traffic at night.
The back of the motel backs onto another building. This building is a funeral chapel. Guests cannot see the building from rooms as there is only a vent window. No noise emanates from the building. I am not sure why this offends this guest.
The staff informed the guest that a midday departure was not possible, not 11am, as stated here. As we had a full house coming in to the motel the following day it is important to have all rooms ready for incoming guests.
The guest stated that she prefers other hotels she has stayed at in this area, but informs us that she has not been to Mansfield before.
The beds are described as small. Bed sizes in Australia are of a standard as in King, Queen, Single etc. There are no extra small sizes available.
Guests making on-line bookings are in a position to be the best informed. Comparisons to other properties are easily made. Mansfield Motel keeps rates competitive and we are confident that we provide an excellent product. Our motel is newly renovated, clean and fitted with quality furnishings and fittings. Guests will not be let down by getting an unsatisfactory product.
Rates vary and we regularly apply a Special Rate. When these rooms are sold, standard rates apply. This is a marketing method used world-wide.

We are sorry to hear that a guest has not had a great experience and we are certain that most guests will enjoy their stay with us. Most of our reviews are very favorable.
We have recently taken an extended holiday away from our motel and we are disappointed that we have had such a low score on this review.

We have also travelled the world and stayed at various hotels and motels. We have recently had some interesting experiences in USA. We understand that busy hotels have policies and that staff must adhere to policies. If a policy is not to our liking we have to accept it. Most US hotels have a later check out of midday. This is because they have a check-in of 4-5pm. We accept that without prejudice.

We request that all our guests write a review at Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This motel is in a good location, close to restaurants, supermarkets etc. The rooms are neat and modern. There is a fridge, microwave and sink. They offer breakfast packs, which are well and truly overpriced. The bathroom had some hair on the floor. But overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravMan2, Owner at Mansfield Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. As we regularly maintain and update our rooms we are happy that guests find them neat and modern. As the newest motel in town, we are certainly presenting the highest quality accommodation in town.
We understand that the Breakfast to go packs are high priced. We purchase these items and get excellent responses from guests regarding the convenience of the idea. I agree that they are expensive. We have researched prices for this item and the supplier assures us that ours are sold well below the average selling price. They do sell rather well.
Hair in the bathroom is one of my biggest concerns. We ask our staff to double check this area thoroughly each time. Thank you for bringing that to our attention.
Mansfield Motel really is the best location for guests as it is located in the heart of town. We offer facilities that other cheaper hotels do not have and we are the only motel rated as four star. Thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansfield
21.3 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
184 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
21.3 mi away
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
#2 of 8 in Mount Buller
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites
11.7 mi away
Bonnie Doon Hotel
Bonnie Doon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bonnie Doon
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alzburg Resort
Alzburg Resort
#2 of 3 in Mansfield
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansfield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Motel

Property: Mansfield Motel
Address: 3 Highett St | Cnr. Early Street, Mansfield, Victoria 3722, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mansfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mansfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansfield Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansfield's most popular and newest motel. Newly renovated in Nov 2015 and April 2016. The only 4-Star motel in Mansfield. We are the only motel with undercover parking. Perfect for Car and Motorcycle Clubs.Mansfield's Number One property in Mansfield, Victoria. Winner of Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mansfield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansfield Motel Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing