We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great arvo well spent!”
Review of Mansfield Zoo

Mansfield Zoo
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Mansfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Drove past this location a few times while staying nearby and finally decided to make a stop one afternoon to check it out. Very glad we decided to do so as it turned out to be a great afternoon with the animals. They are very well cared for and we especially loved spending time with the friendly kangaroos. The grounds are very well kept and getting around is a breeze. Very impressed with this local zoo and the value is great. Stop in if you have a chance!

Thank bonzamate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansfieldZoo, Owner at Mansfield Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed spending time with our animals. We take a lot of care to maintain as quiet and calm an environment for the animals as we can, so that they are happy to wander and interact with our visitors as well. Its very heartening for us to read your review - thanks again. Bronwen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 184 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Owners are passionate and engaging. Animals are well cared for. Kids loved it. You get much more than you expect if you go here. The annual pass is great value. Lots of hand feeding the kangaroos, deer, etc Great place to bring the family. Lovely BBQ area too so come prepared to relax and enjoy the animals.

Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansfieldZoo, Owner at Mansfield Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for visiting and sharing the experience of our wonderful animals - and appreciating our committment to making it a worthwhile and memorable experience. Your comments are very much appreciated by us and our team here as well. Thank you again, Bronwen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I bought a voucher on a whim so that my boyfriend and I could camp at the zoo. We both like camping, love animals and like unique experiences, so it seemed like it would either be a lot of fun or a total bust (some of the vouchers we've bought in the past have been). Luckily for us, this one was great! We really enjoyed sleeping in the swags that were provided for us and getting to interact with the animals. Feeding the kangaroos, deer, emu, ostriches, monkeys, peacocks, llama, guinea pigs, ducks and wallabies was wonderfully fun - so much that we did it on arrival and again before we left. I developed a particular soft spot for Angel the dingo, Marshall the wombat and the kangaroos.

A lot of the reviews are saying that this is a great place to go if you have children, but we're in our mid-to-late twenties and still really enjoyed it! Bring a sense of adventure (and expect it to be a country zoo and not Taronga) and you'll have fun.

Thank misschandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansfieldZoo, Owner at Mansfield Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for drawing on the "adventurer" in you and staying at our zoo - its very heartwarming to have our visitors enjoy the experience of our animals as much as we do. We also have been surprised at how many of aour visitors have been just adults with no children - I guess animals draw out the best in people of all ages. Thanks again, Bronwen, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Having been to other regional and independent zoos, my expectations were perhaps a little high of the Mansfield Zoo. Whilst I loved being able to hand feed some of the animals (deer, antelope), I was disappointed that the advertised "hand feeding of monkeys" was actually throwing pellets through the gaps in their cages as they may bite. The camels were a similar story.
Signage was a problem for some enclosures, however, I liked the fact that most of the bigger herbivores had lots of room to roam. Despite the small size of the lion enclosure, they were hiding when we were there.
Make sure you take up the offer of borrowing gumboots to walk around in as the paths get very muddy.

Thank snuff82Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansfieldZoo, Owner at Mansfield Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our Zoo. We take great pleasure in enabling visitors to interact with our wonderful native and exotic animals, an experience that is an increasingly rare and so greatly appreciated by many visitors who come here. Allowing people to get so close to our animals does highlight the importance of managing both our animals and our visitors welfare. Because of the risk to visitors, some of our animals, such as monkeys, are thus listed as hand feeding with a spade on the map given (with the supplied spade) , and some are do not feed, like the camels. Use of the hand to feed animals that have a risk of biting visitors is not recommended.
Other animals, such as the deer loose in the park, are often seen walking around with visitors and can more safely be fed by hand. We are constantly aware of the need to keep a safe interactive environment for our visitors.
Creating a comfortable environment for each of our animals is also critically important and all of our enclosures are far larger than minimum requirements, specifically to give our animals more room to move around, including the lions. Many enclosures can also be walked entirely around by visitors. All enclosures also have signs with information about the species within - though we do try to keep signage to a minimum - so it is quite possible that some signs would be missed. Hopefully the map helps with identification of the animals within.
It is disappointing that you didn't get the chance to see our lions - they are truly magnificent animals. Like all animals though, on rare occasions they want time to themselves and go off display for short periods of time. The offer of fresh meat at lion feeding time always stimulates their activity, which is why we give visitors day passes to provide the opportunity to come back and see them when they are most active.
We are pleased that you appreciate the free loan gumboots - it is wet here in winter and spring, and people often turn up in "non-outdoor" footwear. We now have over 90 pairs on offer for people who want to use them.
We hope you have a chance to visit at another time, and see our beautiful white lions. They are fed weekends and holidays at 1.30pm in winter months and at 5pm summer months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had so many different animals and we could hand feed. The kids just loved it. The lions were amazing !

Thank teen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansfieldZoo, Owner at Mansfield Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit here. Our lions are amazing aren't they! - we feel very privileged to be able to spend time with them every day and really appreciate it when our visitors say how much they enjoy them too. The hand feeding of most of our animals is a unique experience too, which its great to hear your kids had fun with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mansfield Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Mansfield Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing