We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquillity and beauty”
Review of Karbeethong Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mallacoota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karbeethong Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mallacoota
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Our one-night stay was booked by friends from Melbourne, who drove up and met us here. They knew Mallacoota, and we were all very impressed with this lovely guesthouse. Patrick welcomed us on arrival and was available during our stay. A highlight was a visit from a koala which Patrick pointed out to us, sitting up in a eucalyptus tree next to the house.

The rooms are tastefully decorated in a simple, rustic style. There is a large and comfortable lounge, a dining room with a big round table, and a deck with chairs and tables where you can sit and admire the view. The bed was comfortable, and the environment very tranquil. Full kitchen facilities are available for guests who want to self-cater (and with few dining opportunities in the town, you would want to do this if staying for any length of time). Breakfast things are provided and you just help yourself.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank Jennifer_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 82 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2008

My 40th Birthday. Where else can you organise 30 magnificent family and friends together in the one place for a special occasion in such a tremendous setting which is relaxing, informal, hospitable and beautiful. The answer is Karbeethong Lodge! There is no other place. Invitations went out months before because of distance. 550 kms from Melbourne people had to travel, they all come and will go back again on their own esteem and for various reunions for the sheer magic of this establishment and for the hospitality of the owners and their ever engaging and committed managers. Individually fitted out bedrooms, enormously wonderful communual kitchen, which we all spent many hours cooking and drinking, breakfasts, lunch and dinners, lovely set out dinning room with huge table and candles for us all to sit around, and then the magnigicant lounge room with all sorts of comfy couches, open fire place, large windows for the soulful view of the trees and water and open sky, and not to mention the upright old piano that has had many a tune played on, (especially after that weekend). Mornings all started on the old deck over looking that beautiful peaceful view and the day would turn into night with no one leaving their spots because you didn't need to. Good food, many a drink , fun, stories told, memories created. PERFECT. Book the lodge wether its with a group or on your own. You will be amazed by it's affect on you, and you will return. A year older but a year younger....life just keeps getting better. Enjoy and have fun...

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank soulsakatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

The Karbeethong Lodge is a excellent place to come and relax. Forget TV's (there are none in your room), enjoy the views, and sitting around the fireplace instead.

One important point; be sure to ask the staff for advice, before renting a boat in town...

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DbtrX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2006

Fabulous location overlooking the lake just outside Malacoota with a large lawn leading down towards the water. Now owned & run by a young & relaxed couple who have moved to country from the city. This Victorian wooden structure is single storey with a porch running along the front. I stayed at the beginning of the season so the place was only half full but the rooms are quite small & as you may find that a neighbour has taken up residence in a niche on the porch in front of your room some might feel a little claustrophobic or not having quite as much privacy as they would like. There is a splendid & huge public lounge which made a great place to chill out in the evening.

Malacoota is not blessed with many restaurants (& those that are there seem to have a precarious life as they seem to change hands quite often) & you would probably need to drive from here to get a feed.but the alternative would be to stay in accommodation over run by camping grounds so its not a bad option. However, the residence also features a huge kitchen where I guess you could cook for yourself. The help yourself breakfast is ok but perhaps a little more basic than those offered by some of the other b&bs along the coast

Recommended? 4 out of 5

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
6  Thank Tastydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gagazzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallacoota
1.2 mi away
Shady Gully Caravan Park
Shady Gully Caravan Park
#3 of 13 in Mallacoota
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Wave Oasis
The Wave Oasis
#1 of 1 in Mallacoota
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Cottages
Blue Waters Cottages
#4 of 13 in Mallacoota
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Gipsy Point Lodge
Gipsy Point Lodge
#2 of 2 in Gipsy Point
50 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gipsy Point Lakeside
Gipsy Point Lakeside
#1 of 2 in Gipsy Point
126 reviews
1.9 mi away
A'Wangralea Mallacoota
A'Wangralea Mallacoota
#5 of 13 in Mallacoota
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karbeethong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbeethong Lodge

Address: 16 Schnapper Point Dr, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Mallacoota
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mallacoota
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Karbeethong Hotel Mallacoota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing