We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly wonderful place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallacoota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adobe Mudbrick Holiday Flats
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Despite having stayed many times, we still get that special feeling you get when you arrive at a special place. The view takes your breath away, the bird life makes your heart jump for joy, the hosts make you feel special and wherever you watch in the units you can see the care and passion which have gone into the design and build. This is not a place for people seeking sleek modern and flashy design but is a great place for people who value taking care of the environment, peace and relaxation and making meaningful connections with other guests or the hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSpeidel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

A marvellous home away from home. My partner and I travelled to Mallacoota for a week prior to christmas and couldn't have made a better choice than Adobe. Made friends with bushrats, king parrots and the seemingly inexhaustible owners Margaret and Peter, whose environmental values and honest enthusiasm for sharing their 'patch' of far-eastern victoria with visitors, shone through. As we travelled to Mallacoota by PT, we really appreciated the loan of bikes to get in and out of town and the well equipped digs (no carting saucepans and dustpans on the bus, like we did on our previous camping trip). Most of all, we loved the quiet aspect, perched above bottom lake, perfect for taking in the moon rise and surveying the shores of nearby Croajingalong. Since our visit, I've given up my prior notion of moving East for a sea change-I'll just book in here a couple of times a year instead!

Room Tip: Flat 4 had ample room for a couple for a week-maybe even two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaHWithoutAnAlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed at Adobe Mudbrick Flats for a second time last week. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Great location 5 mins drive from the township, or an easy bicycle ride along bike track.
Very quiet, peaceful garden setting, excellent views, huge native bird population. Bird feed provided. Well equipped kitchen, wood stove with firewood supplied. Very comfortable setup. Looking forward to our next visit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All flats have great views. Honeymoon cabin is my favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank LexG_3CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I should have written this review a while ago but had forgotten. Apologies to Peter and Margaret as they deserve all sorts of commendation. My partner and I stayed in the honeymoon cabin for a week in January 2013. We had an absolutely marvellous time. The cottage was homey and thoughtfully set out. It may be not flash, but it had all the items required for a comfortable stay. With a fully equipped kitchen, we cooked up a storm most nights while getting distracted by the myriads of bird visitors. Margaret had thoughtfully left a huge bottle of bird seed in the cabin for us and I had a great time pottering around feeding the king parrots, rainbow lorikeets, wonga pigeons, finches and other bird life. Peter told us to check out the phosphorescence on the first night, so we meandered down to the lake and gleefully splashed the greeny sparkly water about. Getting around was not a problem as we had brought our pushbikes. The bike track along the lake to town was a regular route for us. Mallacoota is truly a haven for those looking to get away and there's no place better than Adobe Mudbrick Flats to really wind down.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackandjill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Son (aged 12) and daughter (aged 10) loved the adventure of staying at Adobe with our charming hosts Margaret and Peter Kurz. I appreciate the values that Peter and Margaret instil and facilitate. So much to do in and around Mallacoota - fishing, beach combing, boating, walks, drives.... I've been visiting Adobe since 1998 and have not tired of it yet.

Room Tip: Katies and the Penthouse are the newest buildings on the site. All the two-bedroom flats have great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CraMarOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Level Contributor
183 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a different type of accommodation this turned out to be. With the focus of living lightly on the earth this place was amazing. The flats were all built by the owner, every brick handmade, combined with incredible timber & beams that have all been recycled from somewhere else. Peter has really let his creativity shine as he embedded his artistic work into the walls both inside & outside the flats making pictures from bottles of all colours & shapes. This all combined to give very rustic appearance to the place. Be warned though – this place is not for the faint hearted or anyone who might be afraid of a few creepy crawlies as it is tailor made for the odd spider or bug. Outside too is a haven for wild life, beautiful birds that are very tame feed on your veranda, possums and the odd koala may even walk past your window. You see native bush rats which are very cute, black & fluffy, like oversized mice, that scamper about outside in the garden cleaning up bits and pieces. They are nothing like the dirty rats that plague our cities. All the above was a bonus for us though, we choose this place because it was dog friendly and our dog just loved it. She stayed glued to the windows and spent hours just watching the live movie playing out on the veranda. Well done Margaret & Peter on creating a special place and sharing it with others.

Room Tip: Ask for the front flats to take advantage of the views across the lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanKel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adobeholidayflats, Owner at Adobe Mudbrick Holiday Flats, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your very kind and enthusiastic report. It is great to be so willingly acknowledged for our 'difference' in approching tourism.
We want to share our believes in offering clean and spacious accommodation without missing out on a homely feeling that only ADOBE can offer. It is warm and peaceful inside with a riot of wildlife (birds, koalas, possums) providing the entertainment of a different kind right outside your front windows.
City people are simply amazed of our wonderful country life.
Peter Kurz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and i stayed there last year in the cottage away from the main accommodation. It was such a unique little place, we had breakfast with the view of the amazing lake, as well as with all the colourful fun birds who we fed at the room window.
The whole stay was perfect. It was not only great price, it was comfortable, quiet and private. Just a short drive to the small village and to some treks and walks nearby.
The hosts were really friendly and helpful.
I loved it - wish it was closer to Melbourne so we could go more often!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perthchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallacoota
1.0 mi away
Shady Gully Caravan Park
Shady Gully Caravan Park
#2 of 13 in Mallacoota
50 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wave Oasis
The Wave Oasis
#1 of 1 in Mallacoota
34 reviews
5.4 mi away
Gipsy Point Lodge
Gipsy Point Lodge
#2 of 2 in Gipsy Point
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters Cottages
Blue Waters Cottages
#3 of 13 in Mallacoota
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Mudbrick Holiday Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Mudbrick Holiday Flats

Property: Adobe Mudbrick Holiday Flats
Address: 17 Karbeethong Ave, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Mallacoota
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Mallacoota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique eco-friendly, rustic, comfortable, well equipped, spacious accommodation (catering for couples, families and groups up to 8 people) in peaceful surroundings with magnificent views of the lake, ocean and islands. We are a member of "Land for Wildlife" and our environment is teeming with native birds and animals. Pets can come inside with their Mum and Dad. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing