We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for a peaceful holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallacoota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adobe Mudbrick Holiday Flats
Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a different type of accommodation this turned out to be. With the focus of living lightly on the earth this place was amazing. The flats were all built by the owner, every brick handmade, combined with incredible timber & beams that have all been recycled from somewhere else. Peter has really let his creativity shine as he embedded his artistic work into the walls both inside & outside the flats making pictures from bottles of all colours & shapes. This all combined to give very rustic appearance to the place. Be warned though – this place is not for the faint hearted or anyone who might be afraid of a few creepy crawlies as it is tailor made for the odd spider or bug. Outside too is a haven for wild life, beautiful birds that are very tame feed on your veranda, possums and the odd koala may even walk past your window. You see native bush rats which are very cute, black & fluffy, like oversized mice, that scamper about outside in the garden cleaning up bits and pieces. They are nothing like the dirty rats that plague our cities. All the above was a bonus for us though, we choose this place because it was dog friendly and our dog just loved it. She stayed glued to the windows and spent hours just watching the live movie playing out on the veranda. Well done Margaret & Peter on creating a special place and sharing it with others.

Room Tip: Ask for the front flats to take advantage of the views across the lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanKel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adobeholidayflats, Owner at Adobe Mudbrick Holiday Flats, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for your very kind and enthusiastic report. It is great to be so willingly acknowledged for our 'difference' in approching tourism.
We want to share our believes in offering clean and spacious accommodation without missing out on a homely feeling that only ADOBE can offer. It is warm and peaceful inside with a riot of wildlife (birds, koalas, possums) providing the entertainment of a different kind right outside your front windows.
City people are simply amazed of our wonderful country life.
Peter Kurz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 60 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and i stayed there last year in the cottage away from the main accommodation. It was such a unique little place, we had breakfast with the view of the amazing lake, as well as with all the colourful fun birds who we fed at the room window.
The whole stay was perfect. It was not only great price, it was comfortable, quiet and private. Just a short drive to the small village and to some treks and walks nearby.
The hosts were really friendly and helpful.
I loved it - wish it was closer to Melbourne so we could go more often!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Perthchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wonderful place, Peter an Margaret are a fantastic couple that make you feel right at home.
The flat was awesome and so unique. Peter's personal tour of the property and wildlife was unforgettable. We will definitely return to this great property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were both enchanted with this wonderful property. Margaret and Peter are a lovely couple who made us feel welcome immediately. We were only planning to stay one night but as soon as we saw our little patch of paradise overlooking the water at Mallacoota we decided to stay another night. Lucky for us our cottage was available and we got to spend two wonderful nights here enjoying the birds and wildlife while looking out over our private garden at the beautiful views. What we also found most appealing about Adobe Mudbrick Holiday Flats was that it was pet friendly and our dog absolutely loved being in this environment where we got to walk along the many well kept paths and walkways of this amazing little town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuzcNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you like nature and appreciate the benefits of doing things sustainably then this will be a delight. The flats (we stayed in Katies) are tastefully and artistically done. The whole place including each flat has real character. They are well appointed, very adequately provisioned (you can bring or hire your linen) for a comfortable stay, and set in beautiful bushland with magnificent views that overlook the water and distant hills.

There's an honesty and openness about this place which is unique.This extends to the relaxed, helpful and personal service provided by the proprietors, Margaret and Peter. We only had one night at Adobe (Mudbrick) Holiday Flats, and we enjoyed it so much we've resolved to return for a longer stay.

The Flats are about 4 to 5 kilometres from the centre of the township, which is easily accessed by car in 5 minutes or better still if you're mobile, by bike or on foot by a terrific path that meanders around the waters edge more or less the full distance to town. We rode our bikes and whilst there's one short steep hill to make it back to the flats (they're set on a hill) the ride is flat and easy.

We are very fond of Mallacoota, the little town centre, the local landscape and amenity, and the wider natural surrounds that range over superb water ways and the Croajingolong National Park.

Room Tip: We think having a bike is the best way to see around Mallacoota and with just a few exceptions, it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose-Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Excellent location, excellent value for the price, host really welcoming, helpful and friendly. Never seen so many parrots!!! The adobe flats are nice, clean and feature a very nice view on the lakes. I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Felix-Antoine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

i think i first went here in 1993 maybe before....fell in love with the view, the location, and all that Peter and Margaret have achieved and contine to achieve.... lake views are stunning, especially if you are lucky enough to watch the moon rise...Just returned for my first ever winter visit and it was lovely as ever. Me and my husband and 2 young children spent a week (too short) in flat 5. Flat is an odd word to describe the accommodation...our children adored the birds, the views, and all that Peter and Maragret generously shared with them....Great to see the magic of adobe working on them as it always has with us...being encouraged to recycle and compost while on holiday.might not be so unusual these days but it was not always so and Peter and Maragaret are pioneers in this regard. The mud brick gives a warm feel and the sun in winter in the morning s is beautiful. The hammock continues to be a great asset as is Peter and Maragaret's extraordinarily generous hospitality. I can imagine some travellers finding the place a bit odd, or even too different, but if you want to stay in a world biosphere area, experience the best view anywhere in Victoria, be treated to birds and animals close at hand, to walks, fresh air, simplicity, and informed, interresting and generous hosts then this is for you. Have always loved this place and it continues to entrance me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mallacoota hotels
1.0 mi away
Shady Gully Caravan Park
Shady Gully Caravan Park
#2 of 13 in Mallacoota
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters Cottages
Blue Waters Cottages
#4 of 13 in Mallacoota
14 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wave Oasis
The Wave Oasis
#1 of 1 in Mallacoota
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
A'Wangralea Mallacoota
A'Wangralea Mallacoota
#6 of 13 in Mallacoota
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Mudbrick Holiday Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Mudbrick Holiday Flats

Address: 17 Karbeethong Ave, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Mallacoota
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Mallacoota
Price Range: $75 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique eco-friendly, rustic, comfortable, well equipped, spacious accommodation (catering for couples, families and groups up to 8 people) in peaceful surroundings with magnificent views of the lake, ocean and islands. We are a member of "Land for Wildlife" and our environment is teeming with native birds and animals. Pets can come inside with their Mum and Dad. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing