We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy step back in time”

Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maldon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Mid-winter trip for son to do Steam Driver experience at the nearby Victorian Goldfields Railway.

New motel owners (took over about 5 months ago) Chris and Deb are keen to continuously improve the property and do listen to guest feedback.

Room was small but met our needs, with twin beds, good pillows and working electric blankets. Fixtures, furniture and ambience is in keeping with old-world charm and fits in well with Maldon's character. Shower over bath. Wall-mounted genuine Coca Cola bottle opener. Typical July rural cold weather (1 degree Celsius in the morning) so really glad the heating worked well if a bit noisy.

Small flat-screen TV is provided high up on a shelf with in-built DVD player, and the office has a big library of free DVDs to borrow. Limited number of power points (in keeping with the era) so bring a power board if you have lots of devices to charge. Nice old-world touch was a genuine 1962 New Idea magazine casually left on the table. Great breakfast reading to immerse you into the 'good old days' and for the younger generation to roll eyes at the magazine ads.

If you self-cater breakfast do ask the office for cereal bowls & spoons the day before. We didn't think of this till next morning (he office doesn't open till 8am) and discovered that yes, you can have muesli in a mug with a teaspoon if you are hungry enough. Microwave oven available on request from the office. Also, do read all the info in the room folder and the hand-written notes on the appliance instructions. That way you will know that the electric kettle needs to be filled via the water jug in the fridge, as the kettle doesn't fit under the tap in the bathroom.

All basics (soaps, shower needs, towels etc) were provided including facial tissues.

All in all a pleasant and interesting stay, and the owners were very helpful and friendly in dealing with any hiccups and questions.

If you have found this review helpful please click the Yes button as it encourages me to continue putting effort into thorough reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jstosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher48Maldon, Owner at Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your review, Joe. It was great having you and your son stay as our guests. We do appreciate all the feedback we get. The quality of our hospitality is important to us. Glad you liked the old magazine - my wife thought they would be a wonderful "touch" and they certainly have been - we are also happy to photocopy any of the articles, patterns or menus that might appeal to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 58 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Debbie was a delightful host and the family room accommodation was neat, tidy and great value with lots of old world charm. Will definately stay there when next visiting Maldon as it was quiet location but still close to town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iwj1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher48Maldon, Owner at Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind words; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Debbie and I take pride in what we have to offer and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Debbie and Chris made us feel very welcome in a lovely setting. It's very close to town but lovely and quiet. Sunny mornings on the little terrace outside were pleasant. Well placed to visit other small towns close by

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher48Maldon, Owner at Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. it's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our aim that all guests find the ambience of the place a delightful surprise - hospitality is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Originally we were to stay in Castlemaine to take the heritage steam train to Maldon. Last minute accommodation was hard to find in Castlemaine and Eaglehawk Motel in Maldon was recommended.

Initially, we checked in for one night but within 15 minutes of arriving, decided to stay another night. Deb was so welcoming and helpful.

Our room was cosy and full of character. The bed was so comfortable and we loved waking to the sound of the birds, otherwise it was so quiet. Just what we needed.

A delightful motel and one we hope to revisit one day. If you love train trips, we can highly recommend the heritage train between Maldon and Castlemaine. We also had dinner at the pub both nights and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SanMicAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher48Maldon, Owner at Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your response. We appreciate all feedback and it's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was a surprise because I didn't realise Maldon had a motel, Thought there were only B&Bs. We booked the last room which was a double bed, a bit small for my tall husband. But even though the room looked old every thing worked as it should and it was very clean. It was a warm night when we stayed but the open windows were enough to keep us cool and it was so quiet it didn't cause a noise problem. Thought we could walk into town for dinner but it was too far for us. But others would have no problem I'm sure,

Room Tip: If you can get a queen bed, go for it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher48Maldon, Owner at Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks. Deb and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important to us that our guests enjoy what we have to offer - hospitality is important to us. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

A very pleasant, quiet motel set in beautiful surroundings. The rooms are tastefully decorated in period furniture.

Maldon is listed by the National Trust as a Notable Town and it certainly is. The walks around the town are well worth doing, as one can soak in the atmosphere of days gone by.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joram48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We just turned up, on the off chance we could get a room, Faye made us very welcome, and gave us the queen bed room, for the cost of the double .
It's quiet, clean, and the hot breakie was enjoyed by us both.
Loved the tranquil setting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyfour12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maldon
9.6 mi away
Campbell St Lodge
Campbell St Lodge
#2 of 3 in Castlemaine
40 reviews
9.3 mi away
Newnorthern
Newnorthern
#2 of 9 in Castlemaine
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm House
Palm House
#1 of 5 in Maldon
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Castle Motel
Castle Motel
#3 of 9 in Castlemaine
64 reviews
11.0 mi away
Albion Motel Hotel
Albion Motel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Castlemaine
38 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fig Cafe & Accommodation
Fig Cafe & Accommodation
#4 of 9 in Castlemaine
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel

Address: 35 Reef St, Maldon, Victoria 3463, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Maldon
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maldon
Price Range: $102 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel is a family owned and run business. Capitalising on personal service, the historical nature of Maldon and the motel's unique location within Central Victoria, we seek to create an environment of rest and recreation in peaceful gardens and relaxing amenities and thereby provide a uniquely differentiated experience for our guests. Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel is the small motel with a big difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing