We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled Rolling Stones Concert Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macedon
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cancelled Rolling Stones Concert Weekend”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went ahead with the weekend away due to the 100% cancellation fee. Paid $400 per night. 1 toilet roll, empty fly spray can (which would have come in handy due to the plague of garden bugs in the room) and expected more in the fridge other than a very small uht milk (which wasn't replaced the 2nd day), 2 chocolate bars and a bottle of water. Just expected more considering we paid Top Dollar due to the Concert................

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    31
    20
    26
See reviews for
12
69
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

When we went to see the place a bout a month or two prior to see if we wanted to choose this location as our honeymoon, we were promised; a renovated room, we were promised room service, we were promised the restaurant to be open and we were promised access to their day spa and pool and we got none of it, to top it off the room comes with a bad air conditioner, a very old tv that freezes or has no reception at times,
The room was nice and in room spa was nice but that's it, would never come again. And all night all I could hear is the traffic from the freeway, not very enjoyable.

as there was nothing to eat on site and nothing to cook anything on we ordered pizza/pasta delivery and upon opening draw for cutlery we found no forks, and a miss matched glass range (sorry but it's not hard to match glasses - me and my husband shared wine and there was no two glasses the same)

Overpriced and over rated. If they had told us the truth prior or gave us a discount it wouldn't be an issue.

Very very dissatisfied

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Craziisquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Macedon hotels

1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Booked the room from wotif.com that day. Room was lovely and cosy. Very clean room and the spa was great. Would definitely come back again. Sorry for the red hair dye on the pillows! Loved the view from the back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Like the title says,'served its purpose only'! We were told by the tour operator it was a 4 star property. Maybe it was in its day,but very visible signs of neglection. Property owners are nice but they also look very tired of running accomodation on their own and with skeleton staff. Day spa and pool were not available as advised by owner is under renovations. According to reviews its been under renovation for a very long time,just never to be completed! The children and I were so disappointed they were really looking forward to a swim and I was really looking forward to some 'me' time! To our dismay the restaurant was also run by the owners and a chef aswell! I wonder why they're run down?!?! The owner did call us a few days prior to our arrival to find out whether we were going to have meals at the restaurant so they can keep on the chef for the weekend or else it's not worthwhile keeping the chef on as she told me. Hmmmmm,how fresh would our meals be? It really does make me wonder. Btw,property is not children friendly whatsoever. My kids sat in the spa in our hotel room all weekend,frustrating just to keep them busy! Spa was broken and couldnt drain the water.So overall,the property like I said needs a lot of love!! It needs new energy,young energy and promises that get delivered! Not worth the money and won't be staying here again...........sorry guys!

Room Tip: Always call the property prior to booking to check the facilities are in working condition before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sc0rpi066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

It's difficult to rate this place effectively because there are good points but equally bad. I did not eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that. However, the rooms were very spacious and clean but a little tired. The gas log heater worked really well and provided even heat in the room. The bathroom is fine but a little dated and the upgrades have been done on the cheap. The shower is also very hot (I burned myself under it), and the water pressure is effected by the neighboring rooms.

The balcony is not really a balcony at all, but rather a rail in front of a sliding door. Either build a proper balcony or enclose it and just make it a window. The view of tall trees and unkempt grass is not exactly the most inviting sight anyway. Perhaps it could be converted into a lake for a more beautiful ascetic and also to entice wildlife (create a wilderness space, that people can enjoy) - think green.

The spa is a nice touch, but again a little dated and perhaps the space could be used better as a lounge area - as the room size certainly caters for such a space and would perhaps be more ascetically pleasing and useful for people staying.

The grounds are tired and need to be better maintained and how about using a sprinkler and some bore water to keep the grass green, or installing a rainwater tank for just such purposes. Perhaps re-think the plants as well; something low maintenance and drought tolerant like cordylines or Yukkas (which are largely self sustaining, require very little maintenance and look very modern and chic).

The spa was not operational when we visited, so can't comment on it or the service.

We walked down to the restaurant but it wasn't open so we just walked around the grounds which are again, dated and tired, but generally nice. The outdoor furniture needs replacing though. The view is also obscured by trees; either get rid of them or cut them back, this is part of the charm of the place.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and were generally happy, there is a real opportunity to make this place a wonderful retreat for people from Melbourne but it does need a little work and some TLC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leisha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great room, large, immaculately clean. Loved the double spa bath overlooking the countryside. Good to have a fridge and crockery in the room. Fire kept room nice and warm. Robes in room a nice touch. Bed huge and really comfy. Very welcoming reception. Breakfast served till 10, when we arrived at 10 to 10, we were reminded by a grumpy waitress that we only had '10 minutes until they closed' and breakfast stuff was whisked away at 4 minutes past by the waitress. She even ignored us when we said goodbye! Breakfast was pretty good, especially the grilled tomatoes! Spa ok but a little dated. Overall the grounds could do with a little TLC but a wonderful relaxing place, nice and quiet and perfect for a weekend countryside getaway from Melbourne. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobbertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

at first I thought this place was great. The room was clean and I loved the spa in the room. But..two towels if you are in a room with a spa and a shower, a couple more towels would have been great. The bed was great no complaints there :) the bathroom was huge but the shower was not that great water pressure was weak and cleanliness could have been better heat lamps or under floor heating would have been nice all that was offered was an extractor fan/light. hairdryer had seen better days. we decided to dine at the restaurant the prices once again were high but the food was standard I was surprised to find that there was no longer a buffet meal on the Saturday night I had the a steak meal and the only thing I enjoyed was the actual steak my "scalloped potatoes" were insipid and tasteless the vegetables' not much better I asked for a mushroom sauce for my steak which was nice but also had beans that suspiciously tasted like baked beans in it too? the service was good and our meals were quickly served.
the buffet breakfast the next morning was ok the food was not warm enough the bacon was dry but overall it was a good .the balcony off the dining room looks about to collapse and the weeds in the planter boxes had overtaken whatever plants were hidden in there the outdoor furniture was in need of repair. The views are spectacular and unfortunately the whole hotel had a run down tired feel to it.
the staff were pleasant and helpful.
overall this would make an ideal romantic getaway for a night or two but for the price I think it could be more modernised and the issues in the dinning room/restaurant fixed and the chef replaced final verdict overpriced outdated tired .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macedon
14.8 mi away
Grange Cleveland Winery
Grange Cleveland Winery
#1 of 2 in Lancefield
226 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Grange at Lancefield
The Grange at Lancefield
#2 of 2 in Lancefield
61 reviews
22.4 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Forest Motel
Black Forest Motel
#1 of 3 in Macedon
54 reviews
5.7 mi away
Woodend Old Schoolhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa

Property: Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
Address: 652 Black Forest Drive, Macedon, Victoria VIC 3440, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Macedon Ranges > Macedon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macedon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a tranquil bush setting, the Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa is conveniently located less than one hour from Melbourne and half an hour from Tullamarine Airport. All our beautifully presented guest rooms offer a double spa bath, ideally positioned to take in the sweeping views of Mount Macedon. Our professional therapists can provide an extensive range of treatments in our Day Spa to ensure your relaxation is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing