We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue for picnics and children”
Review of Lilydale Lake

Lilydale Lake
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Lilydale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lillydale Lake is open at all times and has a range of facilities and activities to suit everyone, including an all-abilities playground, outdoor fitness station, walking tracks, wetlands, fishing jetties, BBQ's, picnic shelters, sandy beach areas and public toilets. Come along and have a picnic or barbecue, take a walk around the 28 hectare lake, or watch your children enjoy the sandy beaches and expansive lawns. Entry is free.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great venue for picnics and children”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is great for a walk around the lake, a picnic and the children's playground. Good spot to go to for families.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank maeveMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lilydale, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Live close by”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lilydale Lake is lovely for a family outing, with bbqs, toilets, playground and lovely walking tracks. You can also take the dog. It does tend to be a bit windy and unfortunately too many people dont pick up after their dog.
Aside from this it is a delightful spot, the kids can ride their bike along the track as well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayswater, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for a bit of exercise”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

With the weather warming up this is a great spot for a walk (with or without a dog) or bike ride. The track makes it easy to go at your own pace and you can do multiple laps or follow some of the many off shoot trails if you have more time or feel like a change of scenery.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cuzza42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
176 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful weather means goes to the lake”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A beautiful spring day in Melbourne means that a trip to Lillydale Lake will be worth it. Lots of people were out and about too doing exactly what we were, having a picnic. We chose an off lead dog area as we had a little dog and we set up our 3 picnic rugs and spread of food and lay and ate. A frisbie was also brought, and this place has space to play games as well. On the lake there were some motorised remote control boats being given a run and someone had a remote plane flying about (but not near any picnicers). Nice day, nice place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KdofMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YRCouncil, Manager at Lilydale Lake, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience. We are glad you had a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A great place to go for a walk with the family or your dog”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This lake is great for walking, running or cycling. It is mostly flat and a good surface to walk on. Take you dog for a walk and meet lots of others doing the same. I walk around with our dog and meet lots of others doing the same. The car parking is good and on weekends there is an ice cream van for the kids, young and old. There are not charges.
The playground is awesome and there are BBQ facilities. There are lots of birds around and we have a family of black swans living there as well. You can also put a fishing rod in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lilydale Lake also viewed

Yarra Junction, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 
Yering, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Lilydale Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing