We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed for a friend's wedding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Erin at Lancefield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glen Erin at Lancefield
Ranked #1 of 5 Lancefield B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stayed for a friend's wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed for a friends wedding. We had been backpacking for nearly 3 months so as you can imagine staying here was a real treat and nearly blew our budget! It is a beautiful setting for a wedding and everyone had a wonderful day. The room was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. And the breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Glen Erin for a friends wedding. Our first impresson of Glen Erin when we arrived was very positive the building look well maintained and the grounds and gardens are amazing. Check in was hassle free and the staff were friendly.

We were taken over to the homestead which is B & B style share house where we had a large room and large bathroom with a shower and bath. The living area was laid out well with lots of room to socialise with the other guests and there was also a pool table.

The room itself was well decorated and warm but we had a very small TV and our large bed was two smaller ones pushed together so when we meet in the middle one of us got the gap. There was a fan in the bathroom or the neighbors bathroom that would not turn off and our toilet leaked and I had to turn it off at the wall. Notified staff but they did not seem to bothered or keen to do anything about it.

The breakfast was amazing and plentiful, the cooked and the continental options were great and seemed to cater for everyone's tastes. Even arriving late we still had all the options to choose from.

The grounds are worth a walk around. The wedding/function center was well setup and the girls in there were incredible and nothing was every a problem they really went above and beyond but unfortunately it only takes one sour grape to spoil the bunch. There was one fella who was short and abrupt with almost everyone and did not seem like he really cared about or wanted to be working at our friends wedding, the other staff really saved him on and the event by going above and beyond.


I would stay at Glen Erin again but probably not in the home stead. It would be a great weekend retreat.

Room Tip: Try the meals at the lancefeild hotel if you are looking for something quick and easy, very good val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwis_can_fly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have celebrated both our wedding and our 1st anniversary at glen erin. Every time we stay it is always fantastic, the staff always go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay, the restaurant is absolutely fantastic and Brian the chef is just awesome, you don't get too many chefs who come out to you and make sure how your meal was, the menu is always fantastic and always tastes great. If you want to have a fantastic fun stress free wedding we highly recommend this place, or if you just want a great weekend away then this is the place. Kim, the owner, takes care of all the details and is so friendly and dedicated to your event or wedding being completely successful. I would recommend Glen Erin at Lancefield to anyone for any event.
Big thanks to Kim and all the staff.
We would also like to thank Chris and Brian thanks guys,

Mark and Donna Cassar

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDcassar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had our wedding at Glen Erin late last year. Overall our experience was quite upsetting to say the least. Altough the grounds and facilites are amazing, the way the facility is run and managed is appalling. The director / wedding planners attitude was rude and direspectful. She managed to not only offend myself and my now wife, but other guests. Contractual obligations were not met, our wedding dance song was lost after it was handed to them 2 weeks prior, then we were accused of never giving it to her leaving us standing around waiting for approx 40 mins until they could download the song and play it. On 3 seperate occasions attempts were made to overcharge us even though we proved that the correct amounts had been prior. I regret having our wedding there and would encourage anyone considering to ensure retention in the amount being charged. We were made to pay up front, giving no option to option for reimbursement for poor service!! I hope our experience is never repeated.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean but dated. Paying extra for the spa is not worth the money in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 254MattC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian s, Owner at Glen Erin at Lancefield, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear 254MattC

Thank you for your comments and opinions regarding your wedding celebrations late last year. We value all opinions and endeavour to make concerted efforts to address any concerns.
Consequently we would welcome your direct contact with us in order to personally discuss the issues raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had two nights over the Easter break at Glen Erin, travelling from Brisbane to see Bruce Springteen at Hanging Rock. Our room was recently refurbed in pleasant earthy tones, the bathroom was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the room. The bed was extroadinarily comfy, an absolute pre-requisite for me. A few minor complaints, the tea/coffee making facilities were a little sparse; the shower head and water temperature fluctuations in the shower need attending to (not just our room but all three of our co-travellers). The bathtub was tiny and not at all comfortable and the sound proofing from room to room is not good. We could hear our neighbours walking and fussing around their room all morning from around 6 with the floors creaking etc.
We found the owner, Kym really hellpful and pleasant. We ate breakfast in the restaurant two mornings and dinner one night which was included in our rate. Breakfast was 8/10, tasty and options for both hot and continental being included in our room rate. Dinner was 6/10. I had mushroom rissotto and found it to be bland as did a fellow diner, her paela. My other fellow diners were thrilled with their barramundi. I felt the wine list was pricey in comparison to the quality of food. Happy to pay top dollar for wine if it matches the quality of the food, otherwise I think it needs to be a little more realistic. The setting is in a vineyard, however, it is not an active/crop producing one, so not really a need for the pompous wine pricing.
All in all a pleasant stay. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricija_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The room was tired and in need of a makeover. We had to wait an eternity for dinner in the restaurant, so if you are hungry, make that clear before you order.
Breakfast starts at 9 am, which was about an hour late for us as we were on a road trip.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on the first floor are best. Our room coped noise from above and through the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mastermuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well set up for a weeding or event. Was really nice to stay at same venue and just stroll to wedding, drinks, reception, breakfast.

Breakfast didn't start till 9. Bit late for me but all good.

Overall. I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Growlert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancefield
3.3 mi away
Grange Cleveland Winery
Grange Cleveland Winery
#1 of 2 in Lancefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Grange at Lancefield
The Grange at Lancefield
#2 of 2 in Lancefield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hedge Farm
Hedge Farm
#1 of 1 in Carlsruhe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cope-Williams Winery
Cope-Williams Winery
#1 of 1 in Romsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
12.0 mi away
Black Forest Motel
Black Forest Motel
#1 of 3 in Macedon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
11.9 mi away
Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Erin at Lancefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Erin at Lancefield

Property: Glen Erin at Lancefield
Address: 200 Rochford Rd, Lancefield, Victoria 3435, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Macedon Ranges > Lancefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lancefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glen Erin at Lancefield 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Glen Erin at Lancefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Erin At Lancefield Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing