We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Swallow does make a Spring”

Little Swallow Cafe
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in Kyneton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Relaxed dining in Kynetons' heritage-listed Piper Street. The menu is based around seasonal, quality products sourced locally wherever possible. Little Swallows' innovative and enthusiastic chef regularly updates the specials board, and the menu is changed seasonally.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One Swallow does make a Spring”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Little Swallow Cafe is a local treasure as well as a great place for tourists to enjoy the ambience of a small and thriving town. Set on historic Piper Street, the Little Swallow provides its patrons with World-class coffee (I am a coffee fiend, and this is truly brilliant coffee), and an excellent breakfast and lunch menu featuring fresh local produce. Service is always friendly, prompt and helpful. Owner, Steve Rogers, has cooked in Paris and worked for some years with Jacques Reymond in Melbourne. The daily Specials on the lunch-board are superb and well worth trying. The cafe is small, vibrant and full of local characters. It's a gem. Try it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Icon567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    48
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kyneton, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great breakfast right across the road from the Farmer's Market”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I really love this breakfast, tasty and satisfying in a little cafe across the road from Piper Street Kyneton's Farmer's Market. Of course it is open on non-market days too. A top hatted chef in an unassuming cafe.

Wonderful!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great stop for breakfast”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We can only vouch for breakfast at Little Swallow but it was fantastic.

This is a small cafe but a great team and an innovative breakfast menu - try the Breakfast Trifle - amazing !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterR931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Wandered in to this lovely cafe without reading any reviews when we found ourselves in Kyenton last weekend. The service was snappy, with coffee's delivered pronto, followed by yummy focacia's. My husband and I each picked a different focacia option and mentioned almost to ourselves that we would share. The waitress arrived with a half of each on two plates - nice touch. Obviously a good team in back and front of house as the wait staff delivered water and glasses to the tables the minute guests sat down, and the food was served very quickly which is just what you want for lunch. I'd go back to this place in a flash.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissylou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely little spot”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We meet up with some family at the Little Swallow recently. Loved the cafe. Only critisism was that the soup and quiche/tart we had were both incredibly rich and both seemed to have a lot of fat content (cream, cheese and butter) I wished later on when my stomach was protesting that I had gone for one of the simpler dishes. Needless to say the food was delicious and the service was very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Swallow Cafe also viewed

Kyneton, Macedon Ranges
Kyneton, Macedon Ranges
 

Been to Little Swallow Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing