We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold weekend away”
Review of Mollison's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mollison's
Ranked #4 of 9 Kyneton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Tip - do not stay at this hotel in winter. It has inadequate heating and no electric blanket. I have rarely been so cold - but thanks to the Best and Less in town for the discount thermals!. The day my partner and I arrived was admittedly one of the coldest this winter but we didn't expect to find that because all the rooms were booked that having the heaters on overloaded the wiring. We were asked not to turn the heating up as it would probably overload the system again.
We stayed in what was probably the smallest of the rooms at the very back of the hotel. The bathroom was very spacious but not so the room. Thankfully we didn't want to spend too much time in the room because of the cold.
Overall I would say that at $230 per night Mollisons is overpriced but unfortunately there does not appear to be a lot of accomodation options in Kyneton.

Room Tip: Don't stay in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boris2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, Owner at Mollison's, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Mollisons. We have over 1000 guests each year and it is very unusual to receive anything but positive feedback. In fact, many of our guests now are repeat customers returning for their second, third or forth visits, many requesting the room you stayed in.

The power supply from the street to the building failed on one of Kyneton's coldest days. The fault was not due in any way to our electricity usage but until we were confident that the fault was repaired we did take the precaution of asking guests not to turn the heaters to maximum.

Please feel free to contact us any time with your feedback. We hope you are able to stay with us again for a more psitive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 62 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We live in Kyneton, and recommended to friends that they book 2 nights at Mollison's, which they did. But we would never use this establishment again. It charges a top dollar, yet had no breakfast provisions, or even milk for tea or coffee. There was no electric blanket (Kyneton can be freezing in writer), and the room was hardly spotlessly clean. It was most disappointing for us, and hardly what one would have expected from an enterprise that won business of the year in 2013! Maybe the judges simply accepted everything on face value, and never checked the place out themselves.

Room Tip: If you want a true B&B, look elsewhere. You will find the cupboard bare at Mollison's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darius4522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, Owner at Mollison's, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Darius, from our perspective, the experience of your friends is not at all typical of the experience of the many guests who stay with us throughout the year. We are very proud to have received the 2012 and 2013 Macedon Ranges Shire Council award for Excellence in Accommodation as well as the 2013 award for Macedon Ranges Business of the Year. The process for the judging of the Busines Excellence Awards is rigorous and well organised and involves thorough inspection of all sites.

Yes, it is cold in Kyneton, that is why we have installed in all rooms, high quality and hgighly efficient electric wall mounted heaters. We also have the finest quality feather and down doonas on all beds with additional quilts and blankets to provide an option for extra warmth. Heated towel rails and electric heaters ensure that bathrooms are also warm.

Milk is provided with our plunger coffee and fresh tea. If staff had been notified that the provision of milk had been overlooked on this occasion, the situation would have been remedied immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Mollisons early last year and had a fabulous time, so much so we moved to Kyneton six months later! The accommodation itself was stunning, oozing class and with everything you could possible need. Debbie and Yvonne were welcoming and very helpful. When we decided to move, we rang for advice on good locations in which to buy a house and they were only too willing to help. The shop was an added bonus when we stayed and now I am a regular patron! We no longer have a need to stay at Mollisons however this is where we recommend visitors stay when they come to town. No where else could compare.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kparker_0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Would recommend this place to anyone .Beautiful rooms and all different ,sophisticated and would rival any boutique hotel in the state including Melbourne. The girls who run it are as nice as they are efficient and go out of their way to make your stay a comfortable one and on that note the beds are great in fact we are getting one for home .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpandrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My expectant wife and I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary on February 2013. We checked in at the Mollisons store out front that sold contemporary jewellery, clothing and gifts. Yvonne and Debbie welcomed us with a smile and showed us to our room around the back.

Room was smaller than the others on-site but clean, cosy and decorated in classic white with wooden floors. Shower was huge. TV position was abit awkward having us both face sidewards from the bed and the signal dropped out briefly every 30min or so but didn't bother us too much as we didn't go all the way to Kyneton to just watch TV.

Location is good, not right in the finer dining areas of Piper St but still walking distance. There are other nice restaurants on Mollison St too however. Car parking is hidden but the hosts will explain where to enter.

Overall Mollisons is a lovely place to stay for a weekend getaway in Kyneton.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with a patio area if you'd like to eat breakfast outside or are a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenAndDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had dinner booked in Kyneton so we decided to stay one night - then two !

Mollisons is comfortable (we stayed in ground floor room 1) although there is little privacy as access to car park etc is right past the room - so you tend to have the curtains closed most of the time.

Very comfortable bed and modern bathroom. Room a bit noisy with a pump of some description that switches on at different intervals, day and night.

Breakfast not available but some outstanding cafes in the town - Mr Casisi, Little Swallow, etc

Next time would probably try a seperate house

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterR931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My partner and I had a fantastic overnight stay here. The room was very comfortable and modern. Our room was located at the back of the building. Very private and surrounded by a lovely garden. The staff were very helpful and gave recommendations for local restaurants and even offered to book a table for the evening. The bed was very welcoming to come back to in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyneton
16.5 mi away
Grange Cleveland Winery
Grange Cleveland Winery
#1 of 2 in Lancefield
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angoby's of Kyneton
Angoby's of Kyneton
#1 of 9 in Kyneton
61 reviews
2.2 mi away
Corinella Country House
Corinella Country House
#5 of 9 in Kyneton
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hedge Farm
Hedge Farm
#1 of 1 in Carlsruhe
19 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lancefield Guesthouse
Lancefield Guesthouse
#2 of 4 in Lancefield
16 reviews
12.2 mi away
Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mollison's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mollison's

Address: 116 - 118 Mollisons St, Kyneton, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Macedon Ranges > Kyneton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kyneton
Price Range: $156 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kyneton, only 1 hour from Melbourne CBD, this magnificent property with surprisingly quiet and secluded surrounds, is a great escape from the hustle and bustle of inner-city living and only a short walk from Kyneton's famed Piper Street with its award-winning, chef's hat accredited restaurants and high-class dining venues. Mollisons has a range of accommodation available including: six boutique hotel style rooms each with private entrance, ensuite, king or queen bed and tea and coffee making facilities; spacious fully self contained two bedroom apartment with lounge, dining, bathroom, kitchen and balcony overlooking the historic buildings of Mollison Street; one bedroom suite with large bathroom, lounge and kitchen facilities. All rooms have TV and DVD; some rooms have decks overlooking the garden. Off-street parking is provided. Mollisons boutique accommodation boasts an ultra-modern interior with a tasteful mix of antique and contemporary furniture, stylish trimmings and novel decorator pieces; the type of luxury accommodation you would typically expect to find in boutique areas of Melbourne or Sydney, not the idyllic surrounds of the country. Our rooms are furnished with the finest quality items and decorated with individually selected one-off pieces and provide a showcase for Mollisons' luxury design style. All items in our rooms are available for sale and we provide a full interior design service. Mollisons Kyneton also offers visitors an exquisite retail experience with a unique concept store in the old bank chamber showcasing a range of classic and contemporary decorator and design pieces such as jewellery, fashion items, children's gifts, and clothing. Getting there: Calder Highway or V-Line Bendigo fast train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mollison's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing