We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kyneton Bushland Resort
Nearby Hotels
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grange Cleveland Winery(Lancefield)(Great Value!)
$142
$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albion Motel Hotel(Castlemaine)
$96
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tangenong Cottages(Hepburn Springs)(Great Value!)
$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Hepburn Springs Motor Inn(Hepburn Springs)(Great Value!)
$81
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel(Hepburn Springs)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dudley Boutique Hotel(Hepburn Springs)
$307
$298
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellinzona Grange(Hepburn Springs)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
50
40
8
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
40
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfgames roomswimming poolthe kitchenhanging rockmaster bedroomgum treesthe great ocean roadcentral victoriaself containedlounge areatable tennisother guestssquash courtbush landensuite bathroomclose to nature
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 100 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent another week at this resort with friends recently. The resort is very well set out and despite being full you are almost unaware of the other guests. The villas are set amongst the gums and they are very clean, well appointed and most importantly warm. On one day we chose to take a tour organised by the resort to Castlemaine. We spent a delightful afternoon with Courtney who gave us an understanding of what is was like to live in the local area. She took us to the Buda House in Castlemaine which is an excellent historical home and then on to the Castlemaine Art Gallery and Museum. Thanks once again for an enjoyable week and especially to Courtney for a fun afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is my second time staying in KBR. The last was 13 years ago!! And the resort has been well maintained and I believe has been upgraded to a certain extent. We stayed in Unit 8, a 2 bedroom villa (more like a cottage) and was self-contained. Can sleep up to 6 pax comfortably as it has 2 custom-made sofas. Rooms are comfy with a master bedroom with double bed and the other with twin single beds. Both ensuite which was a bonus. Beds hv electric blankets (what a blessing in a cold night!) as rooms were pretty cold (in autumn, shiver to think abt it in winter!).

Cutlery and crockery in abundance. May not be a full kitchen as it lacks an oven. We were provided with an electric frying pan on request, very useful. Cooking utensils all complete and can be provided if lacking. We asked for a chopping board as the unit provided a tiny fruit cutting board only. Was sent over in a jiffy! Very efficient. Yes, no soap and shampoo which were the only complaint. Oh yes, no sponge to do hand washing. The kitchen was very important to my group as we cooked dinner most days and hv breakfast as well. However, I would give it a 8/10 for completeness. And it was so good to have sharp knives!

Amenities around the resort - BBQ pits everywhere! We braved the cold one night and had BBQ for dinner. We had a great time!! There is a lovely heated pool, jacuzzi and baby pools and a small sauna room. It was too cold to brave this though although the pool was heated. We decided to spend a whole morning playing mini golf. It was so enjoyable playing at the 18 types of mini golf courses. We also tried the giant snake & ladders/ chess board. The adult lounge was also very comfortable and all guests are welcomed to free tea and coffee there. Great way to relax. There was a big LCD TV at the lounge and movies are shown periodically. There were games tables i.e. snooker/pool, table tennis and table football. All games are accessible to the guests with a purchase of an equipment card for $2.00. There is also a mini store at the reception which is very convenient for guests who may not want to go all the way to Kyneton town to stock up.

The bushland around the villas are great and we saw many types of birds and the best was when we saw 3 kangaroos or maybe wallabies. We had a ball of a time taking photos.

Location of resort is great as it is quite central to go to Bendigo (north), Melbourne (south) and Ballarat (west). Surrounding towns were very pretty i.e. Daylesford, Castlemaine and Hepburn Springs. Kyneton town is 5 mins away and is self sufficient albeit small with Woolworths and IGA supermarkets and a few interesting eateries. Shopping is limited as only Best for Less is available. There is a bowling club/RSL which has Pokies and Keno...nice to whilst your afternoon away! But then, it is a small town so expectation is not high!

All in all, this is a great resort and I would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet and relaxing time with a loved one or with the family.

Room Tip: Try to get units away from the highway. Could be a bit noisy. However, if the unit is too far in, be prepared for the pitch darkness....a bit scary if travel group is small!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taipei101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Kyneton Bush Resort was a complete change of pace from Melbourne central where we started our Australian journey. The resort is set up as a number of single bungalows in a camp-like setting, though there's no food service and everyone makes their own food in their bungalows. Our bungalow was rustic, but it was fine and had all the amenities we needed (kitchen, two baths, laundry). No soap or shampoo was provided. We were in our room only for breakfast and dinner while we explored the local area. Here was where we saw kangaroos right outside our door as soon as we arrived as well as noisy flocks of galah parrots, magpies and either a sugar glider or a ring tail possum. We weren't sure which. The night sky was a wonder to behold as we could see the Milky Way very well, the Southern Cross and more.
We did not use any of the amenities at the resort, although we did take a look at the swimming pool, the game room, the playground and the pond, and they all looked well kept. If we weren't tourists but were city folk getting away from it all, we probably would have enjoyed taking advantage of these amenities. No free WiFi. You have to pay for it at the front desk and use their computer in the adult lounge/game room. We ventured to Kyneton for food and a visit to the mineral spring. We also visited the Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary where one can see all of the animals of the bush in captivity and more. It was a wonderful sanctuary. We also went to nearby Hanging Rock for the annual car show, and we climbed the rock. All in all, we enjoyed this resort for what it was and the bush.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bachlein7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in January with 11 and 8 year old children.

It was fantastic with so much to do, including tennis, mini golf, kayaks, fishing and a great swimming pool.

The rooms have been updated and are very nice.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Secco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This resort is definitely 4 or 5 star but that is not what should be expected. The accommodation is in individual units separated enough to give you the privacy you desire. Although a little more could be provided in the villas, such as shower accessories, additional kitchen items and toilet paper, etc these can all be purchased from the mini store. At night you have kangaroos, wallabies, rabbits, and other wild life and birds roaming around. During the day you have a large heated swimming pool, spa, sauna; a lake with fish and boats, mini golf, and a variety of other entertainment options to keep you and the kids occupied.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank morryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews