We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay food but terribly overpriced ”
Review of The Chutney Bar

The Chutney Bar
Ranked #11 of 32 Restaurants in Inverloch
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Butter chicken is quite nice and not too sweet. The beef vindaloo, medium spiciness, is still quite mild and didn't seem to have much flavour. We ordered a large coconut rice and a small plain basmati rice, but they both seemed to be the same size container. Friendly service but terribly overpriced. Would've given more stars otherwise.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank normchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 100 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

I love food but I’m lazy with reviews. This place, however, deserves attention.
We ordered 4 vegetarian dishes, plus two different breads and each was superb. Everything was delicate and super tasty. The Punjabi naan was the most surprisingly delicious of all, followed by the tandoor mushrooms and Malai Kofta. The chilli paneer dish had a beautiful balance of sweet, sour and hot. The dahl was reliably comforting.
What a wonderful surprise. We’ll be back soon!!

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank lanadj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

I got some take away meals from this Indian restaurant to share with my family for an evening meal. I got 4 variety of dishes which were all scrumptious. Highly recommend this establishment.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank didimckeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

When we got to the front and then inside the restaurant, we didn't like the first impression/decor. Very run down, had to make a split decision to stay or go.
Luckily we stayed as the food was very nice and service was great. Lovely friendly staff.

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank 179amyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

Stayed in Inverloch overnight so decided on trying this tiny restaurant.
Not the greatest regarding decor but the food was really nice.
I ordered the Vegetarian Korma Curry the other meal Chicken Curry with a small plate of rice and the Naan Garlic Bread. A glass of Taylor's Shiraz and a Kingfisher beer.
It would have been better had the Korma been delivered with the other meal but a mistake had been made so my husband had to start so his didn't get cold. Mine arriving about 10 min. later as did several other meals to other people unfortunately.
The meals were quite generous but the Naan Bread was burnt however tasted ok but a little pricey at $5 for 3 small pieces
The total bill was $63 so not cheap but all up the meals were very tasty. I do feel it would be better if they took more care with the orders so as not to make so many mistakes.
It's so.much nicer to eat together not separately so ruined it a little bit

Maybe better to take the food away and grab a bottle of wine from the shop down the street. A bottle of Taylor's being $16 and beautiful wine .

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank KimB346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chutney Bar also viewed

Inverloch, Gippsland
Inverloch, Gippsland
 
Inverloch, Gippsland
 
Inverloch, Gippsland
Inverloch, Gippsland
 

Been to The Chutney Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing