We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
RACV Inverloch Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Inverloch
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“They could do better”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed here once before and were very happy with it on that occasion. This time round not quite so much. The actual room itself was fine, lovely big bed, good sized bathroom and very clean.

However, it was very cold the couple of days we were there and the main sitting/dining area was definitely on the cool side. I wore both my cardigan and jumper in order to stay reasonably warm. A number of other guests commented on it was cold inside and one said he had asked for the temperature to be turned up in the restaurant, only to be informed that was not possible to adjust the temperature. Fortunately the bedrooms have their own controls so they were fine.

As we were part of a conference, on the second night our dinner was served in a separate room over by the pool. It was over an hour between entree and the main course and when the mains did arrive they were only warmish. I had noticed when I popped outside to the toilet that the mains were all sitting on a table in another room,, no overhead heaters or anything else to keep them hot. I don't know how long the plates had been there when I went past but it was a good 5 mins before they were served. If they are going to offer a separate room then they need to make sure they have the facilities to do it properly. As it was a set menu they could hardly have been taken by surprise by the orders so should have had the situation well under control.

If I am down Inverloch way I would still stay here again as, overall, it is very good, but on this occasion they did not live up to their usual standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shandy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgr2, General Manager at RACV Inverloch Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you Shandy40 for providing your comments regarding your recent stay at the RACV Inverloch Resort. We always value feedback so that we can continue to improve experiences provided to our members and guests.

Naturally we are disappointed to receive such feedback and to hear of the drop in standards in some areas during your stay. We pride ourselves on the quality of our product and service usually provided, so we apologise that this was not as good as it should have been on this occasion.

At present we are undergoing major construction and development in our continued improvement of facilities for our guests. The main lodge is being redeveloped to add a new 100 seat lounge bar area and a new 250 seat conference & wedding centre, along with associated infrastructure upgrades. This unfortunately places additional demands on existing facilities and services. Every effort is being made to work around these challenges and overcome any uncontrollable side effects. All our guests are informed of these works at time of booking and relevant accommodation and conference groups rates have been adjusted to assist through this period.

Your feedback has been discussed with the relevant teams and every effort will be made to rectify and overcome these issues. We sincerely regret that your experience was not as good as it should have been, however we hope that you return to enjoy the Resort in the future. We thank you for your understanding on this occassion and for spending the time to provide feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    139
    33
    11
    12
See reviews for
165
185
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Such a lovely restaurant with wonderful views but such average food at an outrageous Melbourne price for the quality. My steak at $29 arrived cold and chewy with frozen chips. This is unacceptable at $29.00, The Seafood Linguine seemed to have frozen seafood in it with weird crinkly long tubes of calamari. The 4 of us ate silently and disappointed. This was lunch and the bill was too high. Why can't you get some good home cooking with local ingredients in the country? It's not that hard.
We were brought a bottle of wine and when I asked for bread or some nibbles with the wine they advised me they didn't serve bread at lunchtime??? So we waited an hour for the food trying to sip the wine slowly so as not to get drunk.. When I said we've been waiting an hour , the waitress replied to one of the group, well you wanted your steak well done.Ha ha. She wasn't joking.
I have stayed here before and the rooms are very nice, however this a review of the restaurant as they don't have ir fo rreview in the restaurant list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaillinF, General Manager at RACV Inverloch Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Mansky

Thank you for your feedback regarding our restaurant.

You comments have been provided to our Chef and he will discuss this with his team. This is certainly not our usual standard and our Chef would welcome being able to discuss this further with you personally, so that he can address any possible future issues.

Feedback is usually very positive so we would encourage you to visit the restaurant again, especially when our expansion works are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

RACV INVERLOCH RESORT is the best place to be. I've been there for 4 times and one more to go this year. They all have Internet. The service is excellent. The best thing is that they also have accessable ramps for the disabled. Also they have Austar (Foxtel).

Room Tip: There cabins are reasonable cost. Villas are $100 more. They all also have Internet. And the best ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandros L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaillinF, General Manager at RACV Inverloch Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Alexandros L

Thank you for your positive feedback and its great to see that you enjoy staying with us on a regular basis. We are constantly working on improving what we offer and the quality of our product and we certainly hope that you continue to stay with us.

If there is anything we can do to assit during your stay please let us know. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent two nights during March 2012 and had a wonderful time. Room was very clean, big bathroom, nice big windows with a great view. Staff were very friendly and the shuttle bus into town is a great idea. Breakfast was plentiful and once again the views were great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arranged an 80th lunch surprise birthday on Sunday for a relative. The buffet was magnificent with such a variety of food all ages fully catered for as well as food types. There was a guitarist who was fantastic and the staff were so helpful. At $35 a head plus drinks was amazing value with unreal views of the ocean also. Will be back ourselves to stay next time ,such a great location and well run. Julie

Room Tip: If we had stayed definitely an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at the property for one night. Loved the experience. The view from the restaurant is great, overlooking the ocean. This is an Eco themed resort so the decor and the rooms are eco friendly. They have a DVD library, which is a great option. Breakfast was included in the room rate and the service was good. Would highly recommend staying at RACV Inverloch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ach_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Have just had a fantastic weekend at RACV Inverloch for a family birthday celebration.
We had 3 villas for 3 families; 2 3 bedroom & 1 2 bedroom, all adjacent to each other.
All villas had ensuite bathrooms to each bedroom & were SPACIOUS beyond belief.
The younger children in the group had no problem turning the spacious passage into their own version of the Olympic running track.
Great playground areas with good equipment, tennis courts, footy kicking area, etc.
Spectacular dining room & children warmly encouraged as long as they know how to behave.
We'll be back with bells on!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigjules53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverloch
18.3 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#1 of 3 in San Remo
922 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eugenie's
Eugenie's
#2 of 2 in Inverloch
27 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Island Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inverloch Motel
Inverloch Motel
#3 of 4 in Inverloch
28 reviews
3.1 mi away
BIG4 Inverloch Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Motel on A'Beckett
Motel on A'Beckett
#1 of 4 in Inverloch
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RACV Inverloch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV Inverloch Resort

Property: RACV Inverloch Resort
Address: 70 Cape Paterson-Inverloch Rd, Inverloch, Victoria 3996, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Inverloch
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Inverloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — RACV Inverloch Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Gippsland with dramatic views of Bass Strait and Anderson’s Inlet, the magnificent eco-friendly RACV Inverloch Resort is the ideal base for a wonderful coastal holiday. Formerly farming land, today the 32-hectare site houses a cleverly designed, low impact and architecturally striking resort fronting a pristine stretch of beach, a wetland haven for wildlife and an ever-changing panorama of sea and sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your RACV Inverloch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racv Inverloch Hotel Inverloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing