We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful haven of hospitality and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Heidelberg B&B and Inns
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful haven of hospitality and comfort”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at this wondeful bed and breakfast for a night but I wish we could have stayed for longer! Our hosts Beverly and Brett warmly welcomed us on arrival with a lovely glass of wine/beer and we had a terrific time chatting to them and the other guests who had also just arrived. We were attending a function not too far away and after settling into our beautifully styled and comfortable room Bev very kindly offered to drive us to our party. We had a great time there but after waiting for 90 minutes for a taxi home Bev not only picked us up but also another couple who were staying elsewhere and drove them back too! I have never experienced such wonderful hospitality in beautiful 5 star surroundings. Breakfast (which was included) was a gourmet treat!! We have found our favourite place to stay in Melbourne and hope to return again soon. Thank you so much Bev and Brett for a fabulous stay, very highly recommended :)

Room Tip: All three rooms looked beautifully styled and very comfortable with high quality products for guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
16
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We came down to Melbourne for a funeral. Brett and Beverly provided sensitive, unpretentiious, hospitality and an oasis of calm. The place is immaculate and charming. The room we stayed in had an ensuite and was very cosy. We will definitely be back. There are also some great walks and lovely restauants within waking distance.

My one,very inconsequential,gripe was that the coffee we had in the morning did not seem to be made from freshly ground coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredo2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and taking the time to say a few words about our B&B we have created in Heidelberg. In regards, to the coffee, we buy it from Beraldo's coffee in Northcote, a few minutes away and they have freshly roasted coffee beans (the warehouse smells fantastic!) and then we ask them to freshly grind our coffee and then we can serve it to our guests. We'll also seek to ask our guests more about the strength of our plunger coffee pots and provide the best service we can. Hopefully the wine we offer on arrival and sometimes in the evenings can smooth over any concerns you encountered here with us. Looking forward to seeing you both again on more happier occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a lovely 4 night stay with Brett and Beverley at Austin Rise last week. The room was spacious and very clean. Having access to a fridge, tea & coffee and the warm lounge area was great. Every morning Brett cooked us a very delicious and filling breakfast. We would definitely stay at Austin Rise again. Brett also dropped us off at the Austin Hospital and picked us up from the Brain Centre to save us having a find a car park which was very much appreciated.

We travelled from Adelaide, South Australia, with our son to see a specialist at the Brain Centre. The location of Austin Rise was perfect for us as we do not know Melbourne well and now having been there we would not like to have to be stuck in traffic ages and the traffic, for out of towners, is terrible. I would stay here again just on location.

I have to comment on the inroom amenities being very nice and plentiful and also the very good quality bedding and the Feather Jet hair dryer (I dropped mine a few months ago and it broke so I foolishly bought a GHD - no comparison - loved the Feather Jet)! Also, Beverley's garden is beautiful and very well cared for.

We wish Brett and Beverley all the best for their future and I am sure they will continue to offer their great service to all who stay with them.

Anna, Ramsay & Amir

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaslinBeachScape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay with us at Austin Rise B&B. You will always be welcome back with your husband and little boy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Mum and l stayed here while Brian was in hospital . Can't say enough good things about Brett , Beverly and their home which they make you feel is your home. It was fantastic having Brett to drop and pick us up from the hospital . In a our stressful situation they made us feel like family. Much nicer than a hotel stay . Thank you we feel we have made two new friends. Janine & Pauline

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ezyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

With pick-up from the Austin and Mercy for Woman hospitals and the owner's generosity this was just what was needed for some out-of-towners visitng the hospital but being close to Heidelberg main street and 25 minutes by train to the CBD it would suit anyone going to Melbourne who didn't want to stay right in town. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed with ensuite, TV and tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was delicious and as good as any cafe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biffoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We appreciate your time and lovely words in writing your review. We have planted three blueberry bushes today so hopefully in the summer we might be serving our own home grown blueberries with our scrumptious breakfasts! And there is more space for something else so Beverley is wondering whether to plant strawberries or something else. Maybe snowpeas - but not for breakfast unless we learn to cook Asian soups for breakfast... could be an idea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at Austin Rise.
It is such a pleasure to stay here. What more could one ask for when you get to the accommodation after a very long day. On arriving on a drizzly coolish Melbourne evening , you enter to the warmth of the fire ablaze. Instantly you feel relaxed after the stressful day at work. Brett was attentive in carrying my bag. And then the offer of a nice glass of red. Luxury to end the day.
I stayed in the Whistler room this time ( Roberts last time ) , and it was spacious , comfortable and quiet.
I can not recommend this B&B highly enough.
Is also close to the city and some good restaurants in Burgundy Street just 3 minutes away

Thank you Beverley & Brett. Hope to stay with you again soon

Room Tip: B&B Heidleburg
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wongagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Comfortable space, our space was quite spacious, including a TV room, big bathroom, and bedroom. Brett and Beverley went beyond the norm is taking care of us, including doing a bit of laundry for us on the last day, and Brett taking us to the next town to pick up our rental car on our way out. Austin Rise is 1/2 block from the entry to an enormous river side park area. Has a shopping zone, with fun restaurants, about 15 min walk away, has a metro train station, 20 min walk away, with easy access to downtown.
It is not in the CBD (Aussie for central business district), it is in a quiet suburb, a ways out. This could be a good or bad thing for the average vacationer. Worked well for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for describing us so generously. We love having the Banyule wetlands and Yarra Bike paths and parklands at our doorstop. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and trust that the trip along the Great Ocean Road was as beautiful as we had described it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heidelberg
2.1 mi away
Quest Ivanhoe
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
229 reviews
3.4 mi away
BreakFree Bell City
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,124 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mantra Bell City
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
St. Georges Motor Inn
St. Georges Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Thornbury
72 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Greensborough
3.4 mi away
Bell Motel
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast

Property: Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Quinn St, Heidelberg, Banyule, Victoria 3084, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Banyule > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Bed and Breakfast in leafy Heidelberg. As owners/managers we live onsite and provide a great friendly service to all our highly valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing