We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice B&B with wonderful help and understanding from owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Heidelberg B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice B&B with wonderful help and understanding from owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

With pick-up from the Austin and Mercy for Woman hospitals and the owner's generosity this was just what was needed for some out-of-towners visitng the hospital but being close to Heidelberg main street and 25 minutes by train to the CBD it would suit anyone going to Melbourne who didn't want to stay right in town. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed with ensuite, TV and tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was delicious and as good as any cafe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biffoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We appreciate your time and lovely words in writing your review. We have planted three blueberry bushes today so hopefully in the summer we might be serving our own home grown blueberries with our scrumptious breakfasts! And there is more space for something else so Beverley is wondering whether to plant strawberries or something else. Maybe snowpeas - but not for breakfast unless we learn to cook Asian soups for breakfast... could be an idea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at Austin Rise.
It is such a pleasure to stay here. What more could one ask for when you get to the accommodation after a very long day. On arriving on a drizzly coolish Melbourne evening , you enter to the warmth of the fire ablaze. Instantly you feel relaxed after the stressful day at work. Brett was attentive in carrying my bag. And then the offer of a nice glass of red. Luxury to end the day.
I stayed in the Whistler room this time ( Roberts last time ) , and it was spacious , comfortable and quiet.
I can not recommend this B&B highly enough.
Is also close to the city and some good restaurants in Burgundy Street just 3 minutes away

Thank you Beverley & Brett. Hope to stay with you again soon

Room Tip: B&B Heidleburg
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wongagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Comfortable space, our space was quite spacious, including a TV room, big bathroom, and bedroom. Brett and Beverley went beyond the norm is taking care of us, including doing a bit of laundry for us on the last day, and Brett taking us to the next town to pick up our rental car on our way out. Austin Rise is 1/2 block from the entry to an enormous river side park area. Has a shopping zone, with fun restaurants, about 15 min walk away, has a metro train station, 20 min walk away, with easy access to downtown.
It is not in the CBD (Aussie for central business district), it is in a quiet suburb, a ways out. This could be a good or bad thing for the average vacationer. Worked well for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for describing us so generously. We love having the Banyule wetlands and Yarra Bike paths and parklands at our doorstop. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and trust that the trip along the Great Ocean Road was as beautiful as we had described it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Austin Rise is by far the best B&B we've ever stayed at. We stayed in the Streeton set of rooms which was like staying in our own condo. We had our own living room, beautiful bedroom and newly updated bathroom. After 17 days on the road we were so thankful we saved the best for last. Brett & Beverly are fantastic hosts, served wonderful breakfasts, great conversations, beautiful gardens and even gave us Carlton Blues caps to wear to the Footy game while staying there. Thank you for the wonderful stay Brett & Beverly!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for such lovely words! We were hoping Carlton, the great football club that it is, were going to win but it still was a great game for you to see and experience. Australian Aussie Rules is a great night out. We really love meeting people from all over the world and so it was lovely meeting you both. Hopefully we'll see you again on another visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here with my two children aged 6 and 9 yrs and couldn't have been happier. Brett and Beverley were very friendly and hospitable and made our two children feel at home. They even made them pancakes as a special breakfast treat! The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the garden setting was very charming. My girls loved their cat and want to come back and stay here again, as do I! We left behind a sun hat and the owners sent it back to us in the post without us even asking. I took the kids to the new aquatic centre in nearby Greensborough and had a great time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We just came home to Canada from a 4 week stay at the Austin Rise B&B In Heidelberg, Vic/ Australia. What a great place to be after a busy day visiting with family or exploring Melbourne.
The rooms are very spacious, clean and very quiet. The patio with a view over the beautiful garden is a relaxing spot for a glass of wine with the hosts in the evening.
Beverly and Brett are the perfect hosts and we enjoyed their company very much.
Thanks a lot for everything.
Mickey and Fritz Clauer

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

A truly wonderful BnB, a standout property in every sense of the word - superb location close to shops,hospitals and the train station making it a perfect base for inner Melbourne. Modern, clean and professionally presented. But it's not just these things that made our stay so enjoyable - it's the little touches - Brett and Beverley's personal greetings, the offers with luggage and lifts to the hospital, even a cutting from the gorgeous garden ! It was also the quality of the bathroom amenities, the range of breakfast items and the overall ambience of Austin Rise - can't recommend this place more highly
Thank you for hosting us Brett and Beverley (and thank your cat for allowing us to share your lovely part of the world )
We would love to come back

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichaelEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heidelberg
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast

Property: Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Quinn St, Heidelberg, Banyule, Victoria 3084, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Banyule > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Bed and Breakfast in leafy Heidelberg. As owners/managers we live onsite and provide a great friendly service to all our highly valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing