We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Healesville
from $111.05
More Info
from $97.65
More Info
from $27.22
More Info
from $121.79
More Info
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
359
73
10
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
359
73
10
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin tasting great gin distilling process marmalade tasting paddle tonic water gin lovers gin making fever tree tonic yarra valley tasting options buy a bottle great product tasting experience tasting plate designated driver front door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 450 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2019

Visited on a Sunday afternoon and there was a line-up outside. The staff handled the line very well, keeping us informed and moving it along quite quickly. We were a group of five so we chose to order the 6 different gin and tonics on the menu to do a tasting that way. The drinks were presented attractively and promptly, along with a pleasant quick explanation of each one and all of them were delicious. This is a really nice place to while away a couple of hours and drink some great gins.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Blackiecat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

Loved this place! It was our first time and we visited on a tour (Yarra Valley Transfers) with friends.

Elton was our host - how we laughed and laughed. We learned alot about the gins and process, and had plenty of tastings, yum. No pressure to buy anything, although we did as its hard not to when you are having such a great time.

Highly recommended!!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank JoBazOw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, Owner at Four Pillars Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

How good is Elton?! The gin's not bad either...!! Thanks for the visit and the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019

I must must write an epic review for the service we received last weekend from Elton, AKA Gin Rockstar AKA Gin King at Four Pillars!! I pre-booked a private tasting for a group of 15, for family visiting from England & friends from Melbourne! We had booked a tour for the whole day around the valley so were hoping for a fab day! Yes, Four Pillars IS always busy (it was even raining and they were chocca!) BUT, book in advance and ask for Elton and you will not be disappointed! THIS GUY absolutely NAILED the tasting! Soooo informative, funny as, great banter and just an all out legend! He really made our visit memorable! Another big shout out to gorgeous Wes who greeted us on entry and saw we were being looked after!! He was brill! Keep staff like these and you will go far!

I must add one negative for the visit - we paid $150 for our tasting ($10 each) and although Elton was ABSOLUTELY worth every penny for his private comedy show, straight after the tasting our group literally spent at LEAST $500 within 5 minutes!!! On yummy gins and all the special produce, jams, tonics etc. So Four Pillars made $650 from us in less than an hour! Of course we were happy to pay for the awesome gin, but that doesn't shout out good customer service or make us want to return and pay that much again. Why not offer the great deal of "pay $10 tasting but have that reimbursed if you buy a bottle" (like absolutely everywhere else in Yarra Valley)????!!!!

And yes, you may come back with "you were paying for the private tasting, and the service of Elton, font of knowledge etc" but.... Im pretty sure Elton isn't getting that hefty $150 tip on every tasting he does, right??!!!!

Look after your customers and they will look after you!

We will be back... but hopefully with getting $10 off the final gin bill!!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Laurajn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, Owner at Four Pillars Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Hey there!

First of all thanks heaps for the awesome love for Elton, the gin and the team at the distillery. And thanks of course for bringing your team of gin fans to visit us.

I did just want to respond to your point about the $10 per head fee, and the fact it is non-refundable. Look, this is something we have discussed a lot internally, and here's why we do it...

For smaller groups (below 9 people) we just allow everyone to rock up and join in on the tasting bench, when room becomes available. They pay $10 per head for their tasting, and we refund that $10 if they buy a 700mL bottle of gin.

For large groups (9 and over) we ask that they book. Why? Because we need to roster an extra staff member to look after that group and ensure they have an awesome time. That's also the reason why the tasting fee is non-refundable for large groups, because it allows us to set up a dedicated tasting area with a dedicated host for that group. And it means that we don't rush you and can give you all the special love and attention you deserve. It is absolutely about focusing on being the best customer service business we can be.

I totally get that's not ideal, and of course next time you come back to visit with a smaller group your $10 tasting feel will be refundable. But as a small gin distillery, with a passion for ensuring every experience is awesome, this is the best way we've found to cater to the needs of larger groups. We do our best to communicate it very openly whenever anyone books a group visit, so I hope the fee didn't take you by surprise.

Thanks again for coming to visit, and for reading this long-winded explanation!

Matt

PS...you're welcome to follow up with me by email if you like. I'm at matt@fourpillarsgin.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

although I didn't join the Gin tasting tour, I went for the Gin tasting paddle which came with 3 Gins ~ original, navy strength, shiraz gin. The waitress/bartender gave a good explanation on how the guns were made and I also got an extra tasting of the sherry cask gin. Theres too many to taste and as I was driving I could only try a sip. must come back while I'm not the designated driver.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Ageus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, Owner at Four Pillars Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Yes, do...come and have the full gin experience soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

We have been converts to the Four Pillars brand for some time so it was pretty exciting to come here to do a tasting of the range. Concierge is so efficient, handling who wants to do a structured tasting vs who wants to have drinks. We opted for the structured tasting, which was conducted by Marley. She did a great job of engaging everyone in the group and sharing stories about the distilling, history and mixing suggestions. What was just a shed has been converted into a funky and welcoming space.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Cruiser745064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, Owner at Four Pillars Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

That's great to read. Glad you had fun. And yes Marley is a star!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews