We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Day OUT !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Healesville Sanctuary

Healesville Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.22*
and up
Healesville Sanctuary General Entry Ticket
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Healesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Healesville Sanctuary, in the heart of the Yarra Valley, is world-renowned as the best place to see Australian wildlife in their natural habitat. Set in a beautiful natural environment, the Sanctuary offers a place for people and animals to reconnect with nature from creek to canopy, and plays a critical role in saving some of the world's most endangered animals. Explore the 70 acre bushland haven to experience close-up encounters with some of Australia's unique and endearing wildlife, including koalas, kangaroos, wombats, emus, dingoes, birds of prey and platypus. Visitors are also free to explore the Australian Wildlife Health Centre, a working vetinary hospital treating over 1500 orphaned, ill or injured wildlife every year. The expert team shares the journey of animal rescue, rehabilitation and release with the Sanctuary's visitors. Don't miss: Spirits of the Sky: A free flight presentation featuring Australian raptors such as the Wedge Tailed Eagle, and colourful parrot species. Tales from Platypus Creek: Come face-to-face with Healesville Sanctuary's most iconic species in a world-first interactive Platypus show. Observe Platypus as they interact with keepers, play in the water and even enjoy having their tummies tickled! Wade with the Platypus: In this world-first, hands-on experience it will be your turn to be the Platypus keeper. You will have the opportunity to step into the shallow water of the 'Platypus play pool' where it's normally the keeper's job to play, frolic, tickle and feed our little furry friends.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Day OUT !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a fantastic day out.
Easy to get around with clearly marked trails.
Keeper talks are interesting and all the staff are willing to answer even the most obscure questions.
Great for families or even something to do on your own.
New things are always happening at Healesville.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank savstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    841
    356
    104
    39
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great way to spend day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We took an overseas visitor to the Sanctuary for the afternoon and could have spent all day. It is a reasonably priced excursion and the Magic Moment options are reasonably priced at $12 a person. A hint is to book your choice ahead as when we arrived there were only two options left, our visitor chose the kangaroo option which was fantastically run and thoroughly enjoyed with plenty of time for taking photo's.

The whole sanctuary is thoughtfully laid out, there is plenty of parking, easy to navigate paths, water fountains, shady spots to take a breather and places to have a picnic. We stayed until they were closing and wished we had arrived earlier.

We didn't eat at the cafeteria but enjoyed drinks afterwards in Healesville which is close by and offers many options.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank merryth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I might be going on the wrong day as there's so many school kids there. The platypus and Birds of Prey show is pretty awesome, where you can see a platypus unclose, as well as some huge eagle and clever cockatoo. The sanctuary is quite small but very well maintained and clean. Some animals such as kangaroo and wallaby roam freely in a big enclosure where we can go in and get a closer look. I've also purchases the Meet the Keeper ticket to be with Dingo. You get to pet the Dingo, which is pretty cool as well!

I stay full day there at the sanctuary, partly due to rain, but it was good. I really do enjoy walking around the area and watch the animals and birds. Were lucky to see a courtship display of the Superb Lyrebird, wombat coming out for feed ( usually they just sleep... ), fighting Rock Wallabies, and had a good chat with one of the staff at the hospital and learn how they operate over there.

The only thing i'm disappointed is the Tasmanian Tiger feeding session. It was scheduled at 1.30pm, and there were few couples and kids there waiting as well but no one show up. Everyone was wondering if we are late but i've been there at least 20 minutes earlier, and nobody was there, except for 2 staffs which is busy cleaning the koalas area.

Overall, good experience, highly recommended! If possible, drive there. It took me 2 hours to get there by public transport; 1 hour on train, and another hour on 2 buses to get to the sanctuary.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maxphototour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

a fun family day out. great way to see australian wildlife in a natural setting. loved the animal show. loved wondering between the different enclosures.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarahantrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A walk through a national park is the same yet free”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I found it to be poor value for money. We went on school holidays so the kids were free but still paid $50 for 2 adults. Nearly all enclosures were closed and what was open had 1 animal in it. The only part worth while was the bird of prey show but still did not compensate.
What a disappointment for a Victorian attraction!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherreeowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne-Zoo, Marketing at Healesville Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi, thank you for visiting Healesville Sanctuary and leaving us your feedback. We pride ourselves as value for money attraction so take your concerns seriously and this feedback will be passed onto our operational team. Kind regards, Zoos Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Healesville Sanctuary also viewed

 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Healesville Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing