We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood and more in fantastic Buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RACV Healesville Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Cowes, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Seafood and more in fantastic Buffet”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Being an RACV Club member, I have visited RACV Healesville's Terrace Restaurant for the fixed price seafood buffet. The buffet is served on Friday evenings and Sunday lunchtimes. It is advisable to make a reservation in advance, as the buffet is very popular. We've been twice in recent weeks and think it is terrific. Lots of lovely seafood, oysters, prawns, mussels, crab, smoked salmon, etc, plus mesclun, potato salad, caprese salad and more. Remember to look under the cloches for more seafood, like poached salmon and crumbed calamari. But if you don't like seafood, or fancy something different, the buffet also features a carvery with two roast meats of the day, plus roast potatoes, lots of other warm vegetables, and a wide range of condiments. If you still have room in your tummy, the desserts are yummy. The brandy snaps are to die for. Last Friday three of us had mixed drinks, a bottle of Cabernet Merlot and as much food as we could stomach for $210. Excellent value for money in my opinion. One minor nag, which is why I don't score it 5/5 - tea and coffee are not included in the buffet price, and are an additional charge. Wait staff at RACV Healesville are courteous and friendly, though sometimes their service is a little slow when the Terrace restaurant is busy. The views out of the window are spectacular and free of charge.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Millefleurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    55
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
70
4
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here with a work conference. Reception woman was frosty and slightly snippy. Why, why, why do hotels employ people who are like this in a first-impression customer service role?! Room standard was great however neither my bedside lights were working - didnt work that out until it was too late as I came back to the room later that night. The young guy on reception who I told the next morning really couldn't have cared less. Loved the amenities in the bathrooms, so I took them all home. We had dinner in the restaurant which was nice (not great) but totally let down by the staff who seemed to be young and inexperienced. The waitress forgot to submit our tables order so while one of our tables were enjoying thier main course, we on the other table were getting quietly sloshed waiting for food that didn't appear (until someone worked it out!). I tried the gym in the morning which looked fantastic but had one particular territorial local member who was quite adamant that I needed to be a "member" to use the gym facility. So I ended up on a wonderful walk (the "short walk") and met a couple of big bouncing kangaroos en route which was great to video and send to the kids. The fresh air in Healesville is unreal and the grounds are beautiful. Breakfast was your usual hotel buffet set-up but was delicious and the staff were mature, courteous and knew what they were doing - just how it should be!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was a membership property and of course, the standards were expected to be high. Room facilities were comparable with a 5-star rated hotel in the city. Our room was comfortable, clean and cosy, facing the golf course. Room and facilities wise, I would give a 5-star rating. Breakfast buffet spread was decent with a few types of eggs, sausages, bacon and fruits. Only if the reception staff were more approachable and exercise some extend of flexibility, it would make the property a more welcoming place. We arrived at about noon and we would not be given the room card until 2pm although the room appeared to be available. Check-out time was strictly 11am and non-negotiable. Although these were trivia matters, they made our 1st impression.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arranged our business planning meeting at the RACV Club facility in Healesville Victoria. We also stayed at the hotel facilities for two nights. The accommodation was excellent. Very modern with the latest facilities. Breakfast was good the other meals also very acceptable. The golfing facilities look wonderful although we did not venture out. I might also add the conference facilities were excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms look good although our second floor room facing the mountains was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eildon, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Check in was good. I had lots of bags and while I left them at reception to go and park the car (undercover parking) the bags had been taken to my room. The room was nice and had all the features I required. Unfortunately I didn't have time to use the inside heated pool, sauna or the outside spa due to having too much work to do. Food was pretty good, not great I would say but still quite good. Blinds/curtains provided almost total blockout of light which was good for this light sleeper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevHedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Have just Ada great 24 hours being wined and dined at the club. Check in was smooth and the wait for the bus to the race course not long. Rob, as usual, drove the bus well, thanks. Food, wine, service and the course itself were terrific as usual.sad that we fell asleep and didn't have dinner. Breakfast was okay- baked beans were a little cool.
Please organise a pillow system like the Sofitel - my pillow would have made a great rock, and the balconies could benefit from a spray against spiders.

Room Tip: Choose rooms starting with 13 which is top floor and ask for room looking over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obancas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great service. Amazing views. My husband enjoyed the steaks in the blue tree grill. Bed comfortable. Loved the pillow menu. Overall a great stay and would recommend. The staff were extremely friend ly and professional.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healesville
12.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
537 reviews
6.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
331 reviews
7.1 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Healesville Motor Inn
Healesville Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Healesville
55 reviews
5.7 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
#1 of 21 in Healesville
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RACV Healesville Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV Healesville Country Club

Property: RACV Healesville Country Club
Address: Racv Club Members Only | 122 Healesville-Kinglake Road, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Healesville
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RACV Healesville Country Club is one of two outstanding RACV Club properties and is located in the heart of one of Victoria's premier wine and fresh produce regions. There are 80 well-appointed accommodation rooms offering glorious views from the balcony or patio. Interconnecting rooms and disability friendly rooms are also available. A full buffet breakfast, free internet and 18 holes of golf are included in room rates. RACV Healesville Country Club has a range of leisure, dining, accommodation and conference options, and is the perfect destination for a short break, weekend visit, special occasion or business event. Membership of the private RACV Club is separate to other types of RACV membership, which can include RACV Emergency Roadside Assistance and RACV Insurance. Only members of the private RACV Club can book accommodation at the RACV City or Healesville properties. RACV Club members pay an annual membership fee which enables members to book accommodation for themselves, their family, friends and guests at both RACV Club locations and to access a range of other Club dining, lifestyle and recreation facilities. RACV Club membership is available to anyone through a nomination process and full details about how to become an RACV Club member are available on the RACV website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your RACV Healesville Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RACV Healesville Country Club Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing