We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”
Review of Healesville Hotel

Healesville Hotel
Ranked #9 of 51 Restaurants in Healesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Old world charm with new world style, this classic country hotel is at the heart of the Yarra Valley. We are now offering great food, seven days of the week using the best of the season and region. Choose from a selection of smaller snacks and tastes to nibble on with your glass of local wine... Next, let us carve some of our famous K&B charcuterie; Italian parma ham, bresaola, Spanish salamis, and our house made pork, veal and pistachio terrine... served with crusty bread, little pickled vegetables and caper berries. Our kitchen are slow cooking local lamb shoulders for 12 hours... and roasting local Berkshire pork belly. Finish with Sophie's selection of perfectly ripened cheeses, hand picked from our copper cheese cabinet in our providore, Kitchen & Butcher. Our new menu also features hearty classic 'pub style' dishes to satisfy the hungriest diner.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have been coming to the Healesville Hotel for a couple of years now and the quality of the food and locally sourced drinks is consistently good. Most recently we came and had Syrian Chicken with giant cous cous - totally delicious. The service can be slow but the best things in life come to those who wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarravalleyharvest, General Manager at Healesville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Quelian

Thanks for your recent comments and as we have said we all work very hard to bring together the best of local produce, wine & brews. Comments on the service are always taken seriously and we are constantly looking at ways we can improve – through system of ordering, staff training etc… Thanks again for recognizing that food cooked to order, without cutting corners takes time.

Camm Whiteoak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 399 of 430 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We took visitors to the healesville hotel today for lunch in the bar dining area. It was very busy, but we got a table. We ordered our meal & also some garlic focaccia for a sharing starter. The bread was tasty, but quite stale. Our meals were nice, my steak was tender & perfectly cooked. Prior to receiving our meals, my husband went to buy more drinks. He was gone quite a while & the meal arrived. I went to find him at the bar, which was absolutely packed, to say his food was going cold, he decided to wait for the drinks,in total time at this stage he'd been 20 minutes, he returned drinkless!!! The bar had been closed by the staff due to lack of clean glasses!!!I'm assuming there was a lack of staff, as we had to ask for our table to be cleared when we first arrived. I find the system of ordering at this hotel bizarre, where the staff are taking food orders, & getting drinks. Confusion seems to reign. I would think twice before going back to this busy establishment.

Thank gnilwod19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarravalleyharvest, General Manager at Healesville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

I would firstly like to apologise for the fact that the hotel bar had to close for a 15 minute period on the day of your visit. It is not usual for us to close the bar, however the Australia Day weekend was an exceptionally busy time at the hotel and we unexpectedly ran out of glassware. We regret that this happened on this occasion and we realise that this inconvenience resulted in your meals coming to the table before you had a chance to order drinks. We have been working hard to implement systems that reduce the wait for drinks at the bar and will continue to do so. We are also currently in the process of purchasing equipment that will allow us to separate our food and beverage ordering areas therefore also reducing wait times. Thank you for the positive comments on the food and we sincerely hope you will visit us again soon.
>
> Camm Whiteoak
> General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went to the Healesville Hotel on the recommendation of most people we spoke to while on our visit to Healesville with an American tourist. We had the option of Bistro or A la Carte, we chose the latter.

The meals and the service were absolutely fantastic! Pricing was very reasonable. Thanks very much for showing our friend what amazing food a country venue can provide!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank abeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarravalleyharvest, General Manager at Healesville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It’s great that we were able to meet the expectations raised by the recommendations you received. We are very happy to hear that you felt that our 2 course ($55) or three course ($70) a la carte dining options were very reasonable, as we do feel that we offer exceptional quality at this price. Please come and visit us again next time you’re in the Valley.
>
> Camm Whiteoak
> General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The dining room really has a great ambience to it. As it was midweek, we were expecting to have the daily bistro menu but,as it was a holiday period found that the weekend menu was available - a real bonus. We had the 5-course Spring tasting menu with matching wines and it was excellent. It was a chance to sample regional food in great surroundings with attentive service.

Thank MikeDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarravalleyharvest, General Manager at Healesville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hello Mike,
> We are pleased that you enjoyed our 5 course ‘Tastes’ menu with matching wines. It’s a great way to sample seasonal produce with wines from the region. Over the holiday period we extended our Quince Dining Room hours of operation. I have therefore taken your review and posted it in the kitchen, so that all staff can see that their hard work over this period was worthwhile.
>
> Camm Whiteoak
> General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The dining room at the Healesville hotel is probably my favourite restaurant in the Valley when visiting from Sydney. Their service, I the interesting menu and superb wine list alongside a great atmosphere brings city type dining to a beautiful setting in the Valley. Next door is Harvest their cafe with superb coffee and a great outdoor seating area to enjoy reading the Sunday papers.

Thank Foznichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarravalleyharvest, General Manager at Healesville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your meal. We have been working hard to make our hotel the premier dining experience in the Valley. It’s nice to hear that you regard us as being so. Please visit next time you are down from Sydney!
>
> Camm Whiteoak
> General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Healesville Hotel also viewed

Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Healesville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing