We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price it isn't 'quaint', it's old and tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Argyles Yarra Valley
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“For the price it isn't 'quaint', it's old and tired”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband booked this place without consulting trip advisor but, always the optimist I thought I'd give it the benefit of the doubt. Unfortunately, it just wasn't up to scratch. It isn't 3.5 star accommodation, more 2 star which would be fine if the rate was $70 - $80 per night but at $192 per night on Fri - Sun it was very disappointing.

When we first arrived the place smelt really old and musty, everything looked pretty worn and tired and I'm glad we didn't stay in winter as it would have been freezing. The sliding door to a small outside patio was taped up with grey packing tape with 'do not open' written on it. The outdoor furniture was old, broken and covered in cobwebs. It was quite frustrating as there is so much potential for the place to be fantastic, it needs to be completely renovated - the location was really the only positive for me. If they could get the cottages up to the standard of the Wombat Hills cottages in Mansfield I would come back again and again.

Given our disappointment we also weren't interested in visiting the same owner's cafe or shop in town. Again, lovely location but not worth $190 a night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed in Rose Cottage, which is the smaller of the three. Couldn't shake the feeling that there was a lot of creative exaggeration in the web and brochure blurb. As others have mentioned, it's certainly not luxurious, nor is it particularly private (with the cottages butted up against each other, your next door neighbour's veranda is right next door!) The BBQ and cottage garden are actually shared with other visitors and not, as implied by the brochure, yours alone. Finally, we were more than a bit annoyed to find that AFTER paying our money for a 3 night stay on a wet and windy weekend, we arrived to find a note telling us we couldn't use the fire as it was 'being repaired' - Given the emphasis on the 'cosy fire' in all their blurb, perhaps more ethical to tell punters BEFORE you take their money???
Overall, nothing special....

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merwoodtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Definitely rustic. Not luxurious at all. Dont expect a real farm. It's only a lonely chained goat greeting us and 6 chickens on a muddy area on the back. Oh, you can see cows in far far away though. There are couples lemon trees and oranges trees.

There is a fireplace in the front living room. A heater in the kitchen area and one bedroom only. The other 2 rooms dont have any heater.
You might wanna buy the fire starter in the grocery store as they are quite unwilling to give you more than whatever left there.

Location is quite nice.

Would i come back? I dont think so.

I saw a very nice villa called susan in the valley or something. But they dont accept kids.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jump3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Healesville hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed at the cottage; a three bedroom cottage in the middle of vineyards and pasture land.

Very clean on arrival. Excellent facilities including spa bath, well equipped kitchen digital tv wood burning stove (!!)

Very close to the town of Healesville and the Zoo. Handy for supermarkets and restaurants.

Staff were very eager to help with any issues, although the main hotel is several kilometres away from the cottages.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Whilst the location is beautiful and the initial feel is that of a charming little cottage perfect for a weekend getaway, our overall experience wasn't a good one. We were disappointed to have no hot water or cooking facilities on the second night of our stay due to there being no gas provisions to our cottage. The customer service number we were provided to call in such an event wasn't answered nor was there a call back and when we finally managed to get a hold of someone the next day, it was time to check out. The customer service experience following this event was very dismal. Also worth noting that The Dairy is located in very close proximity to the cottage next door so privacy isn't guaranteed. Overall, a disappointing experience so much so that we wouldn't recommend staying at The Dairy and certainly won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmrya3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Dairy whilst attending a wedding in the Yarra. The hosts were extremely welcoming with great tips on the fish and chips in Healesville - delicious!

The Dairy is very pretty and the location is just beautiful, however, i would warn that the facilities are definitley more rustic that advertised and certainly not up to the "luxury" tag. Small issues with lack of hot water and tv which did not really work (though not a huge problem for our stay). We also couldn't seem to get the fire going, though unsure if this was a problem with the flu or not, this resulted in smoke billowing into the room. Luckily the heater was very efficient.

All in all, i would say that the Dairy is nice for a weekend getaway in the country, just don't expect any modcons or plush interiors. This was more like camping in-doors, which perhaps makes it a little overpriced. It actually wouldn't take too much to turn this into the luxurious retreat it is billed as.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIrelandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We were very impressed with the cottage (rose cottage), it had a beautiful country garden feel. We loved it's spot on a hill amongst the farm and boutique vineyard. The bed was very comfy and we had a great sleep. The bathroom was especially beautiful. As another had mentioned, the hot water was an issue. Also, it appeared that the owner's car was parked in one of the only parks available for the adjacent cottages, forcing the guests to park behind one another. You had to reverse up onto the grass to get around, but as the grass was wet I became bogged. Managed to luckily rock the car out in neutral, so didn't have to get my partner to help, but we certainly would not have been impressed if we were stuck due to the owners taking guest parking. The cleaning lady was lovely and gave us wonderful advice. Will be back if we come through the area again, but would hope they saw to the aforementioned issues.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emjembrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healesville
1.0 mi away
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
#1 of 21 in Healesville
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Healesville House
Healesville House
#12 of 15 in Healesville
4 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valley Farm Vineyard
Valley Farm Vineyard
#6 of 15 in Healesville
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
#2 of 3 in Healesville
149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Healesville Apartments
Healesville Apartments
#4 of 15 in Healesville
103 reviews
7.2 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyles Yarra Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyles Yarra Valley

Property: Argyles Yarra Valley
Address: 36 Old Fernshaw Rd, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Healesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argyles Yarra Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Argyles Yarra Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyles Yarra Valley Healesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing