We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kangaroos bounce past the window”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This place was perfect! We stopped over during a trip round the great ocean road and on our way back to Melbourne and were loved watching the kangaroos and their joeys hop along outside our window. Good value for money and great location for site-seeing in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ems099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 260 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

we stay there for 3 nights during winter. If the other comments are right : open the window and watch kangaroos, quiet, nice staff - for the same price you may find a room with a microwave at your disposal.
because Halls gap is full of hotel, motel, backpacker, B&B.
We had a kind of package with a so-called gourmet breakfast served : awful. 2 slices of bread per person. A juice. Jam disgusting and limited. No fresh fruit. no eggs (or you have to chose between eggs or jam). really didn't worth the price per night at 94$.
Also , coming to Halls Gap, you have restaurants in the surroundings, but also people are staying long there, and you my expect than they want to cook also by themselves. We were really disappointed by the fact by there is no microwave in the room. no possibility to cook, or even to warm a soup.
a backpacker hotel will have the same comfort (and the kangaroo as well) and a cooking possibility.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mac_elina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Very comfortable rooms with great views over the paddocks with kangaroos and cockatoos to greet you in the morning. Very friendly owners. I loved the kookaburra feeding! Kookaburra Restaurant (not the same business) is also recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

I booked my stay here based on Tripadvisor ratings and wasn't dissappointed. The location is central, near to shops and restaurants, but off the main road so remains quiet. The rooms back onto a fantastic view of the mountains, with many kangaroos grazing in paddocks right next to the motel. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The owner John was very friendly and helpful, providing info about walks in the local area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

A friendly and helpful owner welcomed us, telling us we would let us know when the kookaburras visited (he feeds them every day which is very fun to watch)
The KML is a short drive away from all of the scenic walks and trails in Hall's Gap. The accommodation is basic but represents excellent value for money. Wifi was on offer for only $5 and breakfast was delivered to our door for less than it would have cost to go buy it from a shop. We also ate at the Kookaburra (similar name but an unrelated business) on the recommendation of the KML owner and had a hearty meal after a long and rewarding day out. Oh, almost forgot - cockatoos flew down outdside our room and as the evening gets cooler and darker the kangaroo population increases and they can be seen from the window of your room! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmwdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Stayed one night at Kookaburra. It is well-located, close to shops and the information center. In the morning, the owners feed kookaburras which is interesting to watch. Plus, you get to see kangaroos up close.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

The previous reviews are all accurate and their ratings reflect different value on various aspects of the total package . This is a mom & pop motel right out of the 1950's. It is clean, the owners helpful, the price is reasonable and the surrounding wildlife is what you come to Australia for. We had the good fortune to arrive on a day when the locals had a cricket match with a neighbor town. Imagine our surprise when we found additional outfielders (large kangaroos) on the pitch. Pictures attached. I

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
0.2 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Motor Lodge

Address: 26 Heath St, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range: $86 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookaburra Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Units centrally located in Halls Gap. Off the main road in a quiet location. An easy walk to shops, cafes and restaurants. Spectacular views of the surrounding Grampians National Park. Wildlife at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kookaburra Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Hotel Halls Gap
Kookaburra Motel Halls Gap
Kookaburra Motor Lodge Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing