We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value, definately recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic value, definately recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

Have to agree with the other reviews. Fantastic value, great hosts, wildlife directly outside the rooms, option of a homecooked breakfast / newspaper bought to your room at your requested time. Cannot fault anything about the Kookaburra Motel. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notts24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    84
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
150
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 857 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

A really, really nice place to stay, and for $89 its fantastic value.

The cafes and restuarants of town are a 2 minute walk away, yet sit on your patio out of the back of your room and you see fields and mountains with kangaroos, cockatoos and kookaburras galore.

When we returned from our evening meal we even saw kangaroos boxing on the front lawn.

The actual room is of a good, clean motel standard. The staff are friendly.

The Grampians are superb - we saw wild koalas and emus too and did a couple of really good and interesting walks and drove to a couple of good viewpoints.

If you are unsure about whether to go to the Grampians then have no doubt - it is worth it, and the Kookaburra lodge is the perfect place to appreciate it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

We have recently returned from a trip to Australia and stayed at the Kookaburra Motor Lodge on our travels. It is a great little place to stay. I can only agree with all the other good reviews. There were kangeroos in the paddocks on which our room overlooked. When we returned from our meal in the evening they were grazing on the front lawn! The owners are very helpful and hospitable. We loved our stay in Halls Gap and on the recommendation of the owner we took a drive up to McKenzie falls he also gave us a map and some good places to enjoy the views. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here. Remember it's a motel in a wonderful location not a 5 star hotel and that's what makes it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed for two nights at the Kookaburra and found that it offered excellent value. It's located on a quiet road close to the centre of Halls Gap. Our room was small and simply equipped but with all the essentials. There was a small patio at the rear from which you could enjoy the view towards the Grampian mountains.

And what a view! The Paddock by our patio was populated by a large group of kangaroos and we were captivated by the passing parade of animals of all shapes and sizes. That alone made it well worth the very modest price of AUD95 per night.

John the host is very knowledgable and helpful and recommended the Kookaburra Restaurant (no connection) about 300m from the hotel. We ate there on both nights and found it to provide good quality food at reasonable prices.

You should also visit the Brambuk National Park centre on the Dunkeld road where they have a lot of information on what to do in the area. At their suggestion, my wife & I did a day walk from Halls Gap to Pinnacle and back and we were rewarded with some outstanding views.

All in all, a good if simple motel in a superb location offering excellent value for money.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pete64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auzzieoutback
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

Stayed here on 6 Aug 08 for two nights.Is a fantastic place to stay the motel backs onto paddocks with loads of Kangaroos all day and evening grazing there. Some even came right up close to the motel, lots of Kookaburas about too. The motel was very clean and quiet. We had bacon egg home cooked breakfast,delivered on time and hot and fresh as part of a Winter Package which was a great price. Owners were very friendly and helpful.

Will definately stay here again, was peaceful and lots of wildlife about with great service.

  • Liked — It was quiet and fantastic views and great location central to shops, restaurants and walks
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank auzzieoutback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

I can only mirror the other reviews. Stayed 16 july 08.Excellent place to stay very clean backs on to paddocks with Kangaroos at door step Very quiet , Bacon egg home cooked breakfast,delivered on time and hot and fresh. Owners very friendly and helpful Just a great place to stay for price Thanks will return for longer stay

Dennis Smith

  • Liked — cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — no internet connection available
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2007

My partner and I went on a roadtrip last October through the great Ocean road to Adelaide. To be honest, I wasn't too impressed with Adelaide, but on the way back we got lucky....we hit the Grampains! I have to say it was a pleasant surprise....we didn't know where we were going to stay, and we called the lodge last minute. The owner John, answered and he luckily had 1 room left with a view of the Valley. When we got there, we were very pleasantly surprised. We paid $90/night to stay in this beautiful lodge (motel), with 2 clean beds, exposed brick walls, and very eco-friendly facilities......
When we arrived at 8 PM, we approached the back door, only to find the most beautiful scenerie.....40 Kangarros munching on grass, Kockatoos flying above and the sounds of the Kookaburra bird (sounds like a laughing monkey), and a view of the Grampians. The motel had the best location and was very close (2 minute walk) from all the facilities and restaurants. John was extremely friendly and the service was superb. If this is your budget, I would highly recommend it to anyone. We stayed for 2 nights and it was by far the best part of our road-trip.

  • Liked — Friendly, convenient, clean, affordable....and lots of roos!!!!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galia7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
0.2 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Motor Lodge

Property: Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Address: 26 Heath St, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookaburra Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Units centrally located in Halls Gap. Off the main road in a quiet location. An easy walk to shops, cafes and restaurants. Spectacular views of the surrounding Grampians National Park. Wildlife at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kookaburra Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Hotel Halls Gap
Kookaburra Motel Halls Gap
Kookaburra Motor Lodge Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing