We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Kookaburra Motel is a very basic motel unit, nothing fancy but OK. Well located at the back of the main shopping area of Halls Gap. It is quiet & a short walk to the shops. The whole Halls Gap experience could be improved as could the motel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goferit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Kookaburra Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 255 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a large group for my father's 60th birthday and were all greeted with friendly smiles on arrival. Rooms and facilities were great and would definitely recommend to friends and family visiting Halls Gap. The BBQ area was great for pre-dinner catch up with family. Rooms were spacious and had everything you need. Quiet location off the Main Street, but still within walking distance to most things in town.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank KatColbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We arrived late on a cold wintry night to be greeted by the host who had already turned on the heater in our room. Made a big difference to our intitial comfort. Room was clean and well appointed. View next morning our across the paddock and up ito the mountains was the perfect start.
Breakfast was not out of a packet but rather the simple ingredients put together for us specifically and with fresh milk!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We arrived here in late March - to find a kookaburra in the field directly outside the room! Great welcome:)

Our triple room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Wifi access in the room was good, and we enjoyed the tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary biscuits.

Reception was friendly, loaned us a useful map, and gave us helpful tips on places of interest.

The only negative I can think of is that despite the netting, hundreds of little insects still managed to get into the bathroom on our last day. Strange.

There was again a kookaburra (same one?) outside our room when we left:)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the field at the back are peaceful and very fun for wildlife watching.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s-myluvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We read all the reviews and in many ways there is not a lot more to add. We stayed for two nights and very impressed with the hospitality and central location. The kangaroo jumping past door as we booked was great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing back were all taken but the rooms at front were fine.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Friendly and hospitable owners, nice room with comfy beds (a must when travelling), great location with wonderful views out your door, only a stones throw to shops, restaurants etc. Great value, will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zedda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My partner and I spent the last 3 nights in this motel, after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. It was clean and quiet. Our room was room 10, with a decent Hisense TV, free wi-fi, and an amazing view in the back. There were sulfur-crested cockatoos at the back, with kangaroos to watch and cows to pat. The location was a 5 minute walk from the Stony Creek shops and walk to the Pinnacle, botanical garden and Venus baths. Peggy and Stephan, the owners, were also very nice people, but not too intrusive either. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
0.2 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Motor Lodge

Address: 26 Heath St, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range: $87 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookaburra Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Units centrally located in Halls Gap. Off the main road in a quiet location. An easy walk to shops, cafes and restaurants. Spectacular views of the surrounding Grampians National Park. Wildlife at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kookaburra Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Hotel Halls Gap
Kookaburra Motel Halls Gap
Kookaburra Motor Lodge Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing